Posted

Plenty of time to discuss it and for the club to look at it.

Do a few of the kids come out, or will the bye round give them a sufficient rest?

Guys like Harmes, Grimes, Matt Jones and Spencer were excellent on the weekend, so do they get a look in?

Posted

Give a couple of our young blokes a decent rest. Stretch and Oliver both looked buggered today. Any of  Harmes, ANB, Newton, M Jones could come in.

Posted
58 minutes ago, Return to Glory said:

Give a couple of our young blokes a decent rest. Stretch and Oliver both looked buggered today. Any of  Harmes, ANB, Newton, M Jones could come in.

they can all have a good rest next weekend then :lol:

Posted
1 hour ago, Wiseblood said:

Do a few of the kids come out, or will the bye round give them a sufficient rest?

Guys like Harmes, Grimes, Matt Jones and Spencer were excellent on the weekend, so do they get a look in?

You have to be kidding Spencer?? M Jones?? Now I know you know Jack about Footy!  Next!?

Posted

Love the Trengrove story but he looked very slow today in what will be the slowest game we play all year. 

I reckon Stretch and Oliver looked flat and tired too.

Harmes and Brayshaw for Stretch and Oliver. M.Jones for Trenners. Maybe ANB deserves another crack instead of Jones.

I know Michie is the emergency but I reckon he's had a good crack at it over the journey. That's why I think Harmes, Brayshaw and ANB should be given a chance first. Back half of the year is about the future.

Posted
4 minutes ago, picket fence said:

You have to be kidding Spencer?? M Jones?? Now I know you know Jack about Footy!  Next!?

Interesting post Pickett, after being flogged in Sydney but after a big win at Casey, it is no change then for you? M Jones off the wing is not worth a try, he was first pick earlier in the year, before doing his back?   Spencer is building up some real form in the VFL and while he won't take Max's spot he should earn a run at some stage as back up if there is a match up, maybe like Geelong last year, where it worked. And come to think of it Spencer may have worked today in the wet, he likes to tackle and hurt people and big bodies were needed but we didn't have enough of them. 

Posted

Earl Hood As much as I respect your opinion, there are telling reasons why Spencer and M Jones are not part of our future!

I beleive we need to go out and fing at least 2 KPB and at least 1 other running in and also out rider as well.

Jake Spencer and M Jones will .. not be part of our club next year IMV!

Posted
7 minutes ago, picket fence said:

Earl Hood As much as I respect your opinion, there are telling reasons why Spencer and M Jones are not part of our future!

I beleive we need to go out and fing at least 2 KPB and at least 1 other running in and also out rider as well.

Spencer is contracted.

Posted
Just now, Left Foot Snap said:

Spencer is contracted.

i think picket gets frequently macdonaldised. quite ironic really. decision making questionable. needs a break. 

Posted
20 minutes ago, Jaded said:

Hopefully Brayshaw is good to go. 

Might be too early, especially with Casey having the bye as well. He needs match fitness, and that's hard to get in training.

Posted
2 hours ago, chook fowler said:

I reckon we might lose a few to mould and rising damp.

LOL, I really did??

56 minutes ago, picket fence said:

Spencer is our only ready to go back up ruck and you think he will be delisted or traded ??  Seriously ??

20 minutes ago, Jaded said:

Hopefully Brayshaw is good to go. 

If Casey didn't have yet another bloody bye he could be nearly match ready but they do and he won't. 

Posted
3 hours ago, Wiseblood said:

* Harmes to all reports was our best on Saturday and must be close to top of the list of in's

* Grimes has been emergency 9 times without a call up this year - how many more times can they do that? Somehow it seems cruel. Unconsummated selection??

* Matt Jones was in top form before his injury and has been a ball magnet on his return through Casey. Rusty early games for Casey but he improved and his ball use was good for for the Dees early season. Deserves consideration.

* Spencer ..... we all know his SWOT but has built his form and fitness following injury.  Has worked well in tandem with Gawn before and I'm worried about Max being completely 'rucked' by years end.  This is Max's first full season and I'd like it if our ruck division had realistic options in at least a few games.  Max would be very dangerous resting up forward and Spencil can be a goal kicker as well.  Maybe straight after a bye is not the most logical time but perhaps in a month or so. 

A few others will be considered.  I like the fact that players are being managed on their needs as well as the teams and being dropped is not the stigma it would have been in past years.  Despite today I remain convinced we are tracking well and have a good list.  

Outs....?  Who and how many?  I'll give that more though but I might end up letting the club decide that. :lol: 

Posted

Trengove got in the side on the back of good VFL performances, and he hasn't exactly been poor. High tackle numbers and good possession numbers (he was in our top 5 for both those stats today).

How they treat him at selection will be very interesting. There is clearly an "in" group and an "out" group: those who are selected every week and those who are dropped quickly after poor game (Garlett seems to be an exception to this recently).

Posted
4 hours ago, Vineytime said:

Garlett & Harmes in for:

Trengove & Stretch

yep. you gotta give yourself a chance to win a game. where is the agree button

Posted

I would not be surprised to see us go in post bye with no change. However M Jones for Trengove and Harmes for Oliver are the most obvious choices. Conditions didn't suit Stretch but the bye will freshen him up and he has been consistently good prior.

Posted (edited)

ins... Dunn  Garlett  Harmes  ANB Grimes

outs...O.mcd  Kent Trengove Vandenburg Oliver

Jetta T.mcd Dunn

Wagner  Frost Vince

Stretch Viney Harmes

Petracca Dawes ANB

Garlett  Hogan Watts

Gawn Tyson N.Jones

Kennedy Bugg Hunt Grimes

emerg. Vandenburg  Kent  Michie

Edited by spirit of norm smith
vince fined
Posted

Vandenberg did nothing to get back in the side, and has done nothing since he came back. He is first on my demotion list, closely followed by Wagner.

I'm really tired of guys like Kent and Kennedy playing one good game a month, and then phoning it in for the next three. Both were woeful yesterday, particularly given conditions which should have suited them.

Stretch's returns have diminished weekly over the past month, and Oliver's inability to run out games is increasingly a problem. Hunt needs to learn some new tricks, but at least he takes the game on.

Clearly we won't make 5 plus changes, but I'd be disappointed not to see at least three.

Posted

The slow realisation coming to everyone on DL that Trenners is too slow?? I mean seriously did nobody see this coming? He was god awfull slow before his major foot injury and now people expected him to be faster? the best of players lose pace after foot/leg injuries but people here expected him to gain pace! I love the bloke he has an amazing story but he was never a likely chance to make it...

M Jones for Trenners all others will be fresh after the weeks rest. Stretch looked a bit out of it the last couple but the week off might help with that. Give him another run then maybe Grimes can get his chance on that wing.

Harmes and Garlett might be nice to help slow Adelaide down because they kill the best teams on the rebound but I wouldnt change all that much. 

Posted (edited)

Everyone was slow today, Trenners stood out because people have labelled him slow and therefore were looking for it.  Watch Oliver, Jones and Viney try to chase in those conditions, your legs are like concrete shoes.  If you are talking about slow decision making or reactions, i am pretty sure he was not the only one yesterday, and in his previous games these have been fine.  His positives certainly out weigh the slow tag.  The game is not all about speed, you have to be smart and a good user of the ball and it's rare that a player has all of these qualities in abundance. And this a general comment, not directed at anyone in particular.

Kennedy was crap yesterday, and Kent needs to look into he boot decisions, I wish there was a stat for how many times a player fell over coz i bet he has the record and it's not just in the wet he does it either.

I thought Oscars last few weeks have been a lot better, apart from the mark he dropped.

I think the Casey boys did well but they were playing a pretty ordinary team so I am not sure if you can take the last performance into account.  That being said, if they do, then Garlett needs another week there, only kicked 1 goal in a very dominant performance by the team.

Matt Jones deserves a call up, only lost his spot through injury and I think Stretch may be the one to come out for him.

So to sum it up:

Out: Stretch

In: M. Jones

Edited by AzzKikA
Posted

Brayshaw for Jetta (or is he untouchable)?