Posted

I know its hours away from kickoff but it has turned very dark here in Melbourne after a beautiful morning. If the forecasted showers come thru I cant help but think a slippery ball will work very much in our favour. We played in slippery conditions last week and they have played in pristine dry conditions all year under a roof. The sky will spook them!

Posted
19 minutes ago, Jesse Christ said:

Can someone do the ladder predictor and see what happens if we win today and the next couple of weeks,  while pencilling in a loss for dogs against GWS? 

Port play WC next week too.

Getting a long way ahead of ourselves but assuming GWS beat the dogs next week, we can win today and we overcome our inability to win as favorites next week, next week we would be a game clear of the dogs,  Adelaide and the loser of PA v WC.

That means the lowest we'll be is 7th and a game clear of 8th-10th.

Posted
3 hours ago, Nasher said:

We *always* lose to teams in hopeless situations? I know we like to have really short memories around here, but have you already forgotten last week? We're fresh off demolishing a team in a hopeless situation. 

We have an amazing record of losing when we are favourites, which for a decade has meant the other team must be in pretty bad shape! We also have a remarkable track of being smashed by teams who changed their coach the week before, even back when we were a competitive side. Oh, correction - even back during the last time we were a competitive side. 

2 hours ago, Clint Bizkit said:

I've tipped the Bulldogs simply because our defence still concerns me greatly and they now have a couple of tall marking options plus Stringer.

I'm gonna tip against the Bulldogs because their defence concerns me greatly and we now have a couple of tall marking options plus Petracca!

More seriously, Stronger does worry me a bit. Redpath and Campbell are both the kind of 'real' tall that always troubles us, though perhaps over the day Campbell and Roughhead will both be sucked into an inevitably failing ruck battle against Gawn, which could limit their forward effectiveness.

My main worry is that a couple of their lesser known but dangerous players, like Tory Dickson, Toby McLean and Caleb Daniel, will break loose on us and kick a few. That and Luke Dahlhaus. 

This should be a glorious game, especially if you like a quality contest for clearances, and spending all day crapping your pants because the whole game is going to be appallingly dynamic and unpredictable from minute to minute.

Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

The difference was that GC went in favourites last week.

Brisbane are about $5 to beat us.

We can't handle being favourites.

Do you really think the betting odds make a difference to the players? I don't think the players give a toss. 

Edited by Ethan Tremblay

Posted

no rain today will win by 5goals

Posted

I love the optimism, but can forsee the level of teeth gnashing if the Dees don't  emerge victorious. I hope that whatever the result the reaction maintains a level of perspective.  If we win, some will declare we are Top 4 material and if the Doggies win, "we won't make finals for the next 3 years....Roos must go now!"

Gotta love Demonland!?

Posted

Game will be won or lost in the coaches box. If we give Stringer the same latitude as we gave Reiwoldt, game over.

Posted

can we get this job done ?? im nerved 

Posted
11 minutes ago, BarnDee said:

can we get this job done ?? im nerved 

I'm level-headed about today but that will change. 

Posted

We are one of the most potent scoring teams in the competition and we're up against a Dogs side with a severely hampered backline while they're playing at our home turf, a ground they haven't ventured to so far this season.

Get it done Dees.

Posted

After coming in the last couple of days, it seems Melbourne are rapidly sliding back out in the pre-game odds. Late change? Perhaps someone knows something about a spearhead forward or midfield general not coming up? MFCSS paranoia setting in.

Posted
11 minutes ago, Skuit said:

After coming in the last couple of days, it seems Melbourne are rapidly sliding back out in the pre-game odds. Late change? Perhaps someone knows something about a spearhead forward or midfield general not coming up? MFCSS paranoia setting in.

Breathe. Odds fluctuate regardless.

Posted
10 minutes ago, Skuit said:

Odds are like a seesaw, when you put weight (money) on one end the other end goes up.

It doesn't necessarily indicate that a big name out.

Posted
1 minute ago, boydie said:

Odds are like a seesaw, when you put weight (money) on one end the other end goes up.

It doesn't necessarily indicate that a big name out.

I understand as much. But the indication is a lot weight is suddenly being put on the Bulldogs end just before the match for reasons that aren't immediately clear.

Posted
11 minutes ago, Skuit said:

I understand as much. But the indication is a lot weight is suddenly being put on the Bulldogs end just before the match for reasons that aren't immediately clear.

I seem to recall this happening to our opponenets the last 4 weeks

Probably cos punters still dont trust the Dees.   

Posted
Just now, Petraccattack said:

I seem to recall this happening to our opponenets the last 4 weeks

Probably cos punters still dont trust the Dees.   

We don't even trust them, so it's hard to ask the punters to trust them as well.

Posted
5 hours ago, Josh said:

Can't wait, V8's at Winton next weekend so gotta go cut a load of wood then back in time for the bounce, Dee's by 9.5+ points paying 4 bucks, I'm just sayin...

Simple pleasures. Punting,chainsawing and V8s.

One day it will all be taxed Josh.

Posted (edited)
11 minutes ago, Biffen said:

Simple pleasures. Punting,chainsawing and V8s.

One day it will all be taxed Josh.

Got a massive load too, box of VB long necks and it's gonna be a good afternoon, hopefully the boys get up

And off to the pig farm for work tomorrow just to make it that little bit more bogan, up the dee's

Edited by Josh

Posted

Its great to get that excited feeling going to the footy again knowing we can win. 

I hope the good melbourne team come out to play. 

Im looking forward to seeing Petracca playing another game and how our midfield goes and hopefully watching Maxy dominate the ruck and around the ground. 

We are in 8th spot. We have to now own our position in the top 8. 

Posted
4 hours ago, Generation dee said:

Making a day trip from country sa. looking at 10 hour return drive. Last time I get to see them play before Queens birthday. Very nervous as I've only seen 2 games this year- essendon and St. Kilda. In fact, you have to go back to the carlton game, round 4 of Paul Roos' first season in charge to recall my last win. Yes ladies and gentleman I have witnessed us lose at adelaide oval, Alice Springs, Darwin, etihad stadium and of course the mcg. 

Whilst I look like a bad omen, I'm fairly certain that I am not responsible for errant kicks and missed tackles and will head along today anyway to watch the boys win by 27 points.

Mate I'm hearing stories of horrible traffic jams and lengthy delays on the road from (not sure exactly which direction you're coming from), best turn around now and head home. :)

Posted
1 minute ago, dees189227 said:

Its great to get that excited feeling going to the footy again knowing we can win. 

I hope the good melbourne team come out to play. 

Im looking forward to seeing Petracca playing another game and how our midfield goes and hopefully watching Maxy dominate the ruck and around the ground. 

We are in 8th spot. We have to now own our position in the top 8. 

It's our spot to lose. Will be harder to get back in than stay in. 

Wonder if they'll attempt to tag Viney.

Posted
35 minutes ago, Josh said:

And off to the pig farm for work tomorrow just to make it that little bit more bogan, up the dee's

say hello to bbo tomorrow then, josh