Demonland has made the difficult decision to not permit this platform to be used to discuss & debate the off-field issues relating to the Melbourne Football Club including matters currently being litigated between the Club & former Board members, board elections, the issue of illicit drugs in footy, the culture at the club & the personal issues & allegations against some of our players & officials ...

We do not take these issues & this decision lightly & of course we believe that these serious matters affecting the club we love & are so passionate about are worthy of discussion & debate & I wish we could provide a place where these matters can be discussed in a civil & respectful manner.

However these discussions unfortunately invariably devolve into areas that may be defamatory, libelous, spread unsubstantiated rumours & can effect the mental health of those involved. Even discussion & debate of known facts or media reports can lead to finger pointing, blame & personal attacks.

Our moderating team are all volunteers & cannot moderate the forum 24/7 & as a consequence problematic content that contravenes our rules & standards may go unnoticed for some time before it can be removed.

POSTGAME: Rd 05 vs Brisbane

Fortunately for me I haven’t seen a second of the game. Very disappointing and very rare for us to not really be in the game at all looking at the scoreboard. 

We are in a very good position at this point of the season but we are one and two this year against the better opposition. If we lose to Carlton in a few weeks I will be very concerned that we can’t compete against the best this year. 

37 minutes ago, layzie said:

See this is the slight problem I'm having with it all: 

The 2nd and 3rd quarter pur performance was literally at the pits of hell, we were not even marking lace-out balls. Then when the game had been buried with a shovel we kick a few junk time goals.

And that's nice, don't get me wrong that's really nice and no-one would rather minimise the damage of a loss than me. However there have been many, many games in the last few years where this has happened: Rd 2 against them last year, Gather Round against Essendon last year, Geelong games at the cattery, I could pick out a number of games where we were heading for a 10 goal loss and escaped it. Which is great, all you want is a competitive team but it's starting to mask the cracks a bit and some people instantly forget about the glaring problems we were facing 30 minutes earlier. I'm not going to be happy about our midfielders waving the white flag for the key moments of the game just because they looked ok when the heat was off.

It was no different tonight, while I was happy we fought back I just knew that there were going to be some who were ready to use it as a crutch. I do wonder about the kind of reality check our team and coaching staff would have if we actually did get belted one day.

idk, we played really badly today, but I think it's nice that a terrible loss for us now is only 22 points. I don't think we're in as bad of a place that people think.

Really disappointing game. Never in the game our midfield got smashed. Clarry has been shocking ever since he hurt his hand needs a spell. Our midfield has been ordinary for 3 weeks now needs to get better but I'm not sure how. The bye has come at the right time. Really need to belt Richmond if we can't I worry for our season. 

3 hours ago, Dee-monic said:

Worst of all, Oliver is a country mile away from the player we know he can be. On his display tonight you would probably put him on the trade table.

Wow, you sure are hellbent on ditching Clarrie. This is the second thread tonight in which you’ve suggested we trade him. You say he’s a country mile away from the player “we know he can be” which begs the question: why would we trade him when we know what he can (and will again) be? He’s playing with the fingers of one hand strapped together ffs. 

7 hours ago, layzie said:

Just like in Round 2 last year, anyone trying to take anything seriously from the last quarter needs to go back to school. 

I'm actually a bit tired of these flattering scorelines when we lose. They mask a lot of problems.

How could you not? Brisbane absolutely smoked and outbodied us everywhere all night. We were in Adelaide for two weeks, two very tough games, are completely banged up, lost Salem, a few kids running around, and we comprehensively beat them in the last quarter. It's a huge positive how they ran out the game because that could well have been a 10-15 goal loss the way it was tracking. Brisbane looked set to open the flood gates all evening and we never let them. Richmond lost by 8-10 goals multiple times in their flag winning years. Teams struggle to beat us by 4 goals despite domination. You just have to take a positive from that given how we've started the year.

Listening to Max on Channel 7 after the game yesterday, he was so harsh on himself and the team. It seriously looked like they'd lost the Grand Final. Which is great that it impacts them so much but people are slitting their wrists over a 4 goal loss against a genuine premiership contender. Not saying there aren't concerns but I've never felt so indifferent about a loss before.

Play like that against Richmond and I'll eat my words.

i looked around at the team last night , in what was a horrible loss for us, and  understood a little why.

A. We had 4 New players. Howes, Windsor, Kolt, Woey … all still finding their way against a hardened,  focused top 4 team ( Even though Windsor gave us speed and looks great he’s still finding his feet). You could say we’re strong enough to cover for that and we normally might be. But…

B. We also have 3 important  players playing off very limited pre seasons in a very condensed series of games Oliver,  Petty, Brown and  three looked spent. 

Then add in that a two went in carrying some big injuries in May and Oliver and possibly Trac? and we lost Salem early and kozzie before the game. 

In short we looked like half of ourselves and just  didn’t have much to give . Im still not sure how we didn’t get utterly buried. 

Lots of excuses I know ….but they just didnt  look like themselves at all so I’m wondering why.

The hope I’m holding is that we really need the break and in the back end of the year ( with more fitness into oliver and Petty and more game time into the young ones) we’re going to be looking a lot stronger than we do now. 

I noticed at the beginning of each quarter we'd have either viney, trac or Oliver starting on the bench. 

We had no kosi to put in there so why wouldn't we start our best in there at the same time. We got smashed in clearances.

Yes obviously Oliver was restricted but at least he was a bigger body in there.

Anyway I'll see how we respond against Richmond 

Fatigue was the reason we lost.

Knowing this was our third game in 13 days, Fagan forced it to be a highly contested ball game to suck the energy out of us, never allowing the game to open up so players could get more time and space. Ugly game to watch, not just because we lost either. 

Losing Salem was bad as we lost a mid-field rotation option and with Koz out it required them all to play extended minutes. However I don't think it would have made much difference, the result was inevitable, I'm amazed it was only 22 points

Thankfully we have the bye so the players can recuperate, they need it

This is about right … coach’s comments 

Goodwin admitted that his side was beaten "in all phases of the game" in the loss, but refused to use fatigue as an excuse after three games in 13 days.

"They punished us around the ball, I thought they were certainly harder, they tackled better, they won the spilt ball better, they did a lot of things right," Goodwin said of the Lions' performance.

5 hours ago, croydick said:

idk, we played really badly today, but I think it's nice that a terrible loss for us now is only 22 points. I don't think we're in as bad of a place that people think.

it was 32-80 halfway through the last! Lions are getting ready for next weeks match at that point.

Edited by John Demonic

Dees have been beaten in clearances in 4 of the 6 games, only winning clearances v Dogs and Hawks.  With a dominant ruckman, it’s a damning stat.  This was our real strength in winning the contested clearance.  Somehow the Petracca, Oliver, Viney dominance is lacking. Often there’s fumbles or slipping over (too often) within the stoppage and we are on the back foot.  We actually won the last quarter clearances v Lions (after getting smashed for the first 3 quarters) and it created a different game and goal opportunities.  Need to get our centre clearance and stoppages worked out.  

Forward entries.  Wow. How bad!!! There was some terrible kicking from all the mids (without exception) that favoured the Lions defence to shut down our forwards. Often kicks were skewed or tumbled when a leading player was available.  The turnovers were horrible.  Seemingly only Tmcd or Riv knew how to direct a pass. Trac’s kicking again was erratic. Viney not much better.  Billings missed targets again. 

The walk of shame.....

My apologies to you good dlanders who I annoyed or upset last night with my negativity

I'm sorry.

I won't drink and post again.

Two week suspension from game day threads.

The boys tried but we're too tired I think.

Again, I'm sorry.

It was evident at the ground that Brisbane spread much faster from the stoppages and their ball movement was efficient and crisp on the follow up. This reminded me of our loss to Essendon last year where we simply couldn't cover the ground quick enough.

Another observation was that some of our players were struggling to even run off to the bench. On the night they were too good for us.

7 hours ago, Doug Reemer said:

That’s two ordinary showings from Oliver in a row. 

He ain’t the player he was.

HE IS INJURED FCS. Dont blame him, blame the selectors that are knowingly putting him out there when clearly, he shouldn't be!

“Unrecognisable” both the team and might I add this forum. I had heaps on my mind about the game and why we played so poorly but the considered, calm comments post game pretty much summed up my thinking too. 
It’s great to read the educated views of the collective! 
Team was tired and banged up, Lions got away with everything including roughing up our key players, Thursday games suck, sorry but even the cheer squad was flat, we get a reset, bring on the Tigers, Go Dees!

9 hours ago, DEE fence said:

Was worried about this game, said as much in prematch, in that I wouldn’t throw my toys out of the cot if we lost, still doesn’t mean I’m not very flat.

Looking forward I am a bit worried, however clearly want to say the attitude of the team is OK and very proud of MFC, they do care and I think they will be motivated in the return bout. Fagan was like a school boy at the press conference he was so stoked they knocked us off. They had a pretty good game, are a good team and that useless basterd Hipwood suddenly found his mojo, and Hibberd was the Cameron specialist. 

But what worries me is I think we have three issues going forward, one is down to luck, one can be fixed, and the other worries me as it seems endemic to our style. The issues are: Injuries, Mids, and Conditions.

The luck thing is injuries (and 3 games in two weeks) - we have a lot of niggles early, am sure Trac is carrying a leg injury, Petty is NQR, and that is not his attitude, Oliver was a mistake to play, we are missing Brayshaw and that hurts, Salem gone early, Bowey, Hore, Turner, Hunter (not that I’m that keen), McAdam, Melksham, Spargo, these injuries can change or not, but the reality is we are up against it early when we require collective effort to achieve the synergy our game plan requires. While noise is made about our stars, it is actually our team game that makes us awesome, I’m thinking we need freshening up because it is that team defense that allows us to transition back so well and we basically have too many midfield holes atm.

In terms of just poor performers -JvR is in trouble, would love to know why, McVee had a bad game and is mortal. Howes ditto, Brown needs to be spelled regardless of what he says.

The thing that needs fixing is the Midfield, we have had challenges all year and for a lot of last year, Kossie is basically our best speed through the middle, looking at Port/Sydney/GWS and today Brisbane, they all have higher top line speed (not necessarily effort). We work hard enough, it’s not a fitness issue, but we need more speed, Maybe we need Windsor on ball? Our pressure is ace in the middle, no bruise free players, but not sure how we are going to go with the best if we can’t get some speed. Contest alone is not enough anymore, we have been worked out there. I also think that is the worst you will see our stars play.

The 3rd issue for me is conditions and we’ve had this challenge for awhile, have spoken on this before post Sydney, but with our manic style we need a very good 1st touch, one fumble and the other team has caught us. Because we are a great team, work ethic, and defensively minded  etc, we get a lot of these booboos back. But the good teams are better with a slippery ball than us, if it is not a dry footy I am very nervous against the good teams. It seems like a long time since we were good in the wet, dew, humidity. I haven’t seen anything doe to address this.

Love that Langdon, May, Lever, (a goal, wow) Tmac, Chandler, ANB and the Captain all had a go. I thought even though they looked likely to lose from early, the team still played with pride, and I would have clapped them off anyway. 

It is such small percentages between winning and losing, I hope we find those inches. Love the team and the staff.

Good view on this well thought out I thought with the amount of pill the backline saw for 3 quarters they held together pretty well yes mistakes were made but it's a bit hard when you are forced to kick to packs and the ball comes straight back and the times they brought the ball in with ease. I cannot for the life of me understand how our forwards always stand still, stand on the wrong side of an opposition player when the ball is coming in and a majority of the time play from behind, not one player ever runs their opposing player around or figure 8's even when the ball is not in the area they just stand still. JVR has a marking technique problem when the ball come in hard and quick as he not a one grab player for his size.

For those commenting on Oliver I believe the club and Oliver ended up between a rock and a hard place. I am positive the injury has affected his ball handling and confidence but if they rested him when he suffered it you could bet the media and the football world would have suggested otherwise and try to get the club to prove it otherwise. 

While it's a long season and I'm sure we will make final they still have issues with the forward line again.

31 minutes ago, leave it to deever said:

The walk of shame.....

My apologies to you good dlanders who I annoyed or upset last night with my negativity

I'm sorry.

Again, I'm sorry.

Don't worry about that.

Cant believe what I read on here some days .Trade Oliver for one off game ,hes allowed one every 100th game,Tracc was off as well so lets get rid of him Gee May missed a game with broken ribs ,trade him we dont want a soft culture  at our club.Wake up you negative Nellies

25 minutes ago, Dee Zephyr said:

It was evident at the ground that Brisbane spread much faster from the stoppages and their ball movement was efficient and crisp on the follow up. This reminded me of our loss to Essendon last year where we simply couldn't cover the ground quick enough.

Another observation was that some of our players were struggling to even run off to the bench. On the night they were too good for us.

Yep good memory.....

1 hour ago, Wells 11 said:

i looked around at the team last night , in what was a horrible loss for us, and  understood a little why.

A. We had 4 New players. Howes, Windsor, Kolt, Woey … all still finding their way against a hardened,  focused top 4 team ( Even though Windsor gave us speed and looks great he’s still finding his feet). You could say we’re strong enough to cover for that and we normally might be. But…

B. We also have 3 important  players playing off very limited pre seasons in a very condensed series of games Oliver,  Petty, Brown and  three looked spent. 

Then add in that a two went in carrying some big injuries in May and Oliver and possibly Trac? and we lost Salem early and kozzie before the game. 

In short we looked like half of ourselves and just  didn’t have much to give . Im still not sure how we didn’t get utterly buried. 

Lots of excuses I know ….but they just didnt  look like themselves at all so I’m wondering why.

The hope I’m holding is that we really need the break and in the back end of the year ( with more fitness into oliver and Petty and more game time into the young ones) we’re going to be looking a lot stronger than we do now. 

Yeah, definitely more philosophical about it this morning. The excuse that I think is valid is the 3 games in 12 days or whatever it was. Everything compounds.

Still very confident we'll play finals. 4-2 nothing to sneeze at.

40 minutes ago, leave it to deever said:

The walk of shame.....

I'm sorry.

Again, I'm sorry.

We all need this place as a venting board sometimes mate. You're not the first and you certainly won't be the last.

You're all good 👍