Posted

Surprising to me was the balanced KRock commentary ….. is that a 21st century  version of 3GL?

And looking at it for the 50th time it looks more and more like it should have been a double 50 with Dangerfield and then Close encroaching on the line.  Would have lessened the excitement and drama of Lever’s absolutely inspired brilliant pass to Max in space.  

Also, to get picky, that long blond haired Geelong guy had both his arms around May right in front of goal as Lever sent his miraculous kick on its brilliant way. 

Boy oh boy how pi553d off would we be had May Lever Petty Max Jacko Brown Tom all stood around and left Hawkins to mark uncontested were the rôles reversed?

Posted
2 hours ago, OhMyDees said:

On reviewing the footage, almost looked like Brad Close could have made it a double 50m for Lever as he ran into the protected area while Cameron stood on the mark.

I thought that at the time and still think it should have been. We've been penalised before in situations where the player's only chance to not be in the protected area would have been to vanish into thin air.

Posted
1 hour ago, jane02 said:

Prior to this, my favourite goal on replay was Jack Watts goal in 2017 ( Queens Birthday). This is now my official favourite ❤️ 

So many great things about the Jack Watts goal but, for me, the look of exhaustion and relief after he slots it, as he puts that rather infamous QB debut (and the ridiculing by Pies fans throughout his career) finally to rest.

Posted (edited)
4 hours ago, Whispering_Jack said:

The ABC -

Thanks heaps for these 5 commentaries to THAT video Whispering Jack! Very impressed with your IT skills! My favourite of the 5 you posted is the one from the ABC. With no fake crowd sound, you can hear the Melbourne players unite in a magnificent roar the moment of Max nailing his history making sausage roll after the siren to clinch the minor premiership in 2021. An epoch-making moment forged forever in my memory, and without doubt for countless other Melbourne supporters also. Bring on the finals and GO you MIGHTY DEES!

Edited by AC/DeeC
Posted

I was on a WhatsApp group exchange with 3 die hard Geelong fans during the game.

Lot of goading and ribbing during the game going on. In the morning I received another message saying they couldn't believe they'd lost.

I followed up saying I couldn't believe it either. I said I keep replaying the final sequence but the results don't change.

Told them the best part was the reaction of the Geelong players.Such an enjoyable experience and they should watch it again too.

Posted

Magic, WJ. Kudos.

This year, and last Saturday in particular: The Gift That Keeps On Giving.

And is it time for a 'Like' button that likes every post in a thread? I've been having daily guilt pangs this week...

Posted
3 hours ago, OhMyDees said:

On reviewing the footage, almost looked like Brad Close could have made it a double 50m for Lever as he ran into the protected area while Cameron stood on the mark.

Yep and Lever was walking right behind him and made half a guesture....just moved in time

Posted
3 hours ago, dl4e said:

I have watched that replay more than hannans goal in the 2018 elim.

Speaking of which, at this point we need someone to set the last 30 seconds and kick to Titanic theme. 

Posted
8 hours ago, Dee Zephyr said:

Press play, close your eyes and picture it like you're listening on the wireless. Wonderful!

I was in the mid west of WA, by the camp fire, on my own listening on the ABC and it was Wonderful. I loved how quickly the Grand Old Flag came on it was a stunning confirmation, I reckon the ball had barely landed in the grandstand! 

Posted
8 hours ago, WalkingCivilWar said:

The ABC one is good coz no fake crowd noise but who is that clown laughing at Max and saying he’s gonna miss?!?!

Brendon Goddard, to me it was in a, "I hope he doesn't miss" context.

Posted
6 hours ago, doc roet said:

I was on a WhatsApp group exchange with 3 die hard Geelong fans during the game.

Lot of goading and ribbing during the game going on. In the morning I received another message saying they couldn't believe they'd lost.

I followed up saying I couldn't believe it either. I said I keep replaying the final sequence but the results don't change.

Told them the best part was the reaction of the Geelong players.Such an enjoyable experience and they should watch it again too.

I think they may see Part II and Part III in the next couple of weeks…

Return Of The Jedi Episode 6 GIF

Posted
2 hours ago, 1 red eye 1 blue eye said:

I was in the mid west of WA, by the camp fire, on my own listening on the ABC and it was Wonderful. I loved how quickly the Grand Old Flag came on it was a stunning confirmation, I reckon the ball had barely landed in the grandstand! 

As the ball sailed thru I could imagine you screaming frightening the wild camels. Take care out there.

Posted
13 hours ago, binman said:

Absolutely.

I didn't pick that up live, but if lever had made any move to play on it had to be 50 metres. He was basically directly in front of lever

Watched Levers kick to Max a dozen times now. Can't fathom him being unmanned.

Cats perhaps thought Lever going the long kick for goal.

Poor footy as well as smart footy from Max and Jake. Although Kozzie could have got in the way if he ran into that space.

Posted
12 minutes ago, leave it to deever said:

Watched Levers kick to Max a dozen times now. Can't fathom him being unmanned.

Cats perhaps thought Lever going the long kick for goal.

Poor footy as well as smart footy from Max and Jake. Although Kozzie could have got in the way if he ran into that space.

Really poor play by Rhys Stanley - yet given votes by Scott. Unbelievable 

Posted

For a bit of extra fun, watch the replay of Lever's kick and Macy's mark several times and watch the reactions/ body language of different Cats players each time. For mine it just adds to the joy of the thing exponentially!!

Posted

Read on the ABC. (?) that Maxy’s goal was the first by a Melbourne player to win a match after the siren, 

can that be correct ?

Posted
30 minutes ago, pineapple dee said:

For a bit of extra fun, watch the replay of Lever's kick and Macy's mark several times and watch the reactions/ body language of different Cats players each time. For mine it just adds to the joy of the thing exponentially!!

I have done that! In fact, it’s my new hobby. 
I’d love for this to be my new wallpaper, but I don’t wanna feel nauseous every time I turn my phone on…

6C49E9ED-E0DC-4B8F-853B-1F7535E2116C.thumb.jpeg.c5b9dde3d2919e5a22cfdf247b054076.jpeg

Posted
22 minutes ago, 640MD said:

Read on the ABC. (?) that Maxy’s goal was the first by a Melbourne player to win a match after the siren, 

can that be correct ?

Correct weight.

Posted

Should have been a 100m penalty, but then hey, we wouldn't have gotten that incredible ending.

The ABC commentary...wow.

I had no idea their commentary box had devolved so much.

Was waiting to hear the gurgle of a bong while Max lined up for the kick.

Posted
1 hour ago, 640MD said:

can that be correct ?

It wasn’t after the siren but the TMac late goal against Methcoast a couple of years ago was a classic 

Posted
4 hours ago, pineapple dee said:

Also watch for Neal-Bullen's early start to the celebrations - he was confident!

Posted
7 minutes ago, Dees_In_October said:

Also watch for Neal-Bullen's early start to the celebrations - he was confident!

Now I’ll HAVE to watch it again. 
Thank you for furnishing me with an excuse. I may have to watch it several more times just to make sure I see ANB’s reaction. 😉