Posted

Clearly the posters who want to continually talk down Trengove's chances didn't hear that his return to senior AFL footy this year wasn't expected. His rehab went ahead of schedule and the match committee had no option other than to reward his VFL form. Now because he doesn't dominate a prelim final you lay the boots in again. Fair dinkum.

I'd be pretty confident the fitness program they have in store for Jack will focus on him regaining that burst power that people love to knock him on.

A full pre season with no carry-over injuries will be the turning point.

• Like 22

Posted

The footy department isn't going to make decisions on sympathy or any other emotion. They've re-signed Trenners because that was the best option for the club, and because they see improvement in him (that we'll see next season). I've got total faith in them and Jack himself, he's a guy of immense character and if anyone can come back from such a shite injury and reinstate himself as a regular AFL footballer, it's him.

Posted

The annoying thing about the position people like pf take is that if it does go pear shaped, it'll be "see! I called this year ago! Slow slow slow! Fence knows footy!". 

We can all see he's not what he was before, right now - that's why he played in the VFL all year. If it's obvious to me, it's obvious to Goodwin, Viney etc. It's about the vision for the future, obviously they see a different one, but if they happen to get it wrong, fence will use his own lack of imagination to justify his position.

Fence takes the vision free position, then carries on like he's an oracle if he turns out right. I reckon it's soft.

• Like 20
Posted

Trengove looks in the best condition of his career. He will now have a pre-season to fulfill any potential he may have. The kid has been unlucky with injury, wasn't expected to come back, has came back - and has played ok. I still believe his best football is in front of him.

Posted
1 minute ago, SPC said:

This is a serious question, so don't shoot me down..

Can his speed and explosiveness be improved with a good preseason?

An extremely good question SPC.

The answer is six months away.

Posted
1 minute ago, SPC said:

only time will tell. but he hasn't had a good preseason for 3 years, so expect some improvement at least

Posted
1 minute ago, SPC said:

You would think so, and I would expect that's why he's been given more time.

He is theoretically 'over' the injury - if you are ever truly over something like that which he had - and has not even had a full preseason as yet.

Is t make or break time in 2017? Probably. I'm sure all parties are aware of it.

Posted
3 minutes ago, DemonAndrew said:

You would think so, and I would expect that's why he's been given more time.

He is theoretically 'over' the injury - if you are ever truly over something like that which he had - and has not even had a full preseason as yet.

Is t make or break time in 2017? Probably. I'm sure all parties are aware of it.

Would love it, if he could just find some power away from stoppages. In the few senior games, this was one thing that was lacking.. 

Anyway, whatever happens, he is a great story and hope he continues at the club in a role after football, when his playing days are finished.

Posted
13 minutes ago, SPC said:

His injury is pretty significant so no promises, 

I don't believe he would have been re-signed for another year if the club didn't believe there was a realistic chance he could be a consistent AFL level player. 

Posted
24 minutes ago, SPC said:

Yes it can.  

But it requires the kind of explosive stress that he was being held back from last preseason as he was being eased into it.  He'll never be Jayden Hunt, but anyone can improve their pace through training (provided their body can hold up).

Posted
1 hour ago, Nasher said:

The annoying thing about the position people like pf take is that if it does go pear shaped, it'll be "see! I called this year ago! Slow slow slow! Fence knows footy!". 

We can all see he's not what he was before, right now - that's why he played in the VFL all year. If it's obvious to me, it's obvious to Goodwin, Viney etc. It's about the vision for the future, obviously they see a different one, but if they happen to get it wrong, fence will use his own lack of imagination to justify his position.

Fence takes the vision free position, then carries on like he's an oracle if he turns out right. I reckon it's soft.

He's not the only one, I think there's a few on this forum that use the same tactic.

Posted
On 29 August 2016 at 0:03 PM, worldwideweb_demon said:

Hey guys, as a hypothetical.. do you think things would have been different if we selected Trengove first then Scully second in the 09 draft?

I remember at the time that we weren't sure who we would have selected first until the day.

Would GWS have targeted Trenners instead?

Honestly I don't think it would have made a difference........Scully would have been a pratt if selected one or two 

Posted
2 minutes ago, fndee said:

Honestly I don't think it would have made a difference........Scully would have been a pratt if selected one or two 

Legend has it, I believe, they were in Scully's ear pre-draft.

Posted
4 minutes ago, TeamPlayedFine39 said:

Legend has it, I believe, they were in Scully's ear pre-draft.

Quick work, June 30 2009 they had no staff.

Posted
6 minutes ago, daisycutter said:

the afl had no staff in june 2009???

Fair call, I was thinking that GWS were an independent team in a sporting competition where equalisation, honesty and integrity were sacrosanct. Silly me.

Posted
8 hours ago, Django said:

You don't need to, the club has it all sorted pf. Don't worry yourself.

I'm not worried, the club has made the decision!! I'm well advised and Sorted!

Posted

Trengove is a champion bloke and has been loyal to MFC and vice versa. A lot more honourable than the scum Scully senior and junior who chased money over love of the game and respect. I hope MFC get the chance to rub Scullys nose in the MCG dirt.

Posted
4 minutes ago, spirit of norm smith said:

Trengove is a champion bloke and has been loyal to MFC and vice versa. A lot more honourable than the scum Scully senior and junior who chased money over love of the game and respect. I hope MFC get the chance to rub Scullys nose in the MCG dirt.

Sadly almost every time we've had it it's gone the other direction. And now $culldog Millionaire is playing in a prelim.

I see Trenners as a no lose situation now, a lot of pundits have already written him off but he's yet to have a full pre-season since the injury first occurred. Worst case, he's depth and experience at Casey for our young guys coming through.

My only question mark is where he fits into the team. 

Posted
3 minutes ago, Pates said:

Sadly almost every time we've had it it's gone the other direction. And now $culldog Millionaire is playing in a prelim.

I see Trenners as a no lose situation now, a lot of pundits have already written him off but he's yet to have a full pre-season since the injury first occurred. Worst case, he's depth and experience at Casey for our young guys coming through.

Great point.  It was not all that long ago we cut Junior and Brad Green before their value could be understood.   We cannot quantify what damage that did to the fabric of our club at the time and we have paid for it ever since.  Jack could be an added bonus, both on and off the field that may well be incalculable for the future.  

Posted
2 hours ago, Pates said:

If worst case scenario, he can't get back to full fitness & speed, then I can imagine him in a coaching role of some sort, looking forward.  He has all the hallmarks of a real leader, & has IMO the aptitude to make some sort of coach within the AFL.

Posted
19 hours ago, McQueen said:

Clearly the posters who want to continually talk down Trengove's chances didn't hear that his return to senior AFL footy this year wasn't expected. His rehab went ahead of schedule and the match committee had no option other than to reward his VFL form. Now because he doesn't dominate a prelim final you lay the boots in again. Fair dinkum.

I'd be pretty confident the fitness program they have in store for Jack will focus on him regaining that burst power that people love to knock him on.

A full pre season with no carry-over injuries will be the turning point.

I'd also expect he is probably running out of gas after playing a large portion of the season after being so long out of playing.

Here is hoping a preseason based on explosive speed training does pay off but he does look a long way off.

Posted

Look... I think we can now all agree that Mahoney, Roos, Viney and Goodwin have been trying to destroy our list for years.  How else can we explain bizarre decisions like retaining Jayden Hunt, redrafting Neville Jetta, trading out pick 2 for an injury plagued gws midfielders and offering Trengove a contract extension.

Posted
4 hours ago, TeamPlayedFine39 said:

Look... I think we can now all agree that Mahoney, Roos, Viney and Goodwin have been trying to destroy our list for years.  How else can we explain bizarre decisions like retaining Jayden Hunt, redrafting Neville Jetta, trading out pick 2 for an injury plagued gws midfielders and offering Trengove a contract extension.

Spot on TPF39 - surely most posters would acknowledge by now that the FD do actually know what they are doing.

As McQueen noted, Trenners return was unexpectedly early (and possibly premature).

At the same time, his form clearly warranted it and when he nailed his 1st goal, the 'feel good vibes' running around the 'G' were as good as I have felt in 46 years of being slavishly devoted.

Although some recruiters had him labelled as a 'jet' when drafted, my recollection in his first couple of years before the injury curse struck was that breakaway speed was not in his skill set, rather, he was clearly a 'smart' footballer who was better than Voldemort with his limited skills (but admittedly relentless running ability).

No doubt 2017 will be the litmus test for Jack as he will need to demonstrate that his propensities for 'playing tall' and making smart decisions with ball in hand translate into him being part of our best 22.

Like everyone else, I wish him all the best in fulfilling the FD's faith - no question he has deserved it.