Posted

It was the final session of 2024 before the Christmas/New Years break and the Demonland Trackwatchers were out in force to bring you the following preseason training observations from Wednesday's session at Gosch's Paddock.

DEMONLAND'S PRESEASON TRAINING OBSERVATIONS

TRAINING: Petracca, Oliver, Melksham, Woewodin, Langdon, Rivers, Billings, Sestan, Viney, Fullarton, Adams, Langford, Lever, Petty, Spargo, Fritsch, Bowey, Laurie, Kozzy, Mentha, George, May, Gawn, Turner Tholstrup, Kentfield, JVR, TMac, Salem, McVee, Lindsay, Hore, Verrall, Campbell, Windsor, Sharp, Howes, Brown, Jefferson, Chandler, Johnson, AMW. 

REHAB: Melksham, Fullarton, Lever, Spargo, Woewodin & Turner

ABSENT: McAdam (apparently arrived towards the end of the session)

Lever has much more strapping on his right knee than he has had a previous sessions 

Melksham and Fullarton with one trainer doing the same exercises

Woey, Turner and Spargo with another trainer to their exercises. 

Lever doing his own thing. 

Max is not in the training jumper and is not warming up with the main group and is standing with the coaches. 

Spargo and Woey running laps. 

Turner has joined Melk and Fullarton 

Lindsay who has previously been in the rehab group is warming up with the main group. 

Lever has now joined the main group for warmups. 

Turner doing some sprints

Half the boys doing a drill utilizing the stationary metal men (don’t know what they’re called) where they receive the ball and have to weave through two of them and then have one of the assistant coaches apply closing pressure while they snap for goal. They then keep running towards goal where they receive a ground ball and have to baulk another stationary metal man and snap for goal again. 

Max and Melksham walking laps. 

Main group doing sprints through the center square. 

Both Lever and Lindsay not participating in the sprints. 

Lever and Lindsay have rejoined the main group for the ball movement drill. Obviously they're not up to the sprints yet but lighter running/kicking is fine. 

Ball movement drill is someone kicking from the back goal square to a player leading out to the back pocket at the 50. Player then kicks the ball back towards Centre on the half back flank point of the square. Another player runs past for the handball and he kicks across ground to the wing half forward and then that player kicks to a lead towards the forward pocket. 

Players still sprinting to the water station during breaks. 

As others have mentioned in previous training reports Chaplin is taking a lead role in explaining and breaking down the drills and the feedback afterwards. 

Lever and Lindsay not participating in contact drills. 

Very physical contact drill for the midfielders which simulates a ball up in play with all players in close. 

Players involved. Rucks Campbell and Verrall. Midfielders - Viney, Trac, Oliver, Langdon, Laurie, Billings, Windsor, Chandler, Sparrow, Rivers, Kozzy, Sharp, Tholstrup, Langford, McVee.

Forwards and Backs doing a separate tackling drill. 

Full length of the ground end to end full contact drill whites vs blues with one yellow swingman in the middle. 

Roy George kicked a ripper snap for goal from a ground ball get much to the applause of players, coaches and spectators. 

Trac did a sensational bit of work to spoil a ball and then gather the ground ball with a nice contested possession amongst a group of bodies and get away with a burst of speed only for his handball to be intercepted beautifully by Clarry who dished it off with lightning speed to Laurie who was off to the races as he waltzed into 50 and banged home a goal. 

Intensity is extremely high in this drill

Keepings off handball drill

There were a number of turnovers at today's session but as I noted the intensity in the drills were very high with a lot of pressure and ferocious tackling. Not necessarily excusing the turnovers because you hate to see it but some credit should be given to that aspect of the game.

I have to leave but will compile all the training reports later and add some observations of some individual players. 

See you in the New Year. 

DEESPENCER'S PRESEASON TRAINING OBSERVATIONS

Melk and Fullarton are doing short rehab drill movements.

Soargo and Taj on long runs.

Disco doing straight line sprints at a good clip, doesn’t look too restricted.

Roy George does look nice in the 23.

Full ground cone to cone drill now but the design is half back handball receiver in the corridor followed by a long diagonal switch to a fat side wing runner.

Great energy in that drill and even more so on the sprint in to get a drink.

XL’s field kicking is as advertised, he has penetration but also the sense of when to use touch.

Sestan is such a lovely kick too, and Jeffo for that matter.

Forwards and backs in to a drill where 3 pairs run between a 1v1 at the goal square and 1v1 50 out crumbing, pressuring, scrapping.

May keeps ruining the 1v1 50 out by winning ever contest, but there’s good scrapping otherwise.

A big group of Mids - including, Pickett, Sharp, Windsor, Langford, Chandler with some contested handball work. Good pressure. Tommy Campbell and Verrall in that too. Big TC moves like the bloke from happy Gilmore but full credit to him he has a crack, 

Lindsay and Lever did rehab stuff.

Full ground Grey v Blue jumpers.

Kynan Brown no right side, turnover.

JVR bite off too ouch, turnover.

T Mc kick out flat punt, turnover 

Harvey in the yellow.

Pickett gets the short, switched to Salo, Windsor handball receive, Sharp wing, inside 50 kick touched by May for something a little better.

Rivers free running off half back, handballs to no one, turnovers are back.

Langdon hospital kick, cleaned up by Salo and AMW, out to Chandler, in to Salem, chain of handballs through the corridor for our first goal of the session.

Verrall takes the kick from 30 out, misses Viney by a mile, Billings slams through the behind.

Larry’s handball gets deflected by Tracc.

20 seconds later Tracc’s handball gets picked by Clarry. Nice Bill goal.

Fritsch in the yellow link bib now. Goes to Mentha, kicks to no one, boundary throw in. 

The good news: we are full ground spreading and pulling the trigger.

The bad news: right now there’s no rhyme or reason to the ball movement and the skill and decision making errors are ugly.

There were 2 elements to the repeated turnovers that annoyed me.

1. Players not playing to the game plan they’ve been practicing. There was a lot of freewheeling rather than stick to the short kicks that they’ve been training.

When they did manage to find a couple of short kicks it often opened up for the switch and there were a number of examples of a half back getting a handball receive, out to a wing, up to Chandler or another half forward and inside 50.

2. Bearing in mind I know they review trainings and I don’t know how in depth their reviews are, a lot of the stuff you see in drills translates to errors in match sim.

Just one example but Kynan Brown in the point to point drill received the ball running to the right boundary and then took the time to not just straighten up but aggressively cut back on his left before hitting the target.

First play of the game match sim - he gets the ball going right, takes a big cut back on to his left back in to traffic and is pressured in to a turnover.

DITCHA'S PRESEASON TRAINING OBSERVATIONS

I attended some of the training session this morning. Very impressed with the fitness of most players. There were quite a few turnovers in match sim. It is only December, but still a lot of work to do. I will report again in the new year. 

CLANIKO'S PRESEASON TRAINING OBSERVATIONS

I headed in to watch the training this morning and most of the drill descriptions have been covered but here's a couple observations.

Maxy and Melksham walking several laps have a chat, stopping occasionally to watch the rest training. 

LOTS of turnovers in the match sim stuff, they did seem very quick on the adapting from turnovers and either setting up or taking advantage of it though so silver linings.

Kozzy looked really good, if there's any sites out there putting odds on for non petracca/Oliver Melbourne bnf winner let me know because he's looking primed for a breakout midfield year. 

Ended by splitting into defenders doing some drill at the other end while everyone else (including tmac and petty?) were doing goal kicking practice. The defenders group looked quite small as if it wasn't all the defenders so maybe they still want to get a bit of goal kicking practice into potential swing men. Or maybe I'm just reading too much into it.

Happy to answer any questions about specific players but these were the main things I noted.

BUCK NEKKID'S PRESEASON TRAINING OBSERVATIONS

I also attended this morning, but for only an hour or so in the middle of the session.

If I was Werridee, I would be going out of my head trying to fit about 35 players into the 22. The only real player who looked below standard at this point was Verall, who I hope can step up over time.

Roy George was training with the squad and fitted in well.  His move and snap from the pocket during sims was roundly applauded - but no by Chocko.  Kid was called in and a chat ensued about AFL speed and pressure and the need for him to take easier options when they presented.

Max and Jake Melksham were walking the boundary, chatting about the world.  Looked relaxed.

The comments about turnovers were accurate.  I’m sure that this is all good at this point, and that the nature of the game is based upon turnovers being generated (the defensive side doing good) and responding when it happens to you.  The skills in the no contest drills were pretty good, however. 

The nature of what we are trying to do this year is interesting - we work to hold width as an outlet if needed, but first call is to look at the corridor.

Langford spent some time in the focus vest, suggesting he is going to be important in setup this year.

T Campbell and AJ both impressed with their efforts, skills and positioning.

I see some really good efforts from Clarrie, Trac, Salo, - all who will really add to what we delivered in 2024 into 2025.

The sprinting to the drinks station is about setting standards - it looks really good when they all finish a drill then race to the drinks station.

Thats about it, will answer any questions.  Don’t know if i can get down there after the break, but thought I would add my eyes to the track watchers a few times to help out and do my bit.

DEMONSAW'S PRESEASON TRAINING OBSERVATIONS

Popped down for a look with my dad. Ground surface in amazing condition given recent heat. Trac looks ripped and happy. Claz very good and pushing himself very hard. Pickett looks at home in midfield winning ball, very evasive, has jets. We need him up forward too, maybe Mentha can step up in a season or two?

KEV MARTIN'S PRESEASON TRAINING OBSERVATIONS

They moved a few into new roles today during sims.

The wings included Koltyn, Tracc and Rivers (not sure it was Rivers playing there), plus the regulars of, Billings, Sparrow, and Langdon. At one stage, Langdon burnt Sparrow off, left alone in the forward 50 where he swept onto a ground ball and set up the play for a goal.

Yellow bibs (central ball movers and connection) had Fritsch, Langford, and Sharp, all at separate times. Some sims had no one in the bib.

The sims appeared to be about aggressive ball movement, often looking for that hit up near the centre circle. They also played a high forward line and then did some congested forward work.

Langford stuffs around with the ball, he usually has enough skill to step and move freely. I am a bit worried that the speed of AFL may catch him out. Still some learnings to happen.

Langford likes having the ball in hand, I just see him getting caught in the faster AFL games, if he is not switched on. Most of the time he breaks lines and moves to space, Have seen him get caught a few times, not from confusion, more because he is a confident player, who can get straight line tackled.

I have also seen him get rid of the ball super quickly, hands close to Clarry's abilities. He is a one touch player, very clean.

Tracc, Oliver and May getting plenty of intercepts.

Viney making midfield leads, forming the outlet ball, and helping the connections. In some mids drills, they where tackling was willingness, Vines got hit multiple times. He is ready for battle.

Salem impressed, running well and play making. Got a touch to the ball in the defensive 50, followed up with a kick on the wing and another with a delivery into a leading forward (barely a sweat). 

Great morning to finish off the pre-Christmas sessions. They were in great voice, training with enthusiasm, and getting around each other.

3183 DEE'S PRESEASON TRAINING OBSERVATIONS

I dropped past briefly on my way back from Fitzroy to Balaclava, to catch the handball drill. As on Monday, I can’t help but be impressed with Langford: he looks so at home at this level and has great touch. Good to see him take the game on so confidently. Sure, he may get caught out a bit in his first few games, but with a bit of experience, he will be very special.

DEESPICABLE'S PRESEASON TRAINING OBSERVATIONS

Dropped in again today and saw most of the match sim.

There were two highlight plays - both discussed already on here in brief.

Trac, who was everywhere intercepting and creating plays like he was in his midfield breakout year of 2020, intercepted a Clarry handball that spilt into general play and then raced to try and win it, when he finally did amidst about five players he bounded out of defence only for his own give to be intercepted by Oliver who started a brilliant chain that led to Laurie's goal on the run. Trac nicely gave Olly a high five congrats on the play - a nice sign of respect. Both Trac and Olly played far more in the middle corridor than normal - both on each other I suspect - so they had a bit of latitude and really just had to use their smarts to win the footy, which they both did on countless times. They are clearly the cream of our midfield. Sadly Olly got a little sore towards the end and came off - not sure whether it was a significant injury - suspect it was pretty minor as he was standing around the tent area.

The other was the goal from boy George, who spun out of a tackle and snapped beautifully from about 40m. It should also be noted that he dropped a chest mark in the same play prior to getting tackled.

Kossie and Trac were the two stars out there - just so quick and clever. It looks like Kossie, when he resumes in rd 4, will go straight into our midfield rotation this year. His days as a small forward may be done - at least until our goals dry up.

Harry Sharp was quite prominent on his wing, although he did get brought down by a huge tackle from Sparrow at one stage. We do have a plethora of wing options this year and that's even without Caleb Windsor, who will be a match winning line breaker down back. Billings is looking good, Ed is everywhere, Woey when he goes there looks good also and Xavier Lindsay will probably be in contention soon when he stops running reps and joins in after X-mas.

Across half forward Fritter and Kolt were also lively and Roo's mobility and clever Tommy Hawkins-style gives makes him a standout.

I haven't commented on Harvey, but if I did it would be the same as last time. He is still finding his feet with the extra pace making life tougher than in his junior career - but he has some significant tools that will come into play this season. Let's wait and see how he fares after a X-mas break - I reckon he will comeback feeling more confident in the new environment and will make the pace adjustment. It's incredibly hard on a guy being thrust straight into a mid role - Trac had four seasons as a forward to learn the ropes before graduating to that role.

PICKET FENCE'S PRESEASON TRAINING OBSERVATIONS

Clearly, game plan has been tweaked, chip kicks around, find space and use center corridor to launch into a leading or presenting player

It appears that players are being encouraged to be a bit more daring in finding separation and presenting opportunities and has already been reported by other posters turnovers were more pronounced this session compared to others

I think that the wind played a fair bit into the rationale for the above, Centimeter perfect kicks were just missing as the wind was swirly and forced some skill errors, remembering its Goshville not the MCG.

Clarry, just methodical with instinctive knowing where to go , what to do and preciseness of delivery. He tackled with intent and is coming back to his mesmerizing best. Came off slightly earlier but didn’t appear injured.

Brown dog Junior… Yeah, he did turn it over a few times but, he runs all day, has real purpose in his intent and creates separation and options and PACE! A lot to like

Bailey Laurie, now I’ve never been a big fan, but clearly he has been working hard on his game. Today he was busy, incisive generally picked correct options and I thought his disposal was very good.

Harry Sharp, WILL PLAY ROUND 1, just does the little extra things runs harder, created opportunities and has very good disposal. When he wore the yellow shirt he was very damaging with run and carry very impressed.

Trac and Vines were again excellent, Viney is a hard as a cut cat, but clearly now lowers his eyes a lot more and picks good targets. Trac just does Tracc like freaky things and looks content and happy, that’s a HUGE takeaway.

Harvey Langford, as iterated previously just looks like he belongs, Loves the ball in his hands and almost teases interception, got caught once or twice BUT once he adjusts to the tempo he will become a vital cog.

Kozzy, Roy and Menthamind

Each one showed a bit of magic and clearly are loving life as Dees, Roy mercurially astounded with a phenomenal goal as testimony to his skill

Tom Campbell and Aiden Johnson… AT LAST SOME DEPTH.. Um hold on.. not just depth, from what I have seen both will play and make a significant impact to our structures and game plans, both impressive again today.

Jack Billings a maligned by some posters here, Look I thought he was clever , creative, ran all day and just made some astute and decisions and executed well.

Is it too early to bookmark a forward line round 1 of Kossy, JVR and Jeffo?? Frita played high half forward today, but the selection of Jeffo and JVR alongside each other worked well today, Jeffo not as prominent as he has been but gee does he move well and dish of correctly when required!

Anyway, that’s it, just saw something very interesting two guys in grey overcoats were making a move towards Clarry when a guy uncannily resembling Maxwell Smart, produced a lightsaber and whisked them of to the cosmos!

Best of luck to all posters and especially the Goshville Training reporters . P.F

ENTER SANDMAN 2021'S PRESEASON TRAINING OBSERVATIONS

I don’t usually go to training but I went today and I was quite impressed. There are players you don’t realise are so big until you see them in person. Daniel Turner was running laps and he is a huge athlete and was racing around the boundary at a fast clip. I can see why he would be difficult to match up on and I think he is fast becoming another great bargain pick by Jason Taylor.

I felt the usual suspects - Petracca, Oliver and Viney - were the most dominant in the drills and match sim - but I was impressed by the second layer of midfield talent coming through - at one time you had Windsor, Langdon, Kolt, Kossie, Langford, Rivers, Mcvee all going for it head to head in a midfielders drill and they were all speedy, classy and tough. With Lindsay coming through as well I think we will be alright with midfield depth and that will be an area of strength for us in 2025.

Sharp had some good moments and could be a chance to start on a wing in round one.

Langford is a really good size and you get the feeling he has the body size to really dominate at AFL level - but yes I think he is still adapting to the pace of midfield work. Kolt and Windsor look really ready to have great 2025s - I like Windsor off the back flank and hopefully he will average a few more possessions per game next year as he is so silky and damaging.

Good day at Gosches :) 

PST2025-14.png