Posted
7 minutes ago, fndee said:

I must admit I used to think of Harmes as the proverbial depth player - a good honest tryer that lacked the skills to be assured of a guaranteed spot in the side. He has improved each year though and his practice match form has been excellent. I have high hopes for him this year..

I was going to post something similar fndee. He’s one of the players I’m most looking forward to seeing out there today. 

Posted
57 minutes ago, McQueen said:

Didn’t someone complain the game wasn’t going to be on television in Melbourne? Just seen it as being televised on ch7.

Your right, seems it is televised. 

thought it was going to be another game. Great.

Mrs not happy, off to the bottle shop.

Posted
1 hour ago, McQueen said:

Watched Buckley’s post match presser last night. I actually felt pity for the fool. He’s looked a defeated man.

A bit like Neeld after his first game??

Posted

Geelong on paper look ordinary. A couple of superstars but a lot of average players.

If we play how we can we should win.

Posted
38 minutes ago, fndee said:

I must admit I used to think of Harmes as the proverbial depth player - a good honest tryer that lacked the skills to be assured of a guaranteed spot in the side. He has improved each year though and his practice match form has been excellent. I have high hopes for him this year..

Likewise. He's one of the few 'depth' type players over the past 10 years that has actually improved enough that I can see him now having a solid career with us. He's a good overhead mark, has decent speed and agility, can find the ball and has a bit of mongrel about him. Interested to see his development this year as both a forward and midfielder.

I hope Clarry is ok today after his knee knock and fitness test. He's super important for us, and with Viney and Tyson out, if Clarry goes down or struggles, we'll be in a world of pain on the inside IMO.

Posted
7 minutes ago, Wiseblood said:

I hate Geelong. 

We are due to smash the [censored] out of them. Time to cash it in today, rain, hail or shine. 

Go Dees! 

I hate Selwood more. Hope someone cleans him up. Blood on the ground.

Posted
2 minutes ago, Lord Travis said:

Likewise. He's one of the few 'depth' type players over the past 10 years that has actually improved enough that I can see him now having a solid career with us. He's a good overhead mark, has decent speed and agility, can find the ball and has a bit of mongrel about him. Interested to see his development this year as both a forward and midfielder.

I hope Clarry is ok today after his knee knock and fitness test. He's super important for us, and with Viney and Tyson out, if Clarry goes down or struggles, we'll be in a world of pain on the inside IMO.

He also has a knack of finding the goals. I can't get the image of someone squarng a ball from the boundary to him in the JLT.  I don't know whether it was the number 4, the similar build and hair or what but it reminded me of Dan Hannebery instantly.

Posted
6 minutes ago, jnrmac said:

Geelong on paper look ordinary. A couple of superstars but a lot of average players.

If we play how we can we should win.

I share you're sentiments Jmac, but this is the Dees... who knows what's going to happen :P

Posted

1 minute ago, jnrmac said:

A bit like Neeld after his first game??

Haha. I was actually going to include that in my post but thought better of it.

Posted (edited)

Agree we have a wide range of possible outcomes. Having said that, I feel we should be hungry and knife sharp ready to hunt and hurt the handbaggers into submission...

Edited by PaulRB
Posted

Geelong are, in my book, a top 4 side . Ablett, if he stays fit is a massive inclusion. Im not as confident as many on here about the result, but it will definitely give us a good look at how the dees go against top opposition. Go dees....hoping to see them gear up for a big 2018. Hogan to kick 6.

Posted
5 minutes ago, Wells 11 said:

Geelong are, in my book, a top 4 side . Ablett, if he stays fit is a massive inclusion. Im not as confident as many on here about the result, but it will definitely give us a good look at how the dees go against top opposition. Go dees....hoping to see them gear up for a big 2018. Hogan to kick 6.

Good post Wells 11. 

We must be confident in the rich talent we have, but never ever under estimate our opponents. 

I will concede to manic MFCSS, but will go to the G wanting our boys to out do themselves in actions and belief. 

Posted

People shouldn’t be put off by the weather. 

I’m no Jane bunn but I reckon some drizzle in Melb in 30 mins or so and then we can expect a dry game

Posted

The supporter in me says we will win. But viney and Tmac are big outs.

Heres hoping we get to see Hogan oliver... max and Trac at their best.

Who knows. 

Posted

I agree that Geelong appear to have a weakened side in paper and apart from Ablett, Selwood, Taylor and Hawkins they don't have a lot of class in today. Still not that confident though, we need to be on from the opening bounce none of this waiting to be 5 goals down before pulling the finger out crap.

Posted

us by 16 pts GO DEES 

Posted (edited)

I wonder what it feels like to go to a match and feel totally confident that your team is going to win?

I have never know that feeling.

I am a 50 year + Demons supporter. Chronic MFCSS sufferer.

Edited by bingers

Posted

On the Vline heading in from Geelong. 

Hopefully I get to make a [censored] of myself on the way home. 

Posted (edited)
2 hours ago, Wiseblood said:

I hate Geelong. 

We are due to smash the [censored] out of them. Time to cash it in today, rain, hail or shine. 

Go Dees! 

I was at the 186 match. And the 100 point loss in Roos' last game in charge. I was also at our memorable 2015 win down there. I can't remember a better win.

Half our family is Geelong, half is Melbourne. Safe to say I hate Geelong too.

And I've never forgotten James Kelly feigning sleep whilst his team sang the team song after beating us one year. We owe this mob a lot of pain.

Posted

Alright game day! Can’t remember the last season opener where I had such mixed emotions of looking forward to it and not being able to watch. See you at the g and I’ll say Dees by 18 

Posted
3 hours ago, stevethemanjordan said:

Looks like there’ll be heavy rain this arvo.

Pity.

I don’t like getting wet on second level MCC..

I have been pestering my Daughter to flirt with someone on the committee to get her membership upgraded.... sick of sitting in the nosebleeds or level 1 when she takes me to a game.

Im not sure she respects me enough...............................

Posted

Geelong have 11 players under 50 games today. Not the end of the world if we lose but we should win imo. There is a reason we are favourites and it's not because Danger is out. End of the day if we want respect from the league we need to dish out a football lesson today. Sick of this club being pushed around by Geelong. Losing today and then beating Brisbane next week does zero for our credentials.

Posted
20 minutes ago, bingers said:

I wonder what it feels like to go to a match and feel totally confident that your team is going to win?

I have never know that feeling.

I am a 50 year + Demons supporter. Chronic MFCSS sufferer.

Bingers, our very large cohort of 50+ years supporting the Dees (me included) know exactly how you feel. 

"Dare to dream" has not worked out well for us.