Posted

I'd have either Watts or Pedersen on a wing in the "Richo" role, Pedo has been too valuable and we always play better when he's in the side.

Posted

I gave Jesse a call, told him I was coming down from Brisvegas for the game and he said playing on Friday night was the least he could do.

Posted (edited)
25 minutes ago, SFebey said:

Ok my update...

In: Watts, Hogan

Out: Salem, O McDonald (rested ;) )

T McDonald back to defence to play on Buddy or Reid.

There's some strong logic in that notwithstanding that Oscar has been steadily improving in his position

Edited by Diamond_Jim

Posted

O.Mac was back to his old ways against the Eagles

If Hogan returns it'll be 

IN; Watts , Hogan

OUT: Salem (hammy), O.Mac (rested)

Posted (edited)

Outs. Salem. In. Watts

jetta. Tmcd. frost

lewis. Omcd. Hibberd

hunt. Viney. Stretch

petracca. Pedersen. Anb

garlett. Watts. Hannan

gawn. Tyson. Oliver

vince. Bugg. Harmes. Melksham

emerg. Wagner JKH Weideman

missing: hogan jones Salem brayshaw vdberg

Edited by spirit of norm smith
X
Posted (edited)

That being said, we've played our best footy all season when we've played 2 tall forwards and 1 ruckman. We've been able to get our run and carry game going. Will be interesting to see if they continue that if Hogan gets up

Also bare in mind they've got Buddy, Reid AND a resting ruckman up forward (Tippett/Sinclair) 

Edited by DemonLad5

Posted

The definite changes are Watts in and Salem out.

If Garlett's not fit, I think we see Watts and Wagner replace Salem and Garlett.

If Garlett is fit, I think we'll see one more change and depending on who goes out, I think we'll see one of Wagner, JKH or Kent (with the idea being to freshen the legs up and avoid being overrun in the fourth).

Posted
21 hours ago, Jaded said:

With the history Salem has with hamstrings I don't think they'll risk him. 4 weeks sounds right. Back fresh for finals!

Hopefully Jeffy and Hannan pull up and Watts is fit. 

I think some fresh legs won't hurt. I thought Stretch was good and he looked full of running in the last, no coincidence. With Casey in good form, do we bring in some fresher legs this week?

I really worry we won't be able to sustain a 4 quarter effort again after another 6 day break plus a long road trip. Players looked absolutely stuffed last night!

I reckon three to four changes this week we need legs at 100% against the swans on the G . 

Posted
9 hours ago, picket fence said:

You want Bugg Out?? You must be joking??!  He adds the Rod Grinter/ Byron Picket effect to our footy club!  Tough, hard as a cats head and can play. Ok misses a few goals but he is one of the reasons we are combining so well as a team. He stays as long as he keeps the same intensity! A big like for me!:P

We must be watching different games, Byron Pickett effect... ?

Posted
52 minutes ago, CityDee said:

I reckon three to four changes this week we need legs at 100% against the swans on the G . 

I agree we should make some changes just based on then fatigue factor. We have basically a 5 day turn around from WA. Stupid FIXturing by the AFL yet again. Casey have had some standouts in the past few weeks so we should look at JKH and Kent to add some fresh legs. If Watts doesn't get up we need to look at Weeds but I would rather he played a few more games at Casey. 

Posted

Interestingly, Gawn said in his press conference Tommy Mac won't play on Buddy and it'll be OMac or Frost.

So Tmac forward again it may be.

Posted

If Hogan comes back this week, I would go with Tom Mc, Watts, and Hogan forward with Tom doing the ruck work backing up Gawn.

That would mean Pedersen out. Or does Oscar go? Frost is too important as a spark off HB. The fact that Frost is minded by a lazy tall forward makes him a weapon - tall forwards don't chase...

The forward planner in me says it is easy - Pedersen has a year or two tops, but the coach in me likes what he brings around the ground.

Still, he would make way should Hogan get up IMO.

Posted (edited)
13 minutes ago, rpfc said:

If Hogan comes back this week, I would go with Tom Mc, Watts, and Hogan forward with Tom doing the ruck work backing up Gawn.

That would mean Pedersen out. Or does Oscar go? Frost is too important as a spark off HB. The fact that Frost is minded by a lazy tall forward makes him a weapon - tall forwards don't chase...

The forward planner in me says it is easy - Pedersen has a year or two tops, but the coach in me likes what he brings around the ground.

Still, he would make way should Hogan get up IMO.

Crazy talk, Pedo is our talisman. He stays in and plays forward ruck. T Mac to go back to defence, and drop OMac. (He's had a good taste of the seniors which will serve his development well, but lets face it, this season just got serious in a big way. We're in it up to our necks for the top 4!

Go Dees!

Edited by leucopogon

Posted

I'd go tommy deep forward, hogan chf and watts playing the third tall/link up 

frost on buddy 

Posted

Probably go an extra tell in the fwd line as Sydney LOVE to clean up long bombs down the line and re-load. An extra tall will make us more competitive in the air so our smalls can buzz around and crumb. Risky one as our spread has been so good but I'd make it Pedo, Hoges and Watts (if fit) in the fwd line with T-Mac down back. Probably means Oscar might be dropped, although Sydney play with 3 talls. Selection will be impossible until we know who's fit

Kent to come in if Garlett can't play

Posted
54 minutes ago, Earl Hood said:

I agree we should make some changes just based on then fatigue factor. We have basically a 5 day turn around from WA. Stupid FIXturing by the AFL yet again. Casey have had some standouts in the past few weeks so we should look at JKH and Kent to add some fresh legs. If Watts doesn't get up we need to look at Weeds but I would rather he played a few more games at Casey. 

Kent could play Garletts role - jkh has been playing mid and looks damaging attacking from behind the ball - if Hannans sore id play the Weed , i reckon Watts will miss as will Hogan our cautious fitnees guru in Misso . 

Posted
3 hours ago, spirit of norm smith said:

Outs. Salem. In. Watts

jetta. Tmcd. frost

lewis. Omcd. Hibberd

hunt. Viney. Stretch

petracca. Pedersen. Anb

garlett. Watts. Hannan

gawn. Tyson. Oliver

vince. Bugg. Harmes. Melksham

emerg. Wagner JKH Weideman

missing: hogan jones Salem brayshaw vdberg

Vdberg is not a lock for the 22 when fit 

Posted

Watts in to play his 150 at home. Harmes may have to make way

Hogan in if right. Oscar to make way..... Tom to go into the backline

JKH in to replace Bugg. he has a bit more pace,

Posted
3 hours ago, big_red_fire_engine said:

What does everyone think about sneaking Hogan back low key on a Friday night in a match against the other form team of the competition? I would be holding him back one more week.

I think that if he is ready, why not?  Do you think he will be overawed??

1 hour ago, Earl Hood said:

Stupid or bloody minded?

I trust the selectors, now.  Hope they are sure about Jeffy though if they play him.....cannot afford him being unable to run...would prefer Kent or JKH if Jeffy is not 100%

Posted
7 hours ago, brendan said:

MCG expecting 55k this week 

I'll be staggered if there's not at least 50,000 there , 75% of whom will be screaming for the deees . 

Posted

I'm getting optimistic about a Hogan recall. Could we possibly bring in Hogan, Weiderman, and Watts in the same game and go tall on the MCG where talls are super important?

Posted
19 minutes ago, Clint Bizkit said:

No chance Weideman comes in, let him consistently dominate in the VFL, plus he wouldn't get a game anyway.

He was great on Saturday. Let him kick a few more bag fulls, let him grow in confidence and strength. He certainly showed on Saturday he can kick, he can mark, he can bustle. He will be a gun.