Posted
On 03/03/2017 at 8:00 AM, ManDee said:

Nice work you agree with yourself, 1 voter.

Oh Mandy well,
You came and you gave without taking,
But I sent you away.
Oh, Mandy well,
Kissed me and stopped me from shaking,
And I need you today.
Oh, Mandy!

Posted
2 minutes ago, Stretch Johnson said:

Oh Mandy well,
You came and you gave without taking,
But I sent you away.
Oh, Mandy well,
Kissed me and stopped me from shaking,
And I need you today.
Oh, Mandy!

And to think people question the sanity of some posters here! 

Posted
56 minutes ago, small but forward said:

I reckon he looks a bit like Brian Dixon

I only hope he plays in more premiership sides...

He does look a bit like Dicko, but thank goodness he doesn't share the same kicking style.

Posted (edited)

Brayshaw is a more solidly built unit, but there's an uncanny resemblance in 'the numbers' between Brayshaw and Callan Ward in his early years with the Bulldogs.

If his performance continues the same way as Ward's, that would be acceptable!

Edited by Little Goffy
typo
Posted

I think Gus and the Toump overlapped? I remember seeing Gus run on, and thinking "V8 running style" (low revs, covers the ground), and did compare him with Toump, who was a bit stiff with crook hips and didn't seem to cover the ground. Gus' kicking reminds me of D. Jarman - that kick in the last pre-season against carlton... left foot, bullet  http://www.melbournefc.com.au/video/2017-02-25/jlt-rd-2-endtoend-brilliance

Hope he stays injury free

Posted
1 hour ago, frankie_d said:

I think Gus and the Toump overlapped? I remember seeing Gus run on, and thinking "V8 running style" (low revs, covers the ground), and did compare him with Toump, who was a bit stiff with crook hips and didn't seem to cover the ground. Gus' kicking reminds me of D. Jarman - that kick in the last pre-season against carlton... left foot, bullet  http://www.melbournefc.com.au/video/2017-02-25/jlt-rd-2-endtoend-brilliance

I love that passage of play. Albeit it is against Carlton who so far this year have shown no defense whatsoever.

But the way Gus just runs past the Carlton players shows he is defiantly not slow and has a very smooth running motion.

Posted
1 hour ago, frankie_d said:

Thanks for sharing that. Sums up Brayshaw in a way - he worked to get to space, and the right space at the right time, then he made the right decision judging that his opponent had overcommitted to intercept him, and he was able to side step smoothly even though he wasn't so agile, because he'd already worked out where he needed his body to be from several steps in advance, and then he was able to make an ambitious long kick to an option he'd spotted/anticipated before he'd even done the run-around, because his game awareness is always switched on.

I really hope Brayshaw becomes a star because it's the only way I'll not look like an infatuated idiot, the amount I gush about him here!

Posted
3 minutes ago, Clint Bizkit said:

Will he ever be the type of player who can get 30 possessions a game?

Averaged over 20 including games of 23 and 26 in the back end of last year and that was coming off a long lay off and still playing forward a lot. Get him fit and put him on ball and he'd average 25+. 

Seemed to be playing a lot of half forward tonight and 10's not a great result but he probably did more with his 10 touches than most of our half forwards did with similar numbers.

Posted

Looks set for a year at half forward, so 15-20 touches and a goal would be more around the mark.

Will probably step more into the middle in following years.

Already a solid contributor, but I'm still undecided where his ceiling is.

Posted (edited)

I don't understand exactly know what the coaching staff have in mind for Gus

When i see Brayshaw and Oliver i see two pure inside midfielders, yet all pre season we have played him up forward. Has had a full pre season and was drafted as a midfielder yet rarely gets minutes in the midfield.

Doesn't win alot of the footy at half forward and i just dont see the point of it. Throw him in the middle along with Oliver and let them both work into the game together and start to build a good chemistry.

Posted (edited)
On 3/3/2017 at 2:54 PM, Clint Bizkit said:

I can't put my finger on what type of player he is.

He's a long kicking decisive hard nut that runs straight and attacks aggressively when he gets it.

Edited by Fork 'em
Posted
17 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

I don't understand exactly know what the coaching staff have in mind for Gus

When i see Brayshaw and Oliver i see two pure inside midfielders, yet all pre season we have played him up forward. Has had a full pre season and was drafted as a midfielder yet rarely gets minutes in the midfield.

Doesn't win alot of the footy at half forward and i just dont see the point of it. Throw him in the middle along with Oliver and let them both work into the game together and start to build a good chemistry.

He runs to space well, is an ok mark and a nice tackler, he's more of a forward than Oliver, Viney and Tyson so whilst he builds his tank he plays there I guess. Oliver's just too good to be anywhere but midfield, although he'll have to be managed during games to run them out. I'd probably start Brayshaw forward but I'd certainly give him a decent run in the midfield most games. 

• 1 month later...
Posted

I'd be very interested to see Brayshaw in the role occupied by Vince & Melksham so far this season - I would suggest his disposal and decision making would be a step up from those two, but not sure how he would go in one-out contests against quality small forwards. He is too good not to be playing at AFL level, particularly when you see guys like Bugg & JKH in the team.

Posted
On 3/2/2017 at 10:39 PM, Unleash Hell said:

That core group of

Petracca, Salem, Brayshaw, Oliver, Hogan, Weed, Hunt, Stretch, neal Bullen and even Kennedy Harris is such an exciting group of youngsters.

The most exciting thing is these boys haven't even hit their peak ages yet.....

Lost me on the last one but Gus will be a champ excluding injuries. I wish him the best of luck.

Posted
23 minutes ago, poita said:

I'd be very interested to see Brayshaw in the role occupied by Vince & Melksham so far this season - I would suggest his disposal and decision making would be a step up from those two, but not sure how he would go in one-out contests against quality small forwards. He is too good not to be playing at AFL level, particularly when you see guys like Bugg & JKH in the team.

Yep.  Ease him back into his work at Casey, let him build his confidence and fitness, and (barring injury - heaven forbid) it won't be too long before he's bashing the door down for a senior recall.  Fit and firing he's a lock best 22.

Posted
31 minutes ago, poita said:

I don't mind this and would like to see him used off half back in the VFL for a while. When Gus is ready for AFL I could see Hunt being pushed up to a wing for periods of a game, enabling Gus to take that half back role

Posted

I was at a function yesterday where his dad was interviewed. Mark said Gus only missed last week because it was club policy for players to have at least a 2-week break following a head knock. He also said that the two (?) knocks to the head that his son had received were quite different, and that one of the two did not result in concussion (or words to that effect).,

Posted
4 minutes ago, DemonAndrew said:

does he have the pace and the skills to make it as an 'outside' player? i have my doubts.

He's got an odd running style, but he's not slow.

Posted
58 minutes ago, DemonAndrew said:

does he have the pace and the skills to make it as an 'outside' player? i have my doubts.

He is not express but he is not slow. quite a long kick too. Would like to see him more up the middle where he belongs. He could be one of those bloes who gets better and better as he is good at quite a few things. except short kicking at this stage.