Posted
2 minutes ago, dieter said:

Okay, come clean, who dates Jack Watts?

fkn hilarious dieter

Posted
13 hours ago, don't make me angry said:

Well when Neeld came in and had a hardline everybody on this site agreed with him,  many said they had faith in him,  and it was the right way to go,  I said then that faith is good but blind faith is no good,  I bet u where one who said in neeld we trust,  but u won't get anyone who loved neeld in the beginning say they had faith in him now. 

Sorry mate, Goodwin has a footy pedigree and track record to suggest he's not the second coming of Mark Neeld. Additionally, I think the Paul Roos factor has got the playing group to a headspace where they can probably cope with tough love a little bit more than the side who Mark Neeld tried to coach.

I wasn't a fan of Neeld, but I had hoped he could turn us around. As it happened he couldn't, but I stand by my call that you've gone way too early on drawing any comparisons here!

Posted
13 hours ago, don't make me angry said:

Well when Neeld came in and had a hardline everybody on this site agreed with him,  many said they had faith in him,  and it was the right way to go,  I said then that faith is good but blind faith is no good,  I bet u where one who said in neeld we trust,  but u won't get anyone who loved neeld in the beginning say they had faith in him now. 

Goodwin does have a lot to prove and get right.  No doubt.  I agree with your point about blind faith.  At the minute he is as much a chance to be no good in the hot seat as he is a chance to be successful. His interview when announcing the co-captains was ridiculous. Gave me my first doubts about his composure.  

Posted
1 hour ago, pinkshark said:

Goodwin does have a lot to prove and get right.  No doubt.  I agree with your point about blind faith.  At the minute he is as much a chance to be no good in the hot seat as he is a chance to be successful. His interview when announcing the co-captains was ridiculous. Gave me my first doubts about his composure.  

I agree Goodwin does have a lot to prove. 

In regards to his announcement about the captains imo it seemed that he had memorised what he wanted to say and wanted to get it out asap. Once the questions started he was fine. 

I don't think it's anything to worry about tbh. 

Posted
1 hour ago, DemonOX said:

I agree Goodwin does have a lot to prove. 

In regards to his announcement about the captains imo it seemed that he had memorised what he wanted to say and wanted to get it out asap. Once the questions started he was fine. 

I don't think it's anything to worry about tbh. 

So far on field we've beaten the reigning premiers in a preseason match. Better than anything we did under Neeld!

Posted
3 hours ago, DemonWA said:

So far on field we've beaten the reigning premiers in a preseason match. Better than anything we did under Neeld!

True. We only beat the runners-up in a pre-season match under Neeld.

Posted

Why this unhealthy obsession that requires making comparisons about everything that happens with the Neeld era? Most of the time the comparisons are remote and irrelevant which indicates these people are acting out of spite, stupidity or both. Just build a bridge and get over it.

Posted
14 hours ago, Bobby McKenzie said:

Very true, but I have worries over Mahoneys comment about a "few issues need to be sorted" Bit of cloak and dagger stuff maybe?

Mahoney spreading innuendo.

Posted

Quite comfortable with this now. He obviously needed a refresher course in maintaining training standards and received it.

It's a shame he needed it, but I reckon Macca is on the money with his "block-head" concept (even if the term itself is questionable) - it's clear Watts doesn't have the singular drive that the likes of Viney have. I don't begrudge that - I see drive as a trait just as inherent as talent - you have it or you don't. The important thing is that Goodwin and co continue to work with Watts to ensure the standards remain high rather than "disciplining" him, which is hopefully what is happening here.

Posted
1 hour ago, Nasher said:

Quite comfortable with this now. He obviously needed a refresher course in maintaining training standards and received it.

It's a shame he needed it, but I reckon Macca is on the money with his "block-head" concept (even if the term itself is questionable) - it's clear Watts doesn't have the singular drive that the likes of Viney have. I don't begrudge that - I see drive as a trait just as inherent as talent - you have it or you don't. The important thing is that Goodwin and co continue to work with Watts to ensure the standards remain high rather than "disciplining" him, which is hopefully what is happening here.

As an ex-gun player, Goodwin recognises what is holding Watts back from being a gun player, and is determined to make him fulfil his potential.

Too early to assess outcomes, but Neeld's approach was an iron fist in a velvet glove, minus the velvet glove.

Posted (edited)
2 hours ago, Ted Fidge said:

As an ex-gun player, Goodwin recognises what is holding Watts back from being a gun player, and is determined to make him fulfil his potential.

Too early to assess outcomes, but Neeld's approach was an iron fist in a velvet glove, minus the velvet glove.

Yep ... denying Watts the one thing that does matter to him has got to fire the bloke up.  The more I think about it, the more I believe it might work.  Or it won't hurt at least.  It doesn't hurt the team either as the real stuff hasn't begun yet.

All the traits needed to be a 'warrior-type'* are in-built into any sportsperson (to a certain degree) but we need to see more of it out of Jack.  Goodwin is laying down the challenge and we may well look back down the track and see it all as a positive move.  Much like when Stevie J being left out for 6 weeks was the making of him as a footballer.

*And I agree Nasher, the locker-room term I put forward is just too questionable but boys will be boys :ph34r: ... another nickname for these types of players is often 'diesel' or 'hardnut' but none of those types of terms quite covers it.  The Collingwood team of the late 1920's was known as a machine.  Norm Smith's teams were of a similar nature (from what I've read and been told)

But "Warrior-type" is quite an apt title though.  And then there is a scale of course.  On a scale of 1 to 10 Viney is a 9 or 10 whilst Watts is not near that number (but his number can obviously improve)

Posted

I just think there's a lot of dubious psychology being raised about tough love, iron gloves and so-called "attitudinal" problems. 

There's a lot of readily ascertainable measures of the fitness of a professional footballer (for example flexibility, strength, aerobic capacity, body fat, etc.) 

Goodwin and the fitness staff at Melbourne would have a good idea of where Watts is on these measures compared to where he was when he was playing well and meeting the fitness targets in 2016. It's not hard to show Watts what the difference is and what he has to do to reach previous levels. I'd imagine Watts is intelligent enough to see the problem and work on it, which is exactly what he and the coaching staff are doing.

The issue is also to avoid him falling out of condition next year to the extent he seems to have over summer this year. This is where the real application and "attitudinal" issues arise.

Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, mauriesy said:

I just think there's a lot of dubious psychology being raised about tough love, iron gloves and so-called "attitudinal" problems. 

There's a lot of readily ascertainable measures of the fitness of a professional footballer (for example flexibility, strength, aerobic capacity, body fat, etc.) 

Goodwin and the fitness staff at Melbourne would have a good idea of where Watts is on these measures compared to where he was when he was playing well and meeting the fitness targets in 2016. It's not hard to show Watts what the difference is and what he has to do to reach previous levels. I'd imagine Watts is intelligent enough to see the problem and work on it, which is exactly what he and the coaching staff are doing.

The issue is also to avoid him falling out of condition next year to the extent he seems to have over summer this year. This is where the real application and "attitudinal" issues arise.

This is not the place for level headed posts and measured responses.   

Goodwin is Mark Neeld. 

Edited by Ethan Tremblay

Posted

Everyone needs to stop worrying about it!

The reason Jack is not playing JLT is because the club has changed his role and doesn't want other clubs to see it prior to the season starting... Relax already!

Posted
5 hours ago, Hulett Packard III said:

Why this unhealthy obsession that requires making comparisons about everything that happens with the Neeld era? Most of the time the comparisons are remote and irrelevant which indicates these people are acting out of spite, stupidity or both. Just build a bridge and get over it.

Asking MFC suppoters especially on here to stop looking over their shoulder at the past     does the phrase 'hell freezes over' ring any bells

Some have not even managed to forgive Brayshaw for his cross field kick against Hawthorn last year yet

Posted
1 hour ago, mauriesy said:

Like you're implying, I certainly don't like word "attitude" being used here. It may have been unintentional, but those using it to describe this situation give off an impression of conscious belligerence or rebelliousness towards training. In this case I seems it's more likely a subconscious relaxation of standards, and the response is nothing more than a reminder to him as to where he needs to be.

Posted
5 hours ago, Hulett Packard III said:

Not spite or stupidity, fear

Posted (edited)

Goodwin's presser was very interesting...

I honestly believe that he is putting the "ball" fairly and squarely in Jack's court!

"You are good enough to be one of the elite players of this competition Jack, but unless you bring your highest level of intensity every time you pull on your boots, I will not sit here and allow you to waste your talent.  You have the opportunity to be an integral part of something special here and show everyone that ever doubted you they were wrong but, mark my words young man, if you don't bring 100% every time you pull on an item of red 'n blue clothing, I will have no hesitation in allowing you to watch US do it while you wear different colours.  It's in your hands Jack!"

We are about to have a real crack at a premiership over the coming years people! If you don't clip your ticket then you miss out! 

We are Melbourne.... and we are back!

:cool:

Edited by Krazy Jaeger O'Smeara
Posted (edited)
11 minutes ago, Krazy Jaeger O'Smeara said:

Goodwin's presser was very interesting...

I honestly believe that he is putting the "ball" fairly and squarely in Jack's court!

"You are good enough to be one of the elite players of this competition Jack, but unless you bring your highest level of intensity every time you pull on your boots, I will not sit here and allow you to waste your talent.  You have the opportunity to be an integral part of something special here and show everyone that ever doubted you they were wrong but, mark my words young man, if you don't bring 100% every time you pull on an item of red 'n blue clothing, I will have no hesitation in allowing you to watch US do it while you wear different colours.  It's in your hands Jack!"

We are about to have a real crack at a premiership over the coming years people! If you don't clip your ticket then you miss out! 

We are Melbourne.... and we are back!

:cool:

Yes. What I got out of it was that this key criteria is 100℅ intensity all the time, and if you don't show that, you're not getting picked. I did like the fact that he said "when Jack does return, we are going to have a very good player on our hands".

If Goodwin's plan does work and he can produce a super charged Jack Watts, who's even more damaging then 2016, then he is a genius.

Edited by demon9
Posted
Just now, demon9 said:

Yes. What I got out of it was that this key criteria is 100℅ intensity and if you don't show that, you're not getting picked. I did like the fact that he said "when Jack does return, we are going to have a very good player on our hands".

If Goodwin's plan does work and he can produce a super charged Jack Watts, who's even more damaging then 2016, then he is a genius.

I honestly believe that he knows how to get the best out of Jack and he thinks when he does that we take the next step in our evolution towards contenders.

This could be a massive turning point in our club.... but, at the end of the day, if Jack doesn't prove himself worthy of being a part of our return to greatness, then Goodwin will at least know he will not achieve it elsewhere either and will put him on the market.

I like the new Melbourne!

Posted

I coached the seconds at Ainslie last year and the amount of times I had to say to young blokes "you got dropped form the 1s, who gives a [censored]," was eye opening...

We have built up this pervasive fear of the slightest bit of failure, that someone has to address getting 'dropped' from pre-season games on the national news!

If you are looking for an example of a player that can be dropped multiple times, stay strong and make a career for himself and play some top quality footy, you don't have to look very far - Jack Watts is a fine example!

The genius of Watts has taken ages and he seems to take a leap forward and then he dithers, shows fiery brilliance and a blip of indifference, brings the house down, and then lets himself down.

But it is the trying times like these that seem to define him, or at least he defines them. With every criticism, and there have been plenty here, he has eschewed them and continued on, and he will do it again in 2017.

He's Jack Watts.

I'm Malcolm Gladwell and this was Revisionist History.

(Note: It's a really good podcast)

Posted
On 2/25/2017 at 0:45 PM, Satyriconhome said:

I thought he was Zach Galiflanakis sans the beard

Also "Sprach Zarathrustra"