Posted

With the Jack Viney debacle taking some of the gloss off the win, I wanted to turn focus back to the positives.

It's very hard to chose my favourite part from the win.

Dawes' tackles, marks, goals, pumping up of Jack Watts.

The two rookies' first quarter goals.

Grimes' spoil(!)

But my favourite thing, I reckon, did not even happen with time running.

After Tyson's goal, the response he got from his teammates was electric and spine tingling. I haven't seen a response like that from Melbourne boys in what feels like a very long time, especially away from home against 40,000 opposition fans. Every player in the area showed such instant glee, it reminded me of how I fell in love with footy originally - watching players have fun, do well, and celebrate like nutters.

Posted

I really liked Jack Vineys attack on the ball, twice in 3 seconds at around the 11 minute mark of the first.

Quite possibly won the game for us right there...

:)

Posted (edited)

That was my favourite moment too. Footy is fun when your mate puts you 16 points up with an outside of the boot torpedo.

Grimes' effort was something I see elite players do.

Posted

The very last stoppage out on the wing, and Ro Bail flew through the stationary pack, kicked the ball long, and I knew the game was ours.

But the Grimes spoil goes down as one of the best I have ever seen.

Posted

The part where he bit the head off the chicken.

Posted (edited)

I liked Vineys bump, and Dawes tackle and grimes spoil

Edited by Young Dee

Posted

Favorite was Ro Bail 3 maybe 4 clearances in the first 10 minutes Brilliant didnt think he had it in him just great

Posted

Tyson's goal. Seeing someone burst out of a pack and finish such a clutch goal is something I haven't seen from a young player in a long time.

Posted

When I motioned from my seat for the 1%ers, a hand in here a pressure act there, and for most of the game what I hoped they'd do they actually did.

Posted

Best part was undoubtedly experiencing 1st hand the visceral rollercoaster of emotions that the Crows supporters went through - initially, the expectation of an easy 'kill', followed by a growing sense of doubt that gradually grew into fear of the unthinkable - not merely losing at home but losing to a lowly team like Melbourne! Topping it all off was the hope/belief that unfolded over the course of the last 1/4 that they would just get up, only to fall 3 points short. The confidence that we will get from holding on and triumphing in such a hostile environment must surely hold us in good stead in coming weeks.

Posted

Favorite was Ro Bail 3 maybe 4 clearances in the first 10 minutes Brilliant didnt think he had it in him just great

Very impressed with Bail. He was robbed of a great mark in the last quarter too.

JHK with his weaving goal and lightning quick hands.

Jack Watts getting into it and showing physicality.

Posted

Chris Dawes impressive do or die tackle.

Watts and Howes genuine improvement (Roos surely has the gift)

Jack G's desperate spoil

The whole teams keeping to the systems for the whole of the last quarter despite the Crows having the run - on and 49,000 Adelaide supporters screaming.

Lastly Bernie's grin when the siren went. Magic.

Posted

Standing up at the game and as the crows supporters were leaving yelling at them to CLEAR THE CARPARKS. Boy did I get a response, I just laughed and told them to stay and sing our song. Just loved it.

Posted

The unearthing of a grey area in the sub/concussion rule.

We need one of our bigger guys to come off with 5 minutes left of the first and second quarters, undergo a concussion test, while we are able to put our sub in to the game.

Salem (at this stage until he can play a full game) comes on for a dominant 5 minutes at the end of each quarter, provides those fresh legs that are hard to keep up with at the end of each quarter, runs the opposition in to the ground, sngas a goal or two, then at the start of the next quarter we have our "concussion decoy" come back on.

Other than that, I don't know if I've seen a MFC captain's goal as good as what Chunk clunked in the last quarter. Quiet-ish game, stood up when we needed.

Posted

Three highlights: Grimes spoil, JKH's silky skills and Salem's early goal!

Posted

Mine was in the 3rd q (I think). Viney gets a head high free as he streams forward with a center clearance. Barely slows down, plays on immediately and runs out of the square and puts the ball on a leading jkh's chest. The future right there. Jamsrs mark and Tyson's goal weren't bad either!

Posted

Favourite moments from the game:

• Tyson's goal
  • Dawes' tackle
  • Grimes' punch
  • Jetta giving Betts a bath.

After:

Nothing beats reading the paper after a good win

Oh, and trolling the Adelaide forums

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Unfortunately, your content contains terms that we do not allow. Please edit your content to remove the highlighted words below.
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.