Posted

01StevenMay2021.png

The Rock of Gibraltar in Melbourne’s defence throughout the season, May overcame the pain of a hamstring injury in the Grand Final and restricted the Bulldog danger man to nine touches and a single goal in what will become part of club legend.

Date of Birth: 10 January, 1992
Height: 193cm
Weight: 100kg

Games MFC 2021: 23
Career Total: 171

Goals MFC 2021: 0
Career Total: 23

Brownlow Medal Votes 2021: 1

All Australian
Premiership Player

Massive pick up by MFC, talented, experienced, strong, tough and brave with a great footy IQ. 💕💙❤️

30 minutes ago, Bitter but optimistic said:

May has delivered precisely what we recruited him for.

He is a prime example of our outstanding list management and player development of the last few years 

yes, him and the lad from romsey are our two rocks of gibraltar in the backline

I love Maysie sooo much. He’s humble and mild-mannered and well-spoken. Oh, and he’s a decent player, too. 😉 

Let’s not forget he missed 1 game with a fractured eye socket. Soft. 

Returned 13 days later and destroyed the Richmond forwards on the big stage. 

Gold Coast must seem like a lifetime ago. 

Awesome season, one of the best recruits we've seen.

Could be VC in 2022.

Edited by Jibroni

Hopefully his body can hold up for another 3-4 years. I do worry about his hamstrings.

I wonder with Tomlinson available next year if we could move May into a Hibberd-type role and have him play as a small-medium defender.

I’m glad he came to us to win a flag and it actually happened.

The bloke’s a ripper too.

While fully acknowledging all of his outstanding football and ambassadorial qualities as mentioned above, I value Maysie's leadership even more highly.

1 Brownlow vote… what a dud!

Could not be happier for this bloke. He’s got the flag he’s craved and was a massive reason we were so hard to beat all year. Oozes leadership.

One of my favorite players. Well worth his All Australian jacket this year. Should have got one last year as well

I have to say, I thought he was a bit of a thug when he was up north. That hit against Andrews? was horrific.

But he was just frustrated and now he can enjoy his last few years in the AFL. And hopefully win a few more flags with Lever. What a dynamic those two have - they both grate on each other from reports but they get a great deal out of each other too.

Thanks, all posters, and here we are only at No.1 (yes, yes and yes to everything said). Looking good, then, for another month of this wonderful ride!

One question, D'land: Will you follow the numbers strictly or, Premiers-presentation-like, save No.11 till last?

7 hours ago, Deestroy All said:

Let’s not forget he missed 1 game with a fractured eye socket. Soft. 

Returned 13 days later and destroyed the Richmond forwards on the big stage. 

Gold Coast must seem like a lifetime ago. 

Hard to believe he spent 8 years at Gold Coast. 

Honestly feel like he's been a demon for life.

I love his passion for the Demons and his astute understanding of the game.

Steve "Frothies" May has also become one of my favourite Melbourne players. 

Hope he recovers well from his torn hamstring and gets plenty of rest before heading back for Pre-Season training.

19 hours ago, Demonland said:

01StevenMay2021.png

The Rock of Gibraltar in Melbourne’s defence throughout the season, May overcame the pain of a hamstring injury in the Grand Final and restricted the Bulldog danger man to nine touches and a single goal in what will become part of club legend.

Date of Birth: 10 January, 1992
Height: 193cm
Weight: 100kg

Games MFC 2021: 23
Career Total: 171

Goals MFC 2021: 0
Career Total: 23

Brownlow Medal Votes 2021: 1

Can we acknowledge in his bio 

2021 All Australian Full Back 

Had a fantastic year.  Great guy.  A leader.  One of the most humble guys you’d meet.  Loves the footy club. Bloody champion. 

Mayzie was interviewed after one of the Cairns games by Ben Gibson if i recall, and was honest about what he thought of the performance. 
i think that is where our Premiership tilt started. 
there will be a few more Medals around this guys neck before he retires. 

brilliant recruiting. I knew little of him, as I don’t follow GC closely. But when i heard him speak I knew he was genuine 

I loved his footy at the GC, but thought he was a bit of a loose thug at times. Always seemed to be pointing and directing others. The way he arrived for his first preseason at the Dees had him on my "watch, wait and see" list. I wasn't too sure to buy in or not.

Someone else mentioned above, that after a game a year or so ago he was interviewed and was brutally honest about the way we played - that's when I began to watch and listen and have since become a huge fan. Goodwin and Gawn seem to have built a culture of "smiling assassins", and by that I mean they are great, warm hearted, people inclusive, genuine good blookes who are focused, mildly angry, game focused beasts once they cross the white line. I reckon May leads this mindset. 

One of the best recruits in my memory.

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Unfortunately, your content contains terms that we do not allow. Please edit your content to remove the highlighted words below.
Reply to this topic...

Featured Content

• NON-MFC: Round 13

Follow all the action from every Round 13 clash excluding the Dees as the 2025 AFL Premiership Season rolls on. With Melbourne playing in the final match of the round on King's Birthday, all eyes turn to the rest of the competition. Who are you tipping to win? And more importantly, which results best serve the Demons’ finals aspirations? Join the discussion and keep track of the matches that could shape the ladder and impact our run to September.

• Thanks
    • 35 replies
  • PREVIEW: Collingwood

Having convincingly defeated last year’s premier and decisively outplayed the runner-up with 8.2 in the final quarter, nothing epitomized the Melbourne Football Club’s performance more than its 1.12 final half, particularly the eight consecutive behinds in the last term, against a struggling St Kilda team in the midst of a dismal losing streak. Just when stability and consistency were anticipated within the Demon ranks, they delivered a quintessential performance marked by instability and ill-conceived decisions, with the most striking aspect being their inaccuracy in kicking for goal, which suggested a lack of preparation (instead of sleeping in their hotel in Alice, were they having a night on the turps) rather than a well-rested team. Let’s face it - this kicking disease that makes them look like raw amateurs is becoming a millstone around the team’s neck.

• Thanks
    • 1 reply
  • CASEY: Sydney

The Casey Demons were always expected to emerge victorious in their matchup against the lowly-ranked Sydney Swans at picturesque Tramway Oval, situated in the shadows of the SCG in Moore Park. They dominated the proceedings in the opening two and a half quarters of the game but had little to show for it. This was primarily due to their own sloppy errors in a low-standard game that produced a number of crowded mauls reminiscent of the rugby game popular in old Sydney Town. However, when the Swans tired, as teams often do when they turn games into ugly defensive contests, Casey lifted the standard of its own play and … it was off to the races. Not to nearby Randwick but to a different race with an objective of piling on goal after goal on the way to a mammoth victory. At the 25-minute mark of the third quarter, the Demons held a slender 14-point lead over the Swans, who are ahead on the ladder of only the previous week's opposition, the ailing Bullants. Forty minutes later, they had more than fully compensated for the sloppiness of their earlier play with a decisive 94-point victory, that culminated in a rousing finish which yielded thirteen unanswered goals. Kicks hit their targets, the ball found itself going through the middle and every player made a contribution.

• Thanks
    • 1 reply
  • REPORT: St. Kilda

Hands up if you thought, like me, at half-time in yesterday’s game at TIO Traeger Park, Alice Springs that Melbourne’s disposal around the ground and, in particular, its kicking inaccuracy in front of the goals couldn’t get any worse. Well, it did. And what’s even more damning for the Melbourne Football Club is that the game against St Kilda and its resurgence from the bottomless pit of its miserable start to the season wasn’t just lost through poor conversion for goal but rather in the 15 minutes when the entire team went into a slumber and was mugged by the out-of-form Saints. Their six goals two behinds (one goal less than the Demons managed for the whole game) weaved a path of destruction from which they were unable to recover. Ross Lyon’s astute use of pressure to contain the situation once they had asserted their grip on the game, and Melbourne’s self-destructive wastefulness, assured that outcome. The old adage about the insanity of repeatedly doing something and expecting a different result, was out there. Two years ago, the score line in Melbourne’s loss to the Giants at this same ground was 5 goals 15 behinds - a ratio of one goal per four scoring shots - was perfectly replicated with yesterday’s 7 goals 21 behinds. 
    This has been going on for a while and opens up a number of questions. I’ll put forward a few that come to mind from this performance. The obvious first question is whether the club can find a suitable coach to instruct players on proper kicking techniques or is this a skill that can no longer be developed at this stage of the development of our playing group? Another concern is the team's ability to counter an opponent's dominance during a run on as exemplified by the Saints in the first quarter. Did the Demons underestimate their opponents, considering St Kilda's goals during this period were scored by relatively unknown forwards? Furthermore, given the modest attendance of 6,721 at TIO Traeger Park and the team's poor past performances at this venue, is it prudent to prioritize financial gain over potentially sacrificing valuable premiership points by relinquishing home ground advantage, notwithstanding the cultural significance of the team's connection to the Red Centre? 

• Thanks
    • 4 replies
  • PREGAME: Collingwood

After a disappointing loss in Alice Springs the Demons return to the MCG to take on the Magpies in the annual King's Birthday Big Freeze for MND game. Who comes in and who goes out?

• Thanks
    • 248 replies
  • PODCAST: St. Kilda

The Demonland Podcast will air LIVE on Monday, 2nd June @ 8:00pm. Join Binman, George & I as we have a chat with former Demon ruckman Jeff White about his YouTube channel First Use where he dissects ruck setups and contests. We'll then discuss the Dees disappointing loss to the Saints in Alice Springs.
    Your questions and comments are a huge part of our podcast so please post anything you want to ask or say below and we'll give you a shout out on the show.
    Listen LIVE: https://demonland.com/

• Thanks
    • 47 replies