Local media pundits not taking MFC as a serious threat.

6 hours ago, Dr.D said:

Way to use things completely out of context. You should be a journalist. I was referring to not wanting to win because I believed that ultimate success would come sooner if Goodwin was gone and limping into finals would've glossed over the hard coaching review that was needed. Thankfully Goodwin has improved some of his work but I put a lot of it down to Williams and Yze. 

I was thinking "Dr.D hasn't got a clue", and then I thought, "he sounds like SWYL", but that can't be right because he's had a go at Journalists. Then it hit me, we have another one. Definition of  ............... ; “a mental condition in which people have an inflated sense of their own importance, a deep need for excessive attention and admiration, troubled relationships, and a lack of empathy for others. People with .............. tend to have a distorted self-image and are intensely preoccupied with themselves, which adds to that lack of empathy — they’re just not interested in feelings or opinions that aren’t their own".

Edited by dworship

2 hours ago, dworship said:

I was thinking "Dr.D hasn't got a clue", and then I thought, "he sounds like SWYL", but that can't be right because he's had a go at Journalists. Then it hit me, we have another one. Definition of  ............... ; “a mental condition in which people have an inflated sense of their own importance, a deep need for excessive attention and admiration, troubled relationships, and a lack of empathy for others. People with .............. tend to have a distorted self-image and are intensely preoccupied with themselves, which adds to that lack of empathy — they’re just not interested in feelings or opinions that aren’t their own".

All very fascinating. I think you'd find that if you brought in all of the supporters from all of the other teams and they heard half of the stuff demonlanders post on here that would be in even more disapproval than me. I may come across as negative but really I'm just neutral in the greater scheme of things. It's the complete biased nature of your typical forum supporter that skews your definition of negative and positive. 

We have been one of the worst teams of the last 25 years, I don't think there's a lot to be positive about until we show a system that can last year in year out. How could you possibly be confident heading into 2022 given we came 16th after a successful 2018 season despite having basically no injuries and basically no excuses for it? Please give me an analysis more than just 'natural progression'. Because there is simply no excuse for 2019 and 2020. We have very much the same list back then as we do now. Sure we have a couple of youngsters this year but they're only 2nd year players so it comes back to the core of our club. An inability to perform  and back things up.  The success we've had this year only proves just how bad we were the last 2 years and whilst most supporters will forget about it and ride the bumps of success, I'm keeping a balanced view on what is historical fact about this football club. 

I'd love peoples honest opinions on what they put down the last 2 years to.

I'm also over the continual over hyping of our younger players. We have had far too many posters hype up juniors only for them to be fall short and be out of the system. There's about 20 past players that I could reel off without thinking that people made ridiculous projections about. But now that they're out of the system people are conveniently quiet and just focus on the next batch of draftees. Bate the next Pav, Tapscott our Hurn, Morton the modern day transition player, Wonaeamirri the next Cyril, Watts the next Roo,  Maric our next sharpshooter, Jack Grimes a 300 game leader, Strauss elite foot skills to hit up Roo for 10 years, Gysberts our next clearance specialist, Blease our next Brent Harvey. Do I even mention Toumpas? Lucas cooke was just about the only first rounder people didn't project into the stratosphere. All I'm asking for is a bit of accountability. 

Edited by Dr.D

28 minutes ago, Dr.D said:

How could you possibly be confident heading into 2022 given we came 16th after a successful 2018 season despite having basically no injuries and basically no excuses for it?

Are you serious? 2019 was one of our worst years in terms of injuries. Neither Lever nor May, who are easily our two best defenders, played more than 10 games due to constant injuries. Tmac did his knee after kicking 6 goals against Carlton and was unable to play for the rest of the season. Melksham, who had been in career best form, got injured very early in the season and wasn't seen again until around round 21. Our forwards were so hampered by injuries to the point where we were forced to play Hunt and Petty in the forwardline.

Our performance in 2019 was obviously a shamble, but to say that we have "no excuses for it" is just ludicrous. If our players remain fit in 2022, our supporters should have every right to be confident.

Edited by Hopeful Demon

42 minutes ago, Hopeful Demon said:

Are you serious? 2019 was one of our worst years in terms of injuries. Neither Lever nor May, who are easily our two best defenders, played more than 10 games due to constant injuries. Tmac did his knee after kicking 6 goals against Carlton and was unable to play for the rest of the season. Melksham, who had been in career best form, got injured very early in the season and wasn't seen again until around round 21. Our forwards were so hampered by injuries to the point where we were forced to play Hunt and Petty in the forwardline.

Our performance in 2019 was obviously a shamble, but to say that we have "no excuses for it" is just ludicrous. If our players remain fit in 2022, our supporters should have every right to be confident.

We didn't have May in 2018 so that shouldn't be included.  Lever only played 3 less games than in 2018. Of the 12 games that Melksham played, we lost 9 of those games. Tom Mcdonald played almost every game up to Round 15. We were 5 wins, 10 losses in that time. So the damage was done at the start of the year when we lost 5 of the first 6 games. 

I asked for an explanation and I appreciate that but I really think the reasons we did poor in 2019 and 2020 are probably the same reasons and the injury free 2020 really proved that.

Edited by Dr.D

17 hours ago, Dr.D said:

How could you possibly be confident heading into 2022 given we came 16th after a successful 2018 season

I'm always confident we will improve until we don't. I'm not about to get drawn into the tangled web of your opinions however I will comment on the above. What has the 2022 season got to do with 2018 or 2019? We haven't even finished this season yet. Are you saying because we will play finals in 2021 then it's likely we will crash in 2022? Actually, I'm doing it again, I'm engaging with someone I shouldn't, I'll leave you to look longingly at your half empty glass.

On 7/1/2021 at 3:48 PM, Garbo said:

12 and 2 after 14 games and 5 - 0 vs top 8. The mix in the maiming games is 4 vs top 8 and 3 of them away,

? Where the object of the game is to leave somebody permanently disabled??? Sounds brutal!

5 hours ago, dworship said:

I'm always confident we will improve until we don't. I'm not about to get drawn into the tangled web of your opinions however I will comment on the above. What has the 2022 season got to do with 2018 or 2019? We haven't even finished this season yet. Are you saying because we will play finals in 2021 then it's likely we will crash in 2022? Actually, I'm doing it again, I'm engaging with someone I shouldn't, I'll leave you to look longingly at your half empty glass.

2019/20 has no relevancy if you head into each season with an ignorance is bliss mindset. I prefer to look at the club with a wider sense. 

On 6/29/2021 at 3:32 PM, Better days ahead said:

The doggies were flummoxed, we ran the Lions off their feet and the Cats old legs will tire over the journey. We are rock solid defensively and I reckon the fittest team in the league.

The media are distracted by bright shiny things. I’m not fussed. I prefer to be under-estimated. Come September I’ll back in May, Lever, our game plan and fitness over every other team.

Cats are my concern. Their game style is a slow one, probably to account for their old list. As a strong marking side with a strong onballers they slow the game down by kicking from contest to contest and use big-bodied players in the clinches if it drops to ground. A contested side which will stand up in finals. The key to beating them is actually turning speeding the pace of the game up so strong running players like Hunt, Langdon, Kossie etc, must take the game on by running to space and attempting to break lines.

7 hours ago, Dr.D said:

2019/20 has no relevancy if you head into each season with an ignorance is bliss mindset. I prefer to look at the club with a wider sense. 

You as a supporter are exactly the same as media who don’t give us due respect. Personally I go into each season with optimism & maybe a blissful mindset but tempered with a good sense of reality. I prefer not to “look back at history “ but half the fun of being supporter is to get excited & hyped up by our new players & if our hopes are dashed as they have been many times …so be it. I don’t follow the Dees to be measured & analytical ..,that can occur after the season. As for this season I’m enjoying every win …going to every game I can & praying that at the end of the season whether we win a GF or not ..we will have at least established an  identifiable brand of footy and a football club that has garnered the respect of the wider football community 

Just a shout out to the following: hopeful demon, Dante, Flashinthepan, pollyanna, Drysdale demon, dr.gonzo, AmDamDemon, Garbo, John Crow Batty, Click-bate, Jaded, whatwhatsaywhat, titan uranus and superunknown. 

I  told you all! This is exactly WHY I feel the way I feel. Completely justified by thinking we won't make top 4 and now just wait for all the media to follow Dr.D and start talking about our chances of coming 5th. Hopefully now you can put your complete blind faith aside and be impartial and see the Mac for what we are. A team that you CAN NOT TRUST.  Go back into your little hole and justify to yourselves all the excuses you can come up with as to why we lost that game. We have lost to 3 poor teams this year with EVERYTHING TO PLAY FOR. (top 4). We have come out flat in most first halves this year and our goal kicking continues to screw us over.  This is yet another example of me going against the grain of popular opinion, analysing our form, our matchups and stating with a high confidence that we won't make top 4.  Feel free to PM your personal apologies. 

Kudos to Roy11 and Cyb for agreeing with my sentiments.

• Facepalm 2

28 minutes ago, Dr.D said:

Just a shout out to the following: hopeful demon, Dante, Flashinthepan, pollyanna, Drysdale demon, dr.gonzo, AmDamDemon, Garbo, John Crow Batty, Click-bate, Jaded, whatwhatsaywhat, titan uranus and superunknown. 

I  told you all! This is exactly WHY I feel the way I feel. Completely justified by thinking we won't make top 4 and now just wait for all the media to follow Dr.D and start talking about our chances of coming 5th. Hopefully now you can put your complete blind faith aside and be impartial and see the Mac for what we are. A team that you CAN NOT TRUST.  Go back into your little hole and justify to yourselves all the excuses you can come up with as to why we lost that game. We have lost to 3 poor teams this year with EVERYTHING TO PLAY FOR. (top 4). We have come out flat in most first halves this year and our goal kicking continues to screw us over.  This is yet another example of me going against the grain of popular opinion, analysing our form, our matchups and stating with a high confidence that we won't make top 4.  Feel free to PM your personal apologies. 

Congratulations. You’ve won supporter of the year. Enjoy your salty tears. 

On 7/3/2021 at 4:30 PM, Dr.D said:

What. A. [censored]

(Edit: I can't believe a word starting with the letter T and ending in osser needs to be censored!)

Edited by La Dee-vina Comedia

I read posts like this and often try and picture someone taking the time to compose this and it always puzzles me. I usually find your posts interesting, but this is infantile dross. I'm puzzled about why  you feel compelled to maintain a record of people you need to call out in this fashion.

More specifically, to your point: I'm not clear what you told me. I've been very nervous for some time about our consistency and hardness, even during the 11-0 run. I do not have blind faith - you can use what appears to be an excess of spare time to trawl through my posts to confirm this yourself.

As to expecting personal apologies - don't hold your breath.

Deary me.

Does Dr D stand for Dr DOOM?

No MFC supporter would be feeling great about our loss to GWS, I know I'm not, but you my friend need to chill a bit

Attacking other supporters on this site is just not on - neither is being the master of 20/20 hindsight or pretending to be the fountain of all knowledge

I like reading other posters opinions on this site that can calmly and rationally talk about the teams performance and where/if we can improve. I also like to read opinions that seek out positives when sometimes there appears to none. Personally I find that helpful in dealing with a disappointing season or game

It's fine to express a view, there will always be differences of opinion and that's healthy - what is not healthy is attacking people and discounting there views because they differ to your own   

Your best work yet. Top trolling.

On 7/1/2021 at 4:29 PM, roy11 said:

Was talking to some pals the other week about the Dees and where we could finish, they thought I was silly for saying we'd finish 4th and that'd be a failure after being on top etc.

The chasing pack is on our heels, 5th place is only 2 wins behind us and we have to play some tough opponents.  The top 5 will be extremely close this year IMO.

I don't see this as Melbourne fan negativity, just lots of contenders this year. 

Just revisiting this;

If we look back at 2019, 3 teams finished on 64 points and then another 2 on 60. 

Expect it to be as close this year, so after dropping this game it makes some of remaining Top4 clashes even more important. 

I still think there are twists and turns to come for not just Melbourne but all the clubs in the top 8.

Even the clubs in 6th to 9th have proven on their day they can do damage. 

I mean it's good for the competition but unfortunate for us as we chase a flag. 

On 7/1/2021 at 10:22 PM, dworship said:

And you think that is who i am??

On 7/5/2021 at 1:25 PM, Sir Why You Little said:

And you think that is who i am??

Well if the cap fits.

Welcome back however, it is interesting that you've been allowed back in the community. I remember some posters sang your praises when you were banned so perhaps you have some redeeming qualities. I'm not without my own issues but I'm a work in progress. Perhaps you are also, we'll see. I was tidying up my ignore list the other day and took you off due to the permanent holiday, clearly premature but will see how we go. I hope Moonie and Biffen have been  allowed to return also.

Wow, what a list. The crème de la crème, right there. What must I do to make it onto this list?!

14 hours ago, dworship said:

Well if the cap fits.

Welcome back however, it is interesting that you've been allowed back in the community. I remember some posters sang your praises when you were banned so perhaps you have some redeeming qualities. I'm not without my own issues but I'm a work in progress. Perhaps you are also, we'll see. I was tidying up my ignore list the other day and took you off due to the permanent holiday, clearly premature but will see how we go. I hope Moonie and Biffen have been  allowed to return also.

Have we met? No we haven’t, so i find it astounding that you can put forward such condescending sentences about me. 
How nice you think i have “some redeeming features, but we’ll see…”

you must be a top bloke at a party, for sure. 

Unbelievable!!!

Put the ignore button back on again old boy. It’s better that way. 

Edited by Sir Why You Little

On 7/1/2021 at 10:22 PM, dworship said:

You talking about Dr D or simply looking in the mirror?

39 minutes ago, Neil Crompton said:

You talking about Dr D or simply looking in the mirror?

That's pretty insightful for a petrol head but narcissists don't have a need for a mirror.