The Should Jack Watts Play Round 1 Poll  

240 members have voted

Posted

DD, the following is a list of draft dissapointments, Jack Watts is not one of them

Jim Toumpas    Pick 4   2012    Not up to it

Lucas Cook      Pick 12  2010   No desire

Jack Trengove  Pick 2  2009   Injuries

Tom Scully        Pick 1 2009    Liar

Sam Blease      Pick 17 2009   Leg + ??

Cale Morton      Pick  4  2008   Ticker

Daniel Bell        Pick 14 2002    Concusssions

Nick Smith         Pick 15 2002    ?

Luke Molan       Pick  9 2001    Injuries? 

Posted
3 minutes ago, ManDee said:

DD, the following is a list of draft dissapointments, Jack Watts is not one of them

I can't include Jack T in a list of disappointments.  He has shown passion, loyalty and grit through the most trying of circumstances.  He has come back from the most challenging adversity. 

Have great admiration for how he has conducted himself and how he has always put the club first. 

Posted
11 hours ago, pinkshark said:

Very well said.  It just seems a bit like an ego statement from Goodwin.  He's probably a tad excited he has the reins in his hands.  

Agreed. Gut instinct says he's pulled the wrong rein slightly on both Viney as co and his PUBLIC handling of Watts. But I suppose his been waiting a looong time to get hold of an AFL side. His career and all his cherished ambitions are here on the line too, so cant expect him to be perfect either. 

Seems like there is plenty of good will and respect for him and I reckon anyone playing would see that a new coach is going to up the ante. Including Watts. One thing for certain is that this team will be intense competitors. 

My hope is that Jones is big enough to share the role without fuss ( pretty sure he is) and that Watts gets selected and plays well this week and for many weeks and the story about him goes away fast. Anyone thinking he isnt a part of out best 22 has got incredibly short memories. If we're gonna win it with this crop...he is going to be a big part of that. 

My other hope is demons deep into September THIS year. I swear I can almost taste it. 

Posted

I'm sure the message has been well and truly received. Time to move on and play him. Can't see the point in letting it go on any longer, after all he had a great season in 2016 and that should count for something.

Posted

Jack also might be a victim of the sides good form in the first two JLT games, especially on the weekend.  The side is playing some great footy, so why change it?

And yes, I'll reiterate that Jack is best 22.  But the depth of our list is putting the pressure on.

Posted (edited)

So sick of commentary around Jack Watts. 

All that I know is that we need him in the team playing as he did in 2016 or better.

Edited by hemingway
Posted

Play him and as soon as he goes for another mark one handed drop him again.

Posted (edited)
10 hours ago, chook fowler said:

I'm sure the message has been well and truly received. Time to move on and play him. Can't see the point in letting it go on any longer, after all he had a great season in 2016 and that should count for something.

As i weaved my way down the mountains to my beach shack and my big mal a young dude on the roadside was flagging a ride and I slowed enough for him to jump on board. Watts your name comrade and he replied Jack mate whats yours. Call me old wolf or just wolf. Jack had the brightest yellow hair I had ever seen and on his forehead he had tattooed 2 red ticks and a black question mark. I offered him a drag on my cheroot but he waved his hand and said no thanks Mr wolf theyre watchin me..... and I dropped the yellow Watts off at the party capital Byron Bay ....everyone is a Goody here...

Edited by grey wolf
and i dropped the yellow Watts off at the party capital of Byron Bay.....'nuff said...
Posted
33 minutes ago, grey wolf said:

As i weaved my way down the mountains to my beach shack and my big mal a young dude on the roadside was flagging a ride and I slowed enough for him to jump on board. Watts your name comrade and he replied Jack mate whats yours. Call me old wolf or just wolf. Jack had the brightest yellow hair I had ever seen and on his forehead he had tattooed 2 red ticks and a black question mark. I offered him a drag on my cheroot but he waved his hand and said no thanks Mr wolf theyre watchin me.

Like to know watts in that cheroot!

Posted
2 hours ago, Lucifer's Hero said:

I can't include Jack T in a list of disappointments.  He has shown passion, loyalty and grit through the most trying of circumstances.  He has come back from the most challenging adversity. 

Have great admiration for how he has conducted himself and how he has always put the club first. 

I agree Luci about his passion, loyalty and grit, but my point was his output has been disappointing - due to injuries.  Trengove 84 games - Scully 127 - Martin 153 - Cunnington 145. 

How could we forget in 2008 we picked Scully, Trengove, Gysberts and Tapscott before Fyfe was picked or Bastinac or Carlisle or Gunston, at least we got Gawn right at 34.

Posted

IMO if he does not get the nod to play next week against the eagles he has no chance of playing round1.

A no show in Perth would mean he has only a Casey practise match to impress the FD.

Having said that he is now a monty

Posted
2 hours ago, Wells 11 said:

Agreed. Gut instinct says he's pulled the wrong rein slightly on both Viney as co and his PUBLIC handling of Watts. But I suppose his been waiting a looong time to get hold of an AFL side. His career and all his cherished ambitions are here on the line too, so cant expect him to be perfect either. 

Seems like there is plenty of good will and respect for him and I reckon anyone playing would see that a new coach is going to up the ante. Including Watts. One thing for certain is that this team will be intense competitors. 

My hope is that Jones is big enough to share the role without fuss ( pretty sure he is) and that Watts gets selected and plays well this week and for many weeks and the story about him goes away fast. Anyone thinking he isnt a part of out best 22 has got incredibly short memories. If we're gonna win it with this crop...he is going to be a big part of that. 

My other hope is demons deep into September THIS year. I swear I can almost taste it. 

I think this really misreads Goodwin. He has clearly decided to put down standards, and if they are not met to his satisfaction, then you don't play. 

What a change this is! We as supporters would all agree that Jack  Watts has not lived up to his  number one draft billing, but we have seen signs of his sublime skills. The only conclusion is these inconsistencies are a result of attitude. Goodwin is now in the wonderful position to be able to insist on performance, just the same as Luke Beaveridge did in his early days at the dogs with several of his previous all Australian players. And look how that turned out?

Mark my words this will be our making: JW will be a brute when he comes back as he realises that he is now not indispensable. 

And we can only be the better for it. We are in good hands...

Posted
2 hours ago, Wells 11 said:

I think this really misreads Goodwin. He has clearly decided to put down standards, and if they are not met to his satisfaction, then you don't play. 

What a change this is! We as supporters would all agree that Jack  Watts has not lived up to his  number one draft billing, but we have seen signs of his sublime skills. The only conclusion is these inconsistencies are a result of attitude. Goodwin is now in the wonderful position to be able to insist on performance, just the same as Luke Beaveridge did in his early days at the dogs with several of his previous all Australian players. And look how that turned out?

Mark my words this will be our making: JW will be a brute when he comes back as he realises that he is now not indispensable. 

And we can only be the better for it. We are in good hands...

Posted
23 hours ago, Wiseblood said:

But what if he gets picked, has a shocker and we still lose? It looks like he succumbed to the pressure and picked him when he shouldn't have. 

These things work both ways. If Watts earns his spot, then he plays. If not, then he doesn't. That's on Jack, not Goodwin. If Jack doesn't reach the clear standards that are given to him then it's Jack's fault and he is to blame. Simple. 

Correct

Posted
8 hours ago, Lucifer's Hero said:

Still a disappointment though...

however you wrap it up it is a failure....

Posted
10 hours ago, ManDee said:

What ?

Watts is a horribly disappointing player.  One good year in 8.  Even the good Watts is nowhere near the player I hoped for when drafted.

Posted
9 hours ago, hemingway said:

So sick of commentary around Jack Watts. 

All that I know is that we need him in the team playing as he did in 2016 or better.

Truer words have never been spoken!

Watts is an excellent player who we really need to take us to the finals I have no doubt!!

Posted
58 minutes ago, ProDee said:

What ?

Watts is a horribly disappointing player.  One good year in 8.  Even the good Watts is nowhere near the player I hoped for when drafted.

Your disappointment is obviously just a product of your far-fetched hopes. That’s on you, not on Jack Watts.

Posted
7 minutes ago, Chook said:

Your disappointment is obviously just a product of your far-fetched hopes. That’s on you, not on Jack Watts.

No.  My disappointment is based on output.

One good year in 8.

A horrible disappointment.

Posted
22 hours ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Exactly what are these 'vibes'..

Christian Petracca was on SEN today and he mentioned he was quite close to Goodwin and treats him like a brother.. 

Is it so hard for people to understand that the player have MASSIVE respect for Goodwin and love playing under him. Its proved in the last 2 games.

I like Watts vut im a bigger fan of Goodwin and what hes done.

I consider it a bad vibe when one of our better players, who has had a career year, all of a sudden isn't training up to standard.  Your definition of a vibe may be different to mine.

As for your other points:  1.  Petracca saying he treats Goodwin like a brother.  So?

2.  Its not hard for me to understand the players have massive respect for Goodwin.  Not at all.  I actually made a point of that in my post.

3.  Jack [censored] is proven in the JLT series.

4.  What has Goodwin done?  Have I missed something?

Posted
11 hours ago, Wells 11 said:

singing from the same hymn sheet wellsy.  

Posted
1 hour ago, ProDee said:

What ?

Sometimes, Prodee, a hard man is not god to find.

Posted
9 hours ago, chook fowler said:

Like to know watts in that cheroot!

I was sitting  in the casino cigar lounge in the early days before they , in their wisdom, lowered the boom on it. A lovely young hostess came over to me and asked me if I'd like a cheroot. I thought that was very friendly of her but I declined the offer.