Posted
1 hour ago, pinkshark said:

I was a fan.  Gave his all.  So can someone tell me that with trading deadline done and dusted now is Jack Grimes no longer an afl player?

Was delisted, so wouldn't have been traded. Can be picked up as a delisted free agent

Posted

Just goes to show what we are building when we can trade out a solid performer like Dunn.

good luck Lynden,I am sorry it had to end this way.Another one to the dark side.

Say hello to Jeremy.

Posted

I guess this means the MFC are gonna have to shell out a lotta loot for buckets -- given we no longer have a Dunny!!

Posted
38 minutes ago, Vagg said:

I guess this means the MFC are gonna have to shell out a lotta loot for buckets -- given we no longer have a Dunny!!

Sooo bad! I know I tell bad dad jokes, but that's a shocker :)

Posted (edited)

Good luck and thank you- one day I hope to hear what it was that got your cards marked? I thought you had adjusted to Roos, and felt we were undersized this year down back without you. Good that you get another shot.

Edited by DaisyDeeciple
Typing with a busted phone screen

Posted

The baton has passed.

Clayton Oliver, with 7 wins from 13 games, replaces Dunn (8 wins from 11 games, 2006) as the only player on our list to have completed a season for Melbourne having played in more wins than losses.

There's an optimistic yet sickening symmetry there.

Posted
1 hour ago, Little Goffy said:

The baton has passed.

Clayton Oliver, with 7 wins from 13 games, replaces Dunn (8 wins from 11 games, 2006) as the only player on our list to have completed a season for Melbourne having played in more wins than losses.

There's an optimistic yet sickening symmetry there.

And wasn't Dunn the player on our list who had played the most games without playing in a final? If so, who has the baton been passed to? Garland, perhaps?

Posted (edited)
2 hours ago, DaisyDeeciple said:

Good luck and thank you- one day I hope to hear what it was that got your cards marked? I thought you had adjusted to Roos, and felt we were undersized this year down back without you. Good that you get another shot.

I believe that may have been one of his fatal torps. Although some also resulted In end to end goals, bosses often only remember (and highlight/exaggerate) the negatives, especially the most recent.

I liked Lynden Dunn as a person and player even though he was limited in talent with ball in hand he did play the percentages ok (when we were playing the boundary under Neeld more often anyway) and his huge kicks could sometimes catch opponent's presses unawares and get us the odd goal out the back.

Not a great talent by any means but a great club man who got himself into AFL level playing condition (body/mind) and could hold his own on some occasions in a 50/50 defensive role against selective KPFs.

Ok, so at other times maybe not so great but he also flew the flag on occasions as well when no one else was during the dark days, albeit sometimes for no good apparent reason ? Could also go forward and kick the odd super goal from outside 50 or just on the paint.

I wish him much success (not too much against us though) in his new role at pie park.

Thank you Lynden and good luck mate!

Posted

And wasn't Dunn the player on our list who had played the most games without playing in a final? If so, who has the baton been passed to? Garland, perhaps?

A bit of research shows that Lynden Dunn is the current AFL player who has played the most games without a final having played 165. Second is Garland on 141, followed by Watts on 137. That's not just for Melbourne, that's for the whole AFL. Which tells us two things, we've really stunk for a decade. And a Collingwood player is now on the top of that ladder.

Posted

Good luck in the future Lynden, always welcome back at your footy home with the Dees, after you finish playing footy.

Was with us during the bad times and stayed loyal.

Would have stayed now, but was obviously coaxed to leave for more opportunity.

Posted

Lynden Dunn was by far the best one on one player in the team. His ability to consistently beat his opponent at ground level by clever body positioning and pressure should be a lesson to all backmen. Sadly his deficiencies in the modern game arising from his predictability overwhelmed his limited strength and caused him to be traded.

I wish him well because he was always a fierce competitor and true warrior for the dees.

Posted

A bit of research shows that Lynden Dunn is the current AFL player who has played the most games without a final having played 165. Second is Garland on 141, followed by Watts on 137. That's not just for Melbourne, that's for the whole AFL. Which tells us two things, we've really stunk for a decade. And a Collingwood player is now on the top of that ladder.

FMD twice over!!!!!

Not aiming to derail Dunny's thread but that is a shitfull statistic! FMD again!

Posted

Best of luck Lynden, he's a goer that has always given his all. I hope things work out for him at the Pies, although not so much for the Pies themselves!

Posted

I saw this on Facebook and thought it was worth sharing here because it shows exactly where Lynden Dunn's heart is -

"These are the moments I will miss! Looking my mates directly in the eyes  after a hard fought win and belting out "It's a Grand Old flag!"

I know in my heart of hearts that I leave the Dee's giving every moment, everything I possibly had. I consider myself blessed to have spent 12 great years at this Football club and no matter where I go or what I do, my veins will always bleed red and blue. Only at the moment there is some black and white in them as well. I have played with some of the all time greats of the MFC  and met some incredible people along the way. I would like to thank the fans for their support, especially through some very grim years. There is definitely light at the end of the tunnel and fingers crossed finals are not far away.

To all my teammates who I have ever played with ... you are the reason I play football and the reason I love the club so much! You have meant everything to me and I wish the current players all the best in their pursuit for greatness!

Finally, thank you @melbournefc for helping me live my childhood dream of playing League Footy. I will be forever grateful for the opportunity you gave me as a 17 year old straight out of high school. 

Bring on the Queens Birthday Clash in 2017 - Dunny"

When the club gives away jumper # 14 I hope it will be to a very special person.

Well played Dunny!

• Like 24
Posted

Thanks and good luck Lynden - apart from against us.

Our game style passed him by, more than his ability to 'play AFL'.  The emergence of the fast attacking defender, quick decision maker and attacking switcher was not really in his repertoire.  Taking the solid grab and kicking long down the line is a Collingwood tradition - and suits Dunns style. 

Our back line is going to evolve around Tmac, Omac and Frost as fast, mobile talls.  They made lots of mistakes taking the game on in 2016, but when it worked, it looked like the basis of a style that Dunny no longer can deliver on.

He has been fantastic, and I believe he was a real champion of our club in some very dark times.

Posted

I saw this on Facebook and thought it was worth sharing here because it shows exactly where Lynden Dunn's heart is -

"These are the moments I will miss! Looking my mates directly in the eyes  after a hard fought win and belting out "It's a Grand Old flag!"

I know in my heart of hearts that I leave the Dee's giving every moment, everything I possibly had. I consider myself blessed to have spent 12 great years at this Football club and no matter where I go or what I do, my veins will always bleed red and blue. Only at the moment there is some black and white in them as well. I have played with some of the all time greats of the MFC  and met some incredible people along the way. I would like to thank the fans for their support, especially through some very grim years. There is definitely light at the end of the tunnel and fingers crossed finals are not far away.

To all my teammates who I have ever played with ... you are the reason I play football and the reason I love the club so much! You have meant everything to me and I wish the current players all the best in their pursuit for greatness!

Finally, thank you @melbournefc for helping me live my childhood dream of playing League Footy. I will be forever grateful for the opportunity you gave me as a 17 year old straight out of high school. 

When the club gives away jumper # 14 I hope it will be to a very special person.

Well played Dunny!

Says a lot about the guy.....exactly why he has lasted through the bad days.  I wish him all the best 

Posted

Well played Dunny!

He put it on Instagram as well, a class farewell message, personally I am hoping he gets through the pre season unscathed nails down a spot and stands next to Hogan on QB, now that will be interesting to watch

Posted

Great words from Dunn. I must admit I didn't expect him to be able to articulate his feelings so sublimely well. Which says more about me than him.

But if I could just stick my tongue in my cheek for a moment and question his judgment. He says "I have played with some of the all time greats of the MFC". That's hyperbole in the extreme. (Of course, he and everyone else could shoot me down and point out that he means great in character, not necessarily in ability.)

I was never a great fan of Dunn, the player. But Dunn the person has won me over completely.

Posted

Great words from Dunn. I must admit I didn't expect him to be able to articulate his feelings so sublimely well. Which says more about me than him.

But if I could just stick my tongue in my cheek for a moment and question his judgment. He says "I have played with some of the all time greats of the MFC". That's hyperbole in the extreme. (Of course, he and everyone else could shoot me down and point out that he means great in character, not necessarily in ability.)

I was never a great fan of Dunn, the player. But Dunn the person has won me over completely.

You don't think David Neitz and Nathan Jones will go down as the all time greats of the MFC?

Posted

You don't think David Neitz and Nathan Jones will go down as the all time greats of the MFC?

I agree that Neitz and Jones are probably the best we've produced in this century. But I think we've been so accustomed to mediocrity and worse, that we're overstating their status. In short, and I don't like saying this, but I wouldn't classify either Neitz or Jones as "greats". That's subjective, of course, and my opinion is no more or less subjective than Dunn's or anyone else's on this forum.

Posted

I agree that Neitz and Jones are probably the best we've produced in this century. But I think we've been so accustomed to mediocrity and worse, that we're overstating their status. In short, and I don't like saying this, but I wouldn't classify either Neitz or Jones as "greats". That's subjective, of course, and my opinion is no more or less subjective than Dunn's or anyone else's on this forum.

Think you're being a bit harsh on David Neitz, club goals record holder and games record holder should surely put him up there. But fair enough, we'll agree to disagree. 

Posted

Think you're being a bit harsh on David Neitz, club goals record holder and games record holder should surely put him up there. But fair enough, we'll agree to disagree. 

Frank "Bluey" Adams is a club great 

Posted (edited)

Goodbye Lynden Dunn and though I never knew you'd be a Tall

You had the grace to take the stars

While those around you stalled

we came back out of the woodwork

and I wished you'd change your name

Bails thought he had a superstar

but pain was the price we paid.

And It seemed to me

you kicked a torp

80 metres with the wind

never knowing who to kick to

when the press set in

and I would have liked to know you but you were just a kid

Your legend burned out just before

we really hit the skids

Goodbye Lynden Dunn

from the young girl in the 52nd row

who saw you as something more than practical

who could  run back if we needed him to go

And it seemed to me you kicked that torp

80 metres with the wind

never knowing who to kick to

when the press set in

and  i would have liked to know you

but your chin's too big 

enjoy yourself at Collingwood

Heritier never did.........

Edited by C.Smoker Champion
Posted

Fullback in Collingwood's best 22 (according to the AFL website)!

Posted

true definition of great club man is Lynden! 

12 loyal years at the Dees, former vice captain of the club, stayed loyal during the darkest of times for the club, has had 8? senior coaches over his 12 years. 

always a place for Dunny at the MFC