The Demonland Terms of Service, which you have all recently agreed to, strictly prohibit discussions of ongoing legal matters, whether criminal or civil. Please ensure that all discussions on this forum remain focused solely on on-field & football related topics.

Posted (edited)

We had a bogan brother/sister combo sitting next to us last Monday. Even the magpie supporters told them to sit down and shut up. Didn't help though. In case you were there, they were the ones that got 'escorted' out by security about 15 minutes after the final siren after trying to take on our whole cheer squad. The kids are freaking out a bit today because they don't want to see another fight at the footy.

Or any syringes

Sorry. Couldn't help myself.

Edited by mrtwister
Posted

It's a big day for the sport today with Essendon taking the field for the first time since the issue of the SHOW-CAUSE notices on top of last night's results which mean that the Bombers will be in the top eight at the end of the round if they win.

I imagine that there are many Bomber fans not happy with the course of the latest events re the ASADA investigation and it might be good policy for supporters to treat them with caution and respect.

After all, if we lose today, our players are likely to be served with SNOW-CAUSE notices and you know how we would react to that sort of a ribbing. :)

I hope our crowd treat the Essendon players with respect today. The players, while im not suggesting are innocent, have performed admirally under difficult circumstances over the past 16 months. Little and co on the other hand should be treated with contempt for their bully boy tactics and continuing to drag the game through the mud rather than taking responsibility. The supporters, while being among the worst in the league, I think will be brought back to earth over coming months without us having to remind them.

Go Melbourne.

Posted

Am I alone. I really couldn't care less about the poor sods in red an black...be they players or supporters. Whilst they continue to deny their wrong doing and provide support for dogs like Hird they can all go to hell via the gurgler afaiac !!!

Posted (edited)

Not alone BB I have zero sympathy for cheats who aren't big enough to own their mistakes and would rather get off on a technicality

Edited by Mike Nolan
Posted (edited)

I don't give them much sympathy. Maybe the players, but the club needs to cop a whack of some sort surely.
look how long saad is out for after having 1 substance in a protein shake.

I think we will win. We have the players for the match ups.
Jetts on a shutdown role on howlett?

We might struggle with the dimensions of daniher but i reckon dunne can handle joe, joe won't out muscle him like cloke did.

Tommy mac to ryder, or hurley or carslile who ever is forward. Leaves gar;and to take his pick.

Float howe across the back line picking off in front of the packs.

pedersen and jamar will be completive in the ruck.

Pederson will be a hard match up for their back line, does carlisle go to peterson or dawes? Peders is a very physical player with a good mark.
Now that he found some form, he's a very handy player.
Have peders and dawes crashing the packs at centre bounces and boundary line throw ins.

frawley and kent up forward.

Wata can come forward at times.

Jordie in a tagging role on heppel or zaharakis, jones can take whichever is left over.

Very winnable game.

Edited by Deez
Posted

Nice to have another game where the whole footy world will be rooting for us to win, bar the opposition's supporters.

Posted

Youd think there's a bit of support for us amongst the other lot (s) :)

My wife's barracking for us today..shes Collingwood lol

Ps Her daughter and son are Essendon too hehe

Posted

Big game. For all our improvement we hold the equal worst record in the competition and a loss could push our percentage down below GWS'.

I don't feel like we're as bad as Brisbane, St Kilda, GWS or the Bulldogs, but we don't have the wins to show that we're any better than them.

We can beat Essendon, without Watson their midfield goes down a notch. They haven't played good footy under pressure since Round 3 and they've got holes at both ends of the grounds.

McDonald to blanket Daniher, Cross to run with Heppell (crucial match up).

Tyson will get Hocking and has to shake him, we can't afford to have him down again like last week.

Posted

What im thinking is we are starting to put together 4 qtrs. Weve quite a few Qtrs even in losing games. We're starting to weather storms and come back hard.

I sense if its a fairly close game at 3/4 time we will come over them.

Just need someone up front to step up and bag some.

Posted

Just need someone up front to step up and bag some.

I also get the feeling that's the difference between a win and a loss today. Dawes, Watts, Pederson, Frawley.. maybe the Russian? we just NEED this group to contribute at least 8 goals

Posted

Gee that's sad Jane. I hate it when the actions of selfish [censored] cause people to change what they happily and lawfully are entitled to do.

Agreed. I am happy to accompany you to the station after games if that will help.

Posted

We get this game on our terms and play at our pace we win. We should be able to win the clearances.

Posted

Big game. For all our improvement we hold the equal worst record in the competition and a loss could push our percentage down below GWS'.

I don't feel like we're as bad as Brisbane, St Kilda, GWS or the Bulldogs, but we don't have the wins to show that we're any better than them.

We can beat Essendon, without Watson their midfield goes down a notch. They haven't played good footy under pressure since Round 3 and they've got holes at both ends of the grounds.

McDonald to blanket Daniher, Cross to run with Heppell (crucial match up).

Tyson will get Hocking and has to shake him, we can't afford to have him down again like last week.

Funnily enough we've lost to 3 out of those 4 and still need to play Brisbane at Etihad... and we know what our record is like at Etihad.

Posted

We are learning how to play that vexed and wretched place though :)

Posted (edited)

The Essendon supporters that I know can be downright scary at the best of times - as well as arrogant , delusional and smug.

I really hope we smash them today - I won't be there as I am in beautiful Daylesford.

Those going - be careful. I have been verbally and almost physically abused at Richmond station a few years ago by disgruntled, angry, possibly brain dead opposition supporters. I was standing on my own, minding my own business but my only sin(in their eyes) was my Melbourne scarf and the fact we had beaten them.

I have never caught the train since to the footy.

Jane, the thing to remember is that, with time and luck, they will be more focused on the Essendon District Football League. It's satisfying to know that 'Essendon' doesn't conjure up images of Premierships but of a stain on our sporting history. Let it be that way for ever more. Scum. Edited by Return to Glory
Posted

dees by a point, to heap misery on their dark souls

Posted

Could go 50/50. They could come out absolute firing under pressure like last year or they could crumble.

I think we are in with a big chance but I think bombers by just...