Posted

Posted this in match day thread but obviously belongs here.

I'm quite happy to have a player with unwavering c@&$ in him that will do these things to upset other teams and players. If it causes a few suspensions here or there, fine. We need opposition players to be fearful of the Demons. If Tappy brings that to the table then we are one step closer to success in my opinion.

Posted

Absolutely disgusting. how dare he attempt a spoil on a player and inadvertently crash into his back. makes me wish we were the fuchsia's again, because obviously the Demons moniker is making him way too aggressive.

Posted

Could've and should've taken out Swan before half time as well in front of the bench. Perhaps Neeld (or someone) got in his ear at half time and said "mate your a big lump of a lad, go out and use it".

Posted

I like the fact that the Dees are playing a more spirited "unsociable" brand of footy recently. But, Luke Tapscott, WTF does he think he is doing? Fasolo annoys me as much as anyone but Tappy's attack on him was out of line. The attempt to launch Maxwell into the interchange bench was quite unhinged. If he continues to behave like this on the field he will be a very unpopular player. I would rather see him attack the ball with the same intent. Both Tappy and Silvia seemed intent on proving that they weren't pushovers. There's a better way to do this. Watch Jordie McKenzie.

What your proposing is exactly what has been wrong with melbourne over the past few year. While what he did was slightly over the top it got us firing. Look at Mathew Lloyds last game??? if he hadn't put Sewell down they wouldn't have fired up, and wouldn't have won.

Basically what every team need is a couple of those types of players, the football expression is 'he has got a bit of C*%# in him' -(it is a good thing)

Posted

What Luke did wasn't pretty but he'll learn to channel those attacks for the right time. Glen Archer did some stupid things early in his career. The long term benefit of that stupidity was the opposition tread carefully around him. If Tapscott can get a reputation as a wrecking ball he'll be a footstep ahead of many an opponent, which is a win for him and the club.

Posted

Tapscott playing hard is good, but i dont agree that pusing a player into the dugout is fair play, dont want to sound like a wuss ect but could he honestly have put Maxwell out for a long while, i dislike Maxwell with a passion but players shouldnt be trying to push each other into fences ect could really damage there heads ect imo, dont want it to be like the NFL where coaches gave there players contracts and incentives to injure opposition stars

Posted

I think Tappy was just suggesting to Maxwell it was time for a rest on the pine......he just got the benches mixed up.

Posted

Tapscott playing hard is good, but i dont agree that pusing a player into the dugout is fair play, dont want to sound like a wuss ect but could he honestly have put Maxwell out for a long while, i dislike Maxwell with a passion but players shouldnt be trying to push each other into fences ect could really damage there heads ect imo, dont want it to be like the NFL where coaches gave there players contracts and incentives to injure opposition stars

I'd rather win dirty than lose fairly.

Also, you don't think "headhunters" exist in AFL? Yeats on Brereton is a famous example, Wallis on Green in 2000 another.

Posted

Love the aggression from Tappy, wish the whole team played that way...... If were going to go down, than go down fighting!!!! Make them earn it!!!!.

Posted

Lynch lost his last game and I'm quite sure I've heard him quoted as saying he greatly regrets his actions that day. It left a blight on an otherwise fantastic career.

Posted (edited)

Cant believe what Im reading!

We all want tough players with aggression & Luke fits this as a hard nut!

Whilst he may have gone over the top, I rather have 2 or 3 of his type over the likes of Morton!

He just needs development on controlling his aggression

Couldn't agree more! People want us to be tough nuts, we get one and they criticise him for being 'rough'. Fair dinkum it's unbelievable!

Edited by Bobby McKenzie

Posted

He showed a lot of heart and courage today and I don't think there was any malice in the Fasolo hit.

He was caught in No Man's Land a few times in the first half and his opponent got loose, but I think we have a player.

Posted

He really went in hard today, but I didn't think there was much that was pointless, thoughtless or seriously excessive violence. Maybe I need to see the video.

Something I did really notice is that the guy is faster than I expected from such a tank of a body. Very promising.

Gave me a little shiver of remembering that we really do have some good young (or not as young, but 'new to AFL' prospects who are beginning to show a little.

Posted

Really can't believe the OP.

Finally we put a Melbourne guernsey on a bloke with a bit of attitude and someone wants to pot him for it!

You don't get anywhere in this biz without a couple of enforcers in your side.

Shades of Grinter. Love it.

Posted

this thread is ridiculous. Who seriously advocated softness and not making a contest? 100% behind you tappy.

The hit on fasolo was nothing. He committed to the contested and realised he was late and pulled out so his spoil didn't contact him in the face so he grzed him on the back with the inside of his forearm. If he gets charged for this I will be amazed. it was a late bump at worst which wasn't head high. The winding of fasolo was inadvertent and thats what you cop playing a contact sport.

Posted

this thread is ridiculous. Who seriously advocated softness and not making a contest? 100% behind you tappy.

Yep, it is ridiculous. No-one's advocating softness and not making contests.

But acting like a lose cannon and getting yourself suspended is just stupid and immature, and no help to anyone.

Posted

It would seem that my OP is at odds with the majority sentiment here. I had no problem with his hit on the young boy Elliot. Especially since it was immediately after Nicholson went down through his own courage. But the late hit on Fasolo's ribs and the attempt to put maxwell on the bench were out of order. If it was Campbell Brown or Barry Hall doing that to our players we would be demanding they be rubbed out for a long spell.

Unsociable footy doesn't require players to forget their duty of care and behave like they are on crystal meth.

The good teams of the last few years have been super disciplined in relation to their agression and directed it toward the ball or the man with the ball. Even Byron was very measured in the way he dished it out. Ruthless, but he chose his moments. Mind you, he would be regularly rubbed out now.

Don't get me wrong I like Tapscott's hardness and the intimidation factor he brings, but there is a difference between 'tough' and 'dirty'. Anyone who has watched from the 1960s to now will know what dirty means. History has thrown up a number of players who were dirty. The John Greening incident was a tragic example. Tappy needs to see the distinction. Would posters here have been so enthusiastic if he had been successful and Maxwell had crashed head first into the bench?

Posted

I saw a clip on the Fasolo spoil -- a part of a contact game, but who knows what the "independent" MRP will think on any particular day (Fletcher'skneeing of Blease immediately springs to mind).

Is there a clip I the other events NB Maxwell being dispatched to the bench?

Posted

There were some good signs yesterday. i have not seen the MFC show that much aggression for some time

I loved seeing fasolo getting a bit of whack next time he will think twice when he sees tappy bearing down on him

Bonus points to magner and clark for some nice jumper punches of the ball haha

Posted

I like the fact that the Dees are playing a more spirited "unsociable" brand of footy recently. But, Luke Tapscott, WTF does he think he is doing? Fasolo annoys me as much as anyone but Tappy's attack on him was out of line. The attempt to launch Maxwell into the interchange bench was quite unhinged. If he continues to behave like this on the field he will be a very unpopular player. I would rather see him attack the ball with the same intent. Both Tappy and Silvia seemed intent on proving that they weren't pushovers. There's a better way to do this. Watch Jordie McKenzie.

I watched on in horror, in 1988, and 2000, as we were dismembered by brutal, and unforgiving opponents, and since then, have been praying for us to have the same ruthless attitude to winning.

Who wouldnt have liked to have Tapscott, Magner, and Clark available back then? Add Viney, and we may just be able to have the "fear factor" that we have lacked for decades.

Good stuff Tappy, keep it up. Just make sure you stay on the park. But if ever we make a Grand Final, I want you to break as many ribs as you can son, and dont feel bad doing it.

faulty