Eddie and Equalisation

biggestred

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/collingwood-president-eddie-mcguire-demands-compensation-from-afl-after-low-sunday-night-crowd/story-fni5f6hd-1226971447732

He has to be kidding right?

Will the hawks ask for compo after drawing 17k to a sunday twilight?

how much would we be due considering our total lack of blockbusters/friday nights/saturday arvos/home games v victorian clubs over the last 8 years???

what a [censored].

"You want to be entrepreneurs, you carry the downside."

Eddie clearly trolling on these socialist clowns. Good on him.

The AFL cannot have it both ways.

They can't dip into the pockets of the rich - then give them Sunday night games.

Even my 5 year old son knows that late Sunday games only work in the West.

The AFL stuffed up the schedule, well.. Cough up lads, it's called accountability.

You want to run the league like a business, well it's time to toe the line.

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/collingwood-president-eddie-mcguire-demands-compensation-from-afl-after-low-sunday-night-crowd/story-fni5f6hd-1226971447732

He has to be kidding right?

Will the hawks ask for compo after drawing 17k to a sunday twilight?

how much would we be due considering our total lack of blockbusters/friday nights/saturday arvos/home games v victorian clubs over the last 8 years???

what a [censored].

Actually we'd be in far worse shape if Collingwood didn't give us the Queens Birthday gate for the past decade.

Three quarters of supporters weren't there to watch the red and blue either.

As a Dees supporter, Collingwood will be the last club I pot.

Actually we'd be in far worse shape if Collingwood didn't give us the Queens Birthday gate for the past decade.

It's their's to give is it?

Remind me again who's ground it is.

As much as I hate Collingwood and as much as it pains me to say it, there isn't much Eddie says that I disagree with in regards to the game and where it is at.

He has a good business mind, but also still has the mindset of the average supporter in the crowd. He is president of the biggest club in the country and has every right to sit up in a cushy corporate box every week, yet is still happy to sit in the crowd with his family and mark down his goals and behinds in the Footy Record. If he wasn't so one-eyed, he'd be a very good AFL CEO in my opinion.

Edited by mfcrox

Agreed as per Queens bday clashes, but like to say i felt there was at least a 50/50 ratio there, i was very disapointed that another 10k collingwood supporters didn't show up.

Don't be a dingbat DingAling.

Firstly, Collingwood don't give us anything. Despite what Fat Ed might spout in all his media outlets, the AFL makes the fixture not Collingwood.

Secondly, the Queens Birthday game seems to come at the expense of home games against Essendon, Carlton and this year Richmond as well. Considering the money lost on not getting those games/a fair fixture compared to the money coming in for QB I'd say it's a zero-sum game.

Eddie is a whinging whining moron. Of all the leg-ups Collingwood have got financially over the last two decades he wants to have a whinge about one game where they still got over 40k? A game that was against a fellow Vic team who also have around 50k members? If you want to know what it feels like to need equalisation Ed, how about you play 7 of the 8 non-Vic sides and North & the Dogs as home games next year and see how you go. If you want to blame anyone for the lost revenue blame your supporters for not showing up to the game. Whenever other clubs draw low crowds it's their and their supporters fault for "not being innovative" or "not turning up to support the team" regardless of time slot, weather or opposition. Seems the opposite rings true for this fat whinging moron.

I hope the AFL puts fat head Eddie back in his box. How dare anyone from Collingwood complain about fixturing. Try making a quid when you play at 4;40 every second Sunday including Mothersday.

The filth are the recipients of millions each year from a benficial draw which clubs like us and the doggies do not get access to. His complaint, if he has one should be with his own supporters who cant be bothered turning up.

What a stupid thing to say. I'm sick of hearing that tosh.

They have to play us and should play us twice. We should get home games against the large drawing teams and we don't. And Friday night games and less Sunday games.

You have fallen for Eddies cra p big time

I'm fairly sure he doesn't actually want, or think he can get, compensation. I think he's just trying to tell the AFL that Sunday nights don't work and to stop trying to manufacture atmosphere.

Surely what he is really saying is don't dare give Collingwood any more crap time slots - keep giving them to those who don't matter (to him)!

Fully agree with Eddie..

The AFL want a game to start virtually one after the other right across the weekend...its all about exposure and being the No 1 sport on Tv across the country..

But these 4.40 & 7.10pm games on Sundays are nothing short of absurd..

As much as I love the Demons I refuse to go so late on a sunday even at the G. Stupidity by the AFL. I hope the Demons board gets us away from Sundays & horrid timeslots in future.

BTW how many freaking sunday games do we play this year?? Too many!!

I'm fairly sure he doesn't actually want, or think he can get, compensation. I think he's just trying to tell the AFL that Sunday nights don't work and to stop trying to manufacture atmosphere.

Im sure that quite true, just as Im sure Eddie wouldnt care quite so much about it if its other teams suffering this impost as opposed the Pies :rolleyes:

As much as Eddie likes to hear the sound of his own voice, i have to agree with him on this one.

What a $h!t timeslot for a game. The only time a game should take place on a Sunday night, is if there is a public holiday the next day. Sure poor weather could have played a part for the lower attendance, but fancy that, cold and wet in the middle of winter (who would have guessed?)

The fixture has been an absolute joke this year, maybe now that it has pi$$ed off a heavyweight, the AFL might actually do something to improve the woeful situation that they have caused.

Edited by Demon Disciple

Surely what he is really saying is don't dare give Collingwood any more crap time slots - keep giving them to those who don't matter (to him)!

I agree, don't the AFL know that most filth supporters need to get up very early Monday morning so they can be at the front of the queue at Centrelink.

"You want to be entrepreneurs, you carry the downside."

Eddie clearly trolling on these socialist clowns. Good on him.

The AFL cannot have it both ways.

They can't dip into the pockets of the rich - then give them Sunday night games.

Even my 5 year old son knows that late Sunday games only work in the West.

The AFL stuffed up the schedule, well.. Cough up lads, it's called accountability.

You want to run the league like a business, well it's time to toe the line.

I agree. The league is dragging itself down by permitting the top teams make up for the ineptness of those at the bottom. What club currently in financial strife isn't in it as a product of their own decisions? It's not like Melbourne was flying and is still struggling for cash.

Fully agree with Eddie..

The AFL want a game to start virtually one after the other right across the weekend...its all about exposure and being the No 1 sport on Tv across the country..

But these 4.40 & 7.10pm games on Sundays are nothing short of absurd..

As much as I love the Demons I refuse to go so late on a sunday even at the G. Stupidity by the AFL. I hope the Demons board gets us away from Sundays & horrid timeslots in future.

BTW how many freaking sunday games do we play this year?? Too many!!

Um we have more Saturday games than Sunday games this year... Before the Essendon match we hadn't played on a Sunday since the GC game in Round 5.

“It’s exactly the way we told them 12 months ago that it would be. Am I worried at the fact it’s probably cost us a couple of hundred thousand dollars? That’s equalisation money gone out the door,” he said.

Actually it's not "equalisation money out the door" Eddie because the AFL kowtowed to clubs like the Pies, Hawks and Eagles on equalisation so the amount Collingwood will pay towards it is capped at $500k which will not be effected by the crowd at last nights game.

I agree. The league is dragging itself down by permitting the top teams make up for the ineptness of those at the bottom. What club currently in financial strife isn't in it as a product of their own decisions? It's not like Melbourne was flying and is still struggling for cash.

Yeah inept decisions - and playing non-Vic sides with no crowds as home games on days like Mothers Day and Easter Sunday not to mention no exposure on Friday nights and no home games against bigger drawing Vic clubs.

I agree there should not be games on Sunday twilight/night but Eddie's sook here is ridiculous considering the massive financial leg-up Collingwood get every single year with the fixture (and it's been happening for over 2 decades).

Actually it's not "equalisation money out the door" Eddie because the AFL kowtowed to clubs like the Pies, Hawks and Eagles on equalisation so the amount Collingwood will pay towards it is capped at $500k which will not be effected by the crowd at last nights game.

That's exactly right. Eddie is the best headline grabber in Australia, but this has nothing to do with equalisation. This is because Collingwood got hit by a bad drawing fixture time. Rarely happens, so he's sooking. Well cry me a river.

Collingwood only got 50K to their final against Port last year from memory. We would have had more. I think they should be compensated for that too.... in the name of equalisation, of course.

It's their's to give is it?

Remind me again who's ground it is.

This is a silly argument. The MCG is the centrepiece of sport for this state. The fact that it was MFC's home ground first means very little. Without the attendances and money generated by the Pies, Hawks, and Tigers, it would not be a quarter of the stadium it is today.

I find it interesting that the AFL are now arguing that these alternative, non-traditional timeslots are part of an exercise of "testing the market" to enable a better negotiation for the next TV rights. What a load of codswallop. Nevertheless, it's as close to the AFL admitting that they got the fixturing wrong as we're ever likely to see. And I wonder if they've opened the door to a compensation claim from the current TV rights holder?

It's a pity Eddie mentioned "compensation" in his diatribe as it became the focus of the story. Everything else he said is what others have been saying all year. In short "AFL, don't mess with our game".