URGENT ATTENTION: Major Site Update Will Require Email Address for Login and NOT Username. Please Ensure Your Email Address is Current.

Cameron Schwab Resigns

Steamin Demon

• Replies 481
Posted

I have been keen to see the back of Cam since 186.

But saying that, all respect to bloke for that press conference, handled it with absolute class and did his absolute best to protect the brand of the MFC.

Posted

Well after all the letters that everyone has sent it to Don, he stood up and delivered, lets get a massive turn out on Saturday guys!, This club needs UNITY has Don said, If i was there i wouls be shaking Don's hand, We all wanted action and it happened!

Posted

I'm tipping Greg Healy as our new CEO.

We need a football personality as president and I reckon Sugar would do us proud. In fairness to Don he's doing the role for Jim but since the big fella passed the club hasn't been able to look ahead. Hopefully this takes us forward.

The CEO role is different and I hope we can get someone the AFL loves as it honesty makes life a hundred times easier.

Posted

McLardy wasn't great but remember he is the President and not necessarily a strong media performer by definition.

He's made a big call here and hopefully its a good one.

Now lets hope he's tough enough to attract and appoint a strong CEO. Someone with an understanding of football but an understanding of boundaries. And someone who isn't afraid to make tough decisions.

Posted

I might be naive, but I would think that our recent problems could be better solved by our midfielders winning a few clearances, our backs preventing the avalanche of 'enemy' goals, and our forwards kicking a few more goals.

If players can only improve with the 'departure' of our CEO, then they're a pretty fickle group.

Posted

Who knows if Schwab was part of the problem or not. Time will tell.

I have never understood how a CEO could have a big enough influence over the players to create problems like this. Surely the CEO runs the club and finances (everything off field) while the Head of the Football Department runs the players and everything on-field. If Schwab was getting too involved with the Football Department then he should go, but why he would be getting too involved is beyond me.

Posted

"Cam you seem to be quite gracious, but are you somewhat perplexed by the decision?"

This after he has made it abundantly clear that he understands why the decision was made.

Half them in that room were and are vultures.

Posted

SEN saying Schwab resigned.

Caro must be orgasmic - hopefully it will shut her up and get her off our backs.

Wow massive news if true. there will be a lot of players happy now..

Lets hope that they pull their collective fingers out and put up a fight on Saturday (he says in hope not expectation).

We won't win with a third world midfield and no ruckman. And BTW Garry Lyon no longer has the right to. All himself a demon

Hear here re Lyon. Two faced.

I suspect Cameron Schwab is a decent person and I wish him well whatever he does next. His departure was probably necessary to defuse tension.

I mean no disrespect to Richmond's CEO, Benny Gale, but gee it would be nice to see Caroline Wilson's apoplexy if Richmond appointed Schwab as their CEO.

LOL

Posted

I might be naive, but I would think that our recent problems could be better solved by our midfielders winning a few clearances, our backs preventing the avalanche of 'enemy' goals, and our forwards kicking a few more goals.

If players can only improve with the 'departure' of our CEO, then they're a pretty fickle group.

That's a gross simplification (although yes, we do have to do those things).

Morale and environment can have a huge effect on the playing group, just like any other workplace.

Posted

Cam may end up with old mate CAC 63 in the racing game. Think CAC may have been involved in the purchase of black caviers half brother for 5 mil

Posted

Cam handled that whole situation spectacularly.
Poor Don wriggled and squirmed and did the best he could considering he never really wanted to be President anyways, it just felt that way through the sad passing of the great one.
Unfortunately something had to happen and Cam you have taken the brunt of what is numerous errors by numerous people at our football club.
But the way you have handled yourself, and taken it can only be respected.
My hats off to you and when that time comes where we do finally win a premiership you can be proud that you certainly had a hand in it.

Posted

What is Eugene Arroca doinf he has heaps of experience with a club struggling to survive?

Posted

An interim CEO in the meantime..

As i mentioned last nite:

Adrian Anderson does something for Cricket Australia until mid year.. then..?

Id be talking to him now..

You mean the bloke who prosecuted the tanking investigation? No thanks.

Posted

I'm tipping Greg Healy as our new CEO.

You'd think so. At least in the interim.

Posted

What an indictment against Cam if the team comes out and wins or goes close to winning on Saturday. Certainly a clear slap in the face. On the other hand if the teams past performances continue do we then believe that the problem is still there. This is almost unbearable.

Posted

You mean the bloke who prosecuted the tanking investigation? No thanks.

He can finish the job he started

Posted

Who will take over?

Critical........

Now you ask......Christ....
Posted

Don would never have considered being President if Jimma was still with us.

Personally i hope Don vacates soon.

He is a good bloke, not a leader.

And by god we need a LEADER.....i mean i amazed that we can still pull 30,000 members during this train wreck.

We are a mighty supporter base.