4 hours ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

Yes correct.

Melbourne get Freo's first rounder and future first rounder.

Fremantle get Luke Jackson, the compensation pick we get for losing Angus Brayshaw and a seconder rounder.

This is fair and reasonable recompense according to Freo supporters on Bigfooty.

(The LJ for Bailey Banfield and Ethan Hughes took the cake though)

So we lose Luke Jackson, Angus Brayshaw and approx pick 30 for two picks in the mid to late teens?

Good God they are out of their minds.

I think Ralph best summed it up and despite the tweets going everywhere, there was not one mention on sports radio, Goody's presser or anywhere. I suspect those in the know reckon it's bulltish. 

However, it can have a destabilising effect and make Jackson an easy target. FFS the media really needs to take a good hard look at itself. The feeding frenzy over May v Melksham, Bailey Smith, De Goey and the intense scrutiny and criticism and personal opinion. God I hope these boys don't read papers.

I really do hope he stays on for another 2 years on a fair contract and then see how he develops. All speculation is on potential. He isn't on the same page as Max, Clarry and Trac when it comes to comparison

6 hours ago, Queanbeyan Demon said:

Can anyone name one player who has gone back to the West willingly and played as well as he did in Melbourne?

6 hours ago, Demonstone said:

Jeff Farmer?

6 hours ago, He de mon said:

Wiz did alright.

5 hours ago, John Crow Batty said:

118 games for us. 259 goals and 1299 touches.

131 games for them, 224  goals and 1577 touches. 

Not by a big margin but he played his best footy for us.

Good analysis JCB.

10 hours ago, faultydet said:

So we lose Luke Jackson, Angus Brayshaw and approx pick 30 for two picks in the mid to late teens?

Good God they are out of their minds.

Only the posters who are suggesting it or believing it

22 hours ago, BW511 said:

I see this kind of sentiment a lot in this thread and am not singling you out.

Surely Jacko's worth to teams from the west (or us) was decided in last years GF and on future potential. The monetary figures would be sewn up. If I was his manager, I would be nervous that this period could jeopardize that

There are very few guarantees in footy, todays hero can become tomorrow’s forgotten man in a blink on an eye. He has shown great potential and you’re absolutely right in the GF he was a big part of taking the game away from the dogs. But real value comes when he takes a position and makes it his own. 

I’d also be very cautious about taking big money and a long contract because that immediately puts him under the pump. Still reckon taking a 3 year extension is his best course of action, but clearly I’m very biased!

Probably doesn't help melbourne's argument to stay that Luke's experience of Melbourne is training one day at casey, one day at AAMI park, one day at Port Melbourne. We don't have a very appealing infrastructure. 

ralph's latest social media post contradicts his actual article; he really is a super ordinary journalist

one of the few journos in the caper who tends to actually know what's going on told me on the weekend that literally no one in the caper has any idea re what jackson is planning on doing...

31 minutes ago, whatwhat say what said:

ralph's latest social media post contradicts his actual article; he really is a super ordinary journalist

one of the few journos in the caper who tends to actually know what's going on told me on the weekend that literally no one in the caper has any idea re what jackson is planning on doing...

He's not the only one. I scour social media for content for discussion on this site so I constantly witness these reporters post contradictory opinions and information within a short space of time. They flip flop back and forth and despite being called out for it in the comments they never change. None of the reporters ever call each other out but that's not surprising. I get the concept of click bait and this tactic is their way of covering all bases to maximise the clicks.

1 hour ago, Demonland said:

He's not the only one. I scour social media for content for discussion on this site so I constantly witness these reporters post contradictory opinions and information within a short space of time. They flip flop back and forth and despite being called out for it in the comments they never change. None of the reporters ever call each other out but that's not surprising. I get the concept of click bait and this tactic is their way of covering all bases to maximise the clicks.

Just a thought, it would be great to setup a website similar to Media Watch which follows AFL journalists and their articles and call out such inconsistencies. Another layer would be to write about their personal lives in the manner they write about AFL players, e.g. inappropriate behaviour, drug use etc.

20 hours ago, Lucifers Hero said:

A number of those players are well established in Perth with young families.  At their ages it is most unlikely they will agree to leave to go East or North East.

And not sure that there are many clubs who have a need for those players.  Most clubs except North are ticking along nicely with their list rebuilds.

LH, agree lifting those guys out of Perth might be a challenge, but they don't need them all to shift. 1 or 2 will do the trick, $$$ talks as does loyalty (in respect to staying and leaving for shared benefit, where applicable - think Isaac Smith & maybe Dusty at the end of this year). 

Regarding interest, in my view, Barrass and/or McGovern to the Bulldogs would meaningfully reinsert them into premiership calculations (just one example...) 

7 hours ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Can’t see him staying if he hasn’t signed on yet, we are reigning premiers and are in the frame for years to come, we would be offering a fair price considering who else we have to fit in. If he hasn’t signed with us yet he is just waiting till end of year to announce who he wants a trade to.

1 hour ago, Garbo said:

Can’t see him staying if he hasn’t signed on yet, we are reigning premiers and are in the frame for years to come, we would be offering a fair price considering who else we have to fit in. If he hasn’t signed with us yet he is just waiting till end of year to announce who he wants a trade to.

He’s torn between the dees and moving home. Big decision but I reckon he’ll stay

Plenty of players at all clubs not re-signed yet. Are their supporters panicking like some in here?

14 minutes ago, CYB said:

If LJ does go, do you sign up Goldstein for a season as a short term cover?

Pretty good idea, should come cheap with the lure of a premiership and he's more than capable up forward as well.

I’d offer him unders. Stay with club at a rate which fits in with our salary - or leave for money. It’s actually not a great look to leave. The club should just do the right thing by the team. We have Brayshaw out of contract this season, and I’d offer him around fair value. If players leave for money then so be it. Anyone who leaves for money isn’t going to be there to grind when needed if they stay anyway. We need overly committed football players. Outside for Gawn, Oliver, and May, we shouldn’t ever break the bank of any of our players.

4 hours ago, KingDingAling said:

I’d offer him unders. Stay with club at a rate which fits in with our salary - or leave for money. It’s actually not a great look to leave. The club should just do the right thing by the team. We have Brayshaw out of contract this season, and I’d offer him around fair value. If players leave for money then so be it. Anyone who leaves for money isn’t going to be there to grind when needed if they stay anyway. We need overly committed football players. Outside for Gawn, Oliver, and May, we shouldn’t ever break the bank of any of our players.

I honestly think we won’t be breaking the bank over Jackson. They would be making an offer with Brayshaw and Oliver in mind plus others coming OOC over the next few years.

6 hours ago, KingDingAling said:

Even Oliver, Gawn and May shouldn’t ‘break the bank’…

The fact Petracca mid way last year signed an 8 year extension that will take him through his prime and doesn’t average more than $900k is testament to what our best players have agreed to to keep the list together. I have heard both Gawn and Petracca talk about this.

Jackson would be no different, especially with Oliver OOC at the end of 2023.

7 hours ago, KingDingAling said:

I’d offer him unders.

If players leave for money then so be it.

This is a 10 out of 10 for how you don't want to run a professional football club.

Disrespect one of your employees by offering them "unders" and then turn around and say they 'left for money'. Completely ridiculous.

Luke is a young man who irrespective of where he decides to play will earn extremely good money. If he fulfills his potential this will exceed what many people could hope to earn in a lifetime.

If his decision is motivated purely by financials then a key for Luke is to surround himself with savvy investors/entrepreneurs that can help him optimize his next 10 years earnings. Some poor decisions can destroy the money he earns very very quickly - some smart decisions can have it multiplied many times over.

I'd like to think that we are smart enough as a club to give Luke (and for that matter all our players) the support to optimize their earning capacity.

Bottom line - anyone who looks at the financial side of this decision purely on contract value is doing so on a pretty superficial level IMO

Until I hear he is leaving I remain confident he will stay, get paid well, help build a new grand old flag and be guided by some savvy MFC supporters to help set him up for life after football