Posted

good on Watts , well done on 6 , I hope he proves us all wrong an plays like this each week , he can play , he aways could Just sadly for us it looked like he was always in 2nd gear. I don't think he will last but lets see at the end of the year.

its only early and he has a point to prove to the only club that wanted him. 

Posted
26 minutes ago, ucanchoose said:

Watts is still downhill skiing

You clearly didn't watch the game. 

Most of his possessions were in a contest of some sort and he took 4 or 5 marks!  6 goals + 3 goal assists.

Maybe this coach knows how to use his talents to best effect...

Posted
8 minutes ago, Lucifer's Hero said:

Most of his possessions were in a contest of some sort and he took 4 or 5 marks!  6 goals + 3 goal assists.

I did actually..... How many were against Adelaide's first second or third best defenders?

Posted
2 minutes ago, ucanchoose said:

I did actually..... How many were against Adelaide's first second or third best defenders?

Except Lever it was mainly the Crows GF defence. 

Watts played very well, even if some on here don't want to give him credit.  He fought for just about every one of his 17 possessions and his goals were pure class.  I agree, he is needs consistency for the whole year but he deserves credit for his match winning performance, not just a cameo.

It will be a long year on here if posters delight in potting Jack's good games for Port.

Posted

The lazy pea hearted downhill skiiers often improve with a change of team.

Watts is no exception. 

Posted

I wouldn't have thought we needed to be overly encouraging of Jack or pot him. He's somewhere else now, I wonder when some around these parts will move on.

Posted
33 minutes ago, Lucifer's Hero said:

Except Lever it was mainly the Crows GF defence. 

Watts played very well, even if some on here don't want to give him credit.  He fought for just about every one of his 17 possessions and his goals were pure class.  I agree, he is needs consistency for the whole year but he deserves credit for his match winning performance, not just a cameo.

It will be a long year on here if posters delight in potting Jack's good games for Port.

It will also be a long year if you take subtle swipes at the coach for 'not knowing how to use his abilities...' every time he has a decent game.  It works both ways.

I'm genuinely happy for Jack.  I'm also very happy with the trade, the acquisition of Fritsch and how well we are going at the moment.  At this very early stage it's a win for all involved.

But, our focus should always be on us.  Be happy for Jack, but never fret when he plays well.  WE are building a premiership list, WE are playing ripping football and WE are the ones who will be pushing up the ladder.  Enjoy it.

Posted
18 minutes ago, Petraccattack said:

The lazy pea hearted downhill skiiers often improve with a change of team.

Watts is no exception. 

So I suppose you recommend we import some lazy pea hearts?

Posted

Didn’t James Sellar do something similar vs Port in 2013 when we beat them pre-season? Kicked 5 iirc and barely got a game when the real season started 

Posted
2 minutes ago, Wiseblood said:

It will also be a long year if you take subtle swipes at the coach for 'not knowing how to use his abilities...' every time he has a decent game.  It works both ways.

I'm genuinely happy for Jack.  I'm also very happy with the trade, the acquisition of Fritsch and how well we are going at the moment.  At this very early stage it's a win for all involved.

But, our focus should always be on us.  Be happy for Jack, but never fret when he plays well.  WE are building a premiership list, WE are playing ripping football and WE are the ones who will be pushing up the ladder.  Enjoy it.

I'm not taking the bait of your first line!

Giving Jack credit for his good performances and being happy with Fritsch and how we are going are not mutually exclusive.  Open minded people can do both - of which you are one but there are many on here that cannot do that and delight in potting him. 

To me Jack will always be one of us and I will delight in his successes.

Posted
55 minutes ago, Deeman said:

Let’s trade him back next year for Hoges and Track.

Throw in Clayton Oliver too and it's a deal !!!!

Posted
1 minute ago, Lucifer's Hero said:

I'm not taking the bait of your first line!

Giving Jack credit for his good performances and being happy with Fritsch and how we are going are not mutually exclusive.  Open minded people can do both - of which you are one but there are many on here that cannot do that and delight in potting him. 

To me Jack will always be one of us and I will delight in his successes.

I wasn't trying to bait, LH.  It's a no win situation on here - the moment he plays a ripper it will go one way, when he plays poorly we'll get it the other way.  No need to stoke the fire.  It seems unnecessary.

And I agree with your last line wholeheartedly.  I really do hope he plays well for Port, but on the flip side I believe the trade was absolutely the right thing to do, not just for Melbourne, but for Jack as well.

Posted
1 hour ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

Hawthorn ran out onto the ground looking pumped, I reckon they’ll thrash Carlton. Plus no one ever won a game wearing baby blue.

It’s all over now?

Posted
1 hour ago, ProDee said:

You'll be happy with Bayley Fritsch, who has courage in the air and is just 21.

I wouldn't change a thing.

Fritsch has never kicked 6 in a preseason game. Worst trade ever. 

Posted
1 hour ago, Lucifer's Hero said:

Didn't take you long did it, how come we heard nothing from you last week when Watts was useless ?

Posted
2 hours ago, Sir Why You Little said:

Bayley has done eveerything right so far

Jack W never got out of 2nd gear. 

Someone will ask him that one day, after he retires

Why don’t you mate?

Fritsch has two practice games under his belt, Watts has more than 150 league games...

Seems an easy comparison at this stage I’m sure.