Posted

Two things i take from that interview

1) He wants to stay, his default position is to stay. If the team shows improvement he will stay ("the contract will sort itself out")

2) If we remain a shambles he may exercise his right to look at other options

He seems open and honest. Chip ain't no Tom Scully

Posted

We start winning and he stays I would have thought. In the meantime I'd love to see less pie floaters from Chip than last season.

Posted

1) He wants to stay, his default position is to stay. If the team shows improvement he will stay ("the contract will sort itself out")

Summed up perfectly.

You have a brain. Most don't.

Posted

Doubt he is being offer $1 million a year for six years either.

Posted

Doubt he is being offer $1 million a year for six years either.

But boy will he be edging closer to it by holding off talks.

He must be pretty lowly paid if he's an unrestricted free agent. Not good news at all if this does go pear-shaped.

Posted

But boy will he be edging closer to it by holding off talks.

He must be pretty lowly paid if he's an unrestricted free agent. Not good news at all if this does go pear-shaped.

Sorry I have no idea what this means. Can you explain?

Being a free agent is statement of the fact he has been with the MFC for a set period. Nothing to do with how much he is paid.

But perhaps I have totally missed your point.

Posted (edited)

In the interview with Chip today, there was this little nugget near the start:

"Does it feel different this time? I mean, you've been through new, fresh starts--"
"Seven of 'em mate!"

It's good to know he's been keeping count just like all of us. If he stays, it'll be a real barometer of whether he truly believes we can turn things around.

EDIT: Also, "If Roosy signs, I will too."

He was kind of joking, but I think it gives a good insight into how much he values the direction that Roos is taking us.

Posted (edited)

Sorry I have no idea what this means. Can you explain?

Being a free agent is statement of the fact he has been with the MFC for a set period. Nothing to do with how much he is paid.

But perhaps I have totally missed your point.

You have to be in the top 10 paid players on the senior list to be a restricted free agent. He's an unrestricted free agent, meaning he's outside the top 10 paid.

This means we can't match any rival club contract offers and force him into a trade.

Edited by Lamashtu
Posted

Front loaded contract obviously wasn't thought out very well.

Posted

It was 4 yrs ago but the CEO had a fair grasp on FA and when it was coming JF signed a 4 year deal for $ 1.6! Million

Posted (edited)

The other thing I'd like to say is that James Frawley strikes me as a very bad liar. If he had already made up his mind and wasn't telling us about it, I think we'd be able to tell very easily. He's no Tom Scully in that regard (a fact for which we should all be extremely relieved and grateful).

EDIT: Tom Scully was super cool in every interview, and gave extremely stock-standard answers devoid of any negativity or detail whatsoever. This made his intentions very difficult to determine. James Frawley doesn't possess that ability, which I would say is a good thing.

Posted

The other thing I'd like to say is that James Frawley strikes me as a very bad liar. If he had already made up his mind and wasn't telling us about it, I think we'd be able to tell very easily. He's no Tom Scully in that regard (a fact for which we should all be extremely relieved and grateful).

It's not just that. I don't recall $cully giving any cogent reasons for delaying. But what Frawley does.

Posted

I am not suggesting he is any sort of a liar.

However how do you know someone is a good liar or not?

A good liar may actually be very good liar by making you think he is a bad one

Posted

Dear Chook could you have another go at editing again this time in English !

Posted (edited)

I am not suggesting he is any sort of a liar.

However how do you know someone is a good liar or not?

A good liar may actually be very good liar by making you think he is a bad one

I wasn't actually speaking to you specifically.

It's subtle, but I've done a fair bit of lying myself in the past. I know when I'm doing a bad job of it, and I reckon I can pick when someone else is too. The biggest giveaways are how long you delay before answering a question (longer is worse), how much detail you give in your answers (more details are usually indicative of a poor liar), and what your general body language is like. In today's interview, Frawley was really relaxed and cracked heaps of jokes with the reporters. Now I'm not saying that anyone who does these things is always lying, but it's a good indicator. Frawley looked to me as if he was telling the truth--that he genuinely doesn't know whether he'll stay or go, but that he is happy at the club right now.

Your third point is totally right, but in this situation I don't think James Frawley would have anything to gain by making people think he was lying about leaving when he really wasn't (hypothetically-speaking of course).

EDIT: I'm not saying I'm a human lie detector or the Mentalist or anthing. I'm just saying that Frawley strikes me as someone who is (both intentionally and unintentionally), open and forthright with his answers; it's not in him to lie. For that reason, he's probably not good at it. This means we can trust him when he says he's making up his mind still, since if he wasn't still making up his mind, he wouldn't be able to conceal that fact from us as well as certain other former Melbourne Football Club players.

Posted

I wasn't actually speaking to you specifically.

It's subtle, but I've done a fair bit of lying myself in the past. I know when I'm doing a bad job of it, and I reckon I can pick when someone else is too. The biggest giveaways are how long you delay before answering a question (longer is worse), how much detail you give in your answers (more details are usually indicative of a poor liar), and what your general body language is like. In today's interview, Frawley was really relaxed and cracked heaps of jokes with the reporters. Now I'm not saying that anyone who does these things is always lying, but it's a good indicator. Frawley looked to me as if he was telling the truth--that he genuinely doesn't know whether he'll stay or go, but that he is happy at the club right now.

Your third point is totally right, but in this situation I don't think James Frawley would have anything to gain by making people think he was lying about leaving when he really wasn't (hypothetically-speaking of course).

Just a small comment Chook. I think he is a pretty straight shooter as well.

Posted

Didn't like the description "unrestricted free agent".

No salary matching option unfortunately.

I wouldn't take the author's word for it, at least 2 other articles refer to him as a restricted FA

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/defender-james-frawley-puts-contract-talks-with-melbourne-demons-on-hold-20140130-31pq5.html

Also, looks like they've corrected it to restricted. Someone must have told Ryan, the gigantic muppett

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2014-02-16/frawley-wants-club-security

Posted

I wouldn't take the author's word for it, at least 2 other articles refer to him as a restricted FA

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/defender-james-frawley-puts-contract-talks-with-melbourne-demons-on-hold-20140130-31pq5.html

Also, looks like they've corrected it to restricted. Someone must have told Ryan, the gigantic muppett

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2014-02-16/frawley-wants-club-security

That makes a difference to the situation. We have the option to match an offer and get compo should he leave. Still, I'm not aware of any RFAs where the offer has been matched.

The player requiring to be in the top pay bracket at the club to be a RFA (as opposed to a 8 year FA) is a tough one when negotiating contacts with 21 and 22 yr old players. Do we sign them on a 3-4year front loaded contact, knowing that they may be on considerably less than their market value in their last year or do we pay more in the final year keeping them in the top bracket??? AFL inflation could have an effect on FA considerations for longer tern contracts. Four years ago $300k pa to play AFL was a very good money. Not so now.

Posted

Please can we NOT compare T Scum to JF?

TS should not even be spoken about in the same breath as JF.