Posted

You have a habit of releasing inside information a few hours before it is released PaulRB.

Any more news to this or is it just a gut feel?

No info, just infantile appeal of the name. sorry.

Posted (edited)

Dam straight i am for real. I dont know about you but if i had no place of employment the last thing i would do is go to Vegas. I would be doing anything i possibly could to land something.

He is doing something, he is making his manager earn the the money he pays him to get a deal. If you pay a person to look after your interests and ensure you get a good deal then you leave them to work there butt of to make it happen.

He is currently on what would be equivalent to annual leave for us plebs. I would enjoy the break and leave the rest to my manager if he doesn't come through he doesn't get paid.

Edited by Felix da Dee

Posted

He is doing something, he is making his manager earn the the money he pays him to get a deal. If you pay a person to look after your interests and ensure you get a good deal then you leave them to work there butt of to make it happen.

He is currently on what would be equivalent to annual leave for us plebs. I would enjoy the break and leave the rest to my manager if he doesn't come through he doesn't get paid.

If u had no job, would you go to Vegas and let your recruitment agencies earn their money or would you stay here and do everything possible to help them sell you to their clients?

I know which one i would do

Posted

Not a Rumour but could we offer Giles a spot as back up ruck/forward? is a big lad, can take a grab, great ruck? will cost maybe 250K and we need someone to take the heat off Mitch

Posted

Not a Rumour but could we offer Giles a spot as back up ruck/forward? is a big lad, can take a grab, great ruck? will cost maybe 250K and we need someone to take the heat off Mitch

I was thinking just that, they don't seem to fussed about keeping him so I doubt they'd stand in his way if he wanted to leave. Grundy may be their new ruck next year.

Posted

Enough of the baloney on Moloney, the guy made his own bed and now has to lay in it, everyone sees his value regardless of what Melbourne has or has not said against him. Moloney's worth will be judged on his past performance and the offer obviously put to him by Brisbane, if they are paying him peanuts then compensation is likely to be low. he had a great year last year that will count and the fact that he had a bad year this year because he could not meet Neeld's game plan does not necessarily mean that he is a bad player, but rather one (of many) that does not fit our new game plan and one that wants to go from the club. Obviously him wanting to go helped us decide not to waste time playing him unless he was keen which he wasnt too often. what ever we get for him is better than nothing because if no one took him up he would probably have just disappeared into the draft or off to the VFL, resulting in zero compo. We have had a most excellent draft so far, and hopefully the trend will continue, I have a lot more faith in the trading team now after the Hogan deal which I believe gives us scope to draft two more good players with 4 and 20. I think Barry's value in the draft increased significantly after his testing and the Dees did well to get him included in the trade. Interest now is in who else they sign up and who else unfortunately needs to go. Frankly the club has needed a good clean for a while, too many players coasting, this sweep out should put them on notice perform or look for somewhere else to coast. Glad we have a coach and support team not affraid to do make the hard decisions, and sadly we must thank past coaches and players for our previous poor performances that resulted in us getting some bargaining power in this draft.

Posted

I cant get over the fact that Moloney decided to pi$$ off overseas to Vegas when he has no club to play for.

Youd think someone in his position would be running laps day in day out to maintain fitness and show how committed he is.

Ah well, his loss.

Maybe Neeld has read his whole attitude to professional footy better than most here.

His hopping off to Vegas whilst he mistakenly thinks he is also trying to promote himself as a professional just emphasizes all of that - after all, somebody reported Dunn and ?Jetta or Bennell running laps of The Tan before negotiations began. Like them or not, at least they are not strutting around as if the world owes them a living. Good luck to them.

Posted

From other reports I get the distinct feeling that we will be taking Wines no matter who is available.

hope so
Posted

Pretty sure I saw young Nev Jetta doing sprints at Goschs Paddock today, about 10.15am with another person (no idea who as Nev was in Dees gear other wasn't). Look super fit with the short only, top off look.

Either way just happy to see a young Demon doing the hard yards now - might set a very good tone for young Viney and Hogan when they join, Barry might run with him next week! Go Neeldies boys I reckon.

Posted

Lol.

Fremantle must really hate our guts.

We keep trying to steal the players they are trying to trade. It's quite amusing.

Although Gumbelton? I smell desperation hour.

... and I smell an article written by Jay Clark.

Posted

Do it. We need filler until Hogan is ready. Doesn't really matter who, we need a big unit so Mitch doesn't have to smash a pack of 8 to get us our one goal of the quarter.

Might seem desperate, but hey, we are desperate for now.

Posted

Is there any reason we haven't enquired about Lachie Hansen? I know he's not exactly Dunstall or Lockett but then again neither are Dawes, Pederson or Gumbleton. Not sure how he stacks up size wise compared to those guys and although I used to laugh whenever I saw him on TV the second half of his 2012 season I thought wasn't too bad. I do recall saying on several different occasions though "why do North keep giving games to this spud Hansen" so maybe it's a good thing.

Just wondering out loud considering we seem to be going after every other key forward discard thats available.

Posted

Forget the merits of Rich coming to Melbourne, but that's patent nonsense. He had a great year this year, clearly his best, kicked 20 goals from 20 games, impacted games and averaged over 20 disposals for the first time.

He's arguably the best kick I've seen. I can't believe the nonsense being said about him on this thread.

Fair enough. I made those comments without doing the research on this season.

Still I do not think he is worth 4 considering someone le Wines would step straight into the team and have a similar influence to what Rich had in his first season at the Lions.

Posted

If Dawes goes to the Bulldogs and Pederson to Collingwood, the only tall left of note is Gumbleton....anyone interested?

Although i hear the Dockers are into him.

I'd prefer Gumby to Dawes.

But I want us to get our skates on re Pederson. We have to make him want to come to us.

Who would Nth want?

Posted

All we need now is a BIG forward and then let the draft take care of itself and if we gett one then I am excited for the next 20 years which will probably see me out.

Posted

If u had no job, would you go to Vegas and let your recruitment agencies earn their money or would you stay here and do everything possible to help them sell you to their clients?

I know which one i would do

Player managers are hardly a recruitment agency they are managers who are hired by you to look after your interests. It's a professional sportsperson hiring a professional sports manager not a bloke lining up at a Centrelink Office looking for a job.

If this is a hard concept to grasp then I will type slower just for you.

And yes if I was Moloney I would be taking a break from football and relax.

Posted

but surely not both Dawes and Pederson ??

Pedersen can be a player that floats between defence and forward, thats the sort of thing he did at North, he would replace rivers well i think if he were to leave us.

Posted

Pedersen can be a player that floats between defence and forward, thats the sort of thing he did at North, he would replace rivers well i think if he were to leave us.

That is a role that Sellar is more than capable of filling, though. I'm all for getting Pederson OR Dawes at the right price, but not both.

Posted

That is a role that Sellar is more than capable of filling, though. I'm all for getting Pederson OR Dawes at the right price, but not both.

Pedersen is more of an athlete than Sellar.

I would keep Sellar for the 2nd tall in the backline (even if Rivers leaves) and Pedersen/Dawes/Gumbleton should start at FF.

I agree that we should get 1 of Pedersen/Dawes/Gumbleton. If we get 2, that will be it for Sellar I fear.