Posted

Great pick up. Won the "Best Clubman" award for the Cats last night.. Just what the joint needs..

Posted

I think a good pick up for Melbourne. I believe Byrnes will bring a professional attitude and specific work ethic that is lacking at our club. Although not the most skillful player, will provide us with a small crumbing forward who can rotate with Blease through the midfield and add depth to our midfield rotations.

Posted

Very happy with this pick-up. All Geelong mates reckon he absolutely can play. Just that in a club of absolute champion 30 year olds...you have to blood young players. So late 20s good but not great players miss out. Will easily be best 22. What he will add from his geelong experience will be invaluable...as pointed out on this thread, won the Harley clubman award and got a standing ovation from 1000 in the room. Clearly they rate and value him at Geelong...they all just appreciate the club needs to go in another direction and wish him well at the dees...

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/149176/default.aspx

Posted

I can't believe our list management over the last decade and Shannon Byrnes is yet another incomprehensible episode in a saga of incompetence. He is 28 yo and could not make a Geelong team that finished 7th in 2012. The Melbourne list is years away from finals by which time he will be an assistant coach at the new AFL franchise in Tonga or Hong Kong. What possible contribution can he really make to the future? On the other hand we are keen to get rid of Stefan Martin. Is he too tall and versatile for our shrunken and pedestrian list? In 2011 he was one of our best players and was hampered by injury this season. He can play back and would be ideal on monsters like Natanui and Cox who regularly slaughter us when resting forward. He can also play forward with energy, can take a mark, is mobile and could play the forward/ruck role that Roughead plays at Hawthorn with aplomb. In addition he is only 25 and is 198cm and over 100kgs in a team which lack big bodied players. What the ****?

Posted

Martin is terrible forward...runs around like a headless chook. Needs to play ruck. Been a while since he has played back, wouldn't assume he could take a monster (maybe).

Posted

I think its great news and more than worthy of a thread on the main board.

For some reason the signing has been received with tepid hearts here. I just don't get it, Byrnes will and already is a very good player that was competing against S.Johnson for a spot in the greatest team of the modern era.

Played 100 games and snagged 2 flags in that time. He almost has as much to teach us as Neeld himself does about winning.

Welcome Shannon, Pumped to have you as a Demon

Posted

Played in 2 Flags in what i consider to be the most skillful team of all time.

If we can get 2 solid years out of Shannon he will have done a great job in the long process forward.

Excellent choice thus far.

Posted

... he is only 25 ...

That's pretty old to be still running around with "Potential" still stamped on your forehead.

Contrast that with a player 3 years older that proved himself 7 years ago, fills a glaring hole in our list and will set a good example for the youngsters.

Yep; our list management has been shocking, hasn't it?

Posted

sorry WYL couldn't resist it, just checking you are awake.....curly wig, red nose, large shoes at the ready.....da da danna danna da dah dah dah

no probs. i did laugh, but you were not going to get away with it!!
Posted

He's a fantastic addition because he's a brilliant club man. Geelong fans on BigFooty very supportive of his move, very praising of his personality and contribution to the club during premiership years.

Sometimes little players like Byrnes end up being better pickups than the big-names with huge salaries. If we're going the hardline, defensive approach, then Byrne's effort to keep the ball in the team's forward 50 will be a great attribute.

Fantastic pickup for the team.

Posted

Congratulations to the Casey Scorpions for kicking off their 2013 recruiting drive with the selection of Shannon Byrnes. Fielding a side with Byrnes and other pensioners Aaron Davey and Mark Jamar, plus a long list of younger MFC-listed VFL-standard players, should ensure that Casey are well positioned for a run at the 2013 VFL flag.

Posted (edited)

Yeah very glad to have Byrnes in the side. Will be our best small forward next year If this is anything to go by:

[media=]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2K38tOrHa2c

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/2K38tOrHa2c" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Edited by billyblanks29
Posted

Congratulations to the Casey Scorpions for kicking off their 2013 recruiting drive with the selection of Shannon Byrnes. Fielding a side with Byrnes and other pensioners Aaron Davey and Mark Jamar, plus a long list of younger MFC-listed VFL-standard players, should ensure that Casey are well positioned for a run at the 2013 VFL flag.

Yes at 28 he ought to get the walking stick out. He's less than a year older than the current Brownlow medalist.

He hardly missed any games this year through injury apparently, and is about to do Kokoda so I'm assuming he'll do a full pre-season. Regulation injuries pending, he won't touch a Casey jumper next year.

Posted

After reading more about him, watching his interviews and learning of his award with the Cats I've changed my position on Byrnes.

I think he'll bring a lot to our young side. Hope he kicks plenty of goals as well.

Posted

Neeld has already said that Byrnes will play the whole season ('Mark Neeld Draft Combine interview').

Hogans Heroes wrote a good post outlining why he is a good recruit for MFC (see above in this thread).

Anyone who saw Byrnes play in the 2009 and 2010 seasons will know the type of player that we are getting here. He is a quick small forward with a good left boot. He can tackle and mark well for his size.

When you add in a reputation for being a good trainer and his stated desire to develop his skills as a leader of young players (I would guess with an eye to becoming a coach after he reties), you can see that he is a good recruit.

Posted

Neeld has already said that Byrnes will play the whole season ('Mark Neeld Draft Combine interview').

Hogans Heroes wrote a good post outlining why he is a good recruit for MFC (see above in this thread).

Anyone who saw Byrnes play in the 2009 and 2010 seasons will know the type of player that we are getting here. He is a quick small forward with a good left boot. He can tackle and mark well for his size.

When you add in a reputation for being a good trainer and his stated desire to develop his skills as a leader of young players (I would guess with an eye to becoming a coach after he reties), you can see that he is a good recruit.

will be totally lost on the fools and trolls .

Those with intelect and footy nouse might not all like the decision to recruit him but at the very least acknowledge his pedigree.

I would have thought NO ONE was a guaranteed starter for all 22 games.

Posted

how's this tweet from Shannon byrnes?! Classic

Shannon Byrnes@ShannonBoourns

How do you know when you're a Dee?walk out of a store in pako, and a bucks show of 40 blokes break into the melb theme song #GrandOldFlag

Posted

Shannon Byrnes will slot into that "vacant" fwd pocket role. Yes and will have some rotation into the midfield.

A big YES from me.

Welcome aboard.

& a touchdown from me. :)

welcome Shannon.

Posted

You have been nothing but derisive and negative since you bobbed up here.

They are trying to improve the team for 2013 so we can all stop whining about how crap we currently are, and the arrival of Byrnes would take our tally of small forwards at the club to 1...

Posted

I can't believe our list management over the last decade and Shannon Byrnes is yet another incomprehensible episode in a saga of incompetence. He is 28 yo and could not make a Geelong team that finished 7th in 2012. The Melbourne list is years away from finals by which time he will be an assistant coach at the new AFL franchise in Tonga or Hong Kong. What possible contribution can he really make to the future? On the other hand we are keen to get rid of Stefan Martin. Is he too tall and versatile for our shrunken and pedestrian list? In 2011 he was one of our best players and was hampered by injury this season. He can play back and would be ideal on monsters like Natanui and Cox who regularly slaughter us when resting forward. He can also play forward with energy, can take a mark, is mobile and could play the forward/ruck role that Roughead plays at Hawthorn with aplomb. In addition he is only 25 and is 198cm and over 100kgs in a team which lack big bodied players. What the ****?

This is just wrong on so many levels.....