View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

I loved his story when we drafted him - first ever 4th generation VFL/AFL player.

Injuries have really ruined his last couple of years, but prior to that he was an important piece of our team through Premiership phase.

100+ MFC games and a Premiership. May he partner with a 7ft tall high jumper and have many father-son / father-daughter candidate children.

Probably a good fit for North, with the caveat of his perpetual injury recovery.

They have a wave of all-purpose high productivity midfielders and need to fill out their list with AFL-grade role players. A fit Spargo is a useful contributor to calm and smart entries inside 50 and good positioning to reduce counter-attack options.

North certainly have plenty of accumulators, and whatever Spargo might be, he is not an accumulator!

1 hour ago, Rivers of Belief my friend said:

…and I have to rename myself!

…ok, done. (nee Spargonicus)

Great, now you’re gonna mozz Riv 😁

Can understand the decision but sad to see him go. He was an important contributor to our premiership year and no one tried harder. He should be proud of his time in the red and blue.

Edited by chook fowler

6 hours ago, Petracca said:

Wonder if Langford now takes the number 9 now

4 hours ago, Ghostwriter said:

I think they’ll offer #9 to Jai.

No. No. Please. No.

Let Culley make 46 his own. Let Langdon be Melbourne’s best ever 19.

Any free numbers can go to new players coming in.

4 hours ago, monoccular said:

Why?

What is wrong with 19?

“Promoting” player numbers is so overrated. I will never forget when Liam Jurrah was “promoted” from 48 to 24 and he wasn’t even half the player he was before.

100%.

The worst thing about every off season is when a player gets given a “better” number.

Let Langdon be 19. Let Culley be 46. Foster a culture of playing your career in the number you get when you walk in the door.

always had a soft spot for charlie

he was excellent in 2021

has not worked out for him since

i wish him the best at North (except when he plays us)

Edited by BDA

Premiership player and a 100 plus games. Played some good ones and a deserving member of 2021 flag.

Injuries have sent him backwards since then. Best of luck for future, but creates an opportunity for someone new!

Good luck Charlie.

A decent player, and forever one of the 21 flag team. But a good decision for both parties imo.

55 minutes ago, John Demonic said:

That will pair nicely with your champagne laugh

Since I have been in Italy and awaiting my flight back to Oz I can reveal a liking for local drop Apperol Spritz!

14 minutes ago, picket fence said:

Since I have been in Italy and awaiting my flight back to Oz I can reveal a liking for local drop Apperol Spritz!

Hey PF

so last decade... it's a Limoncello Spritz these days mate.

Hope you had a great time

2 hours ago, titan_uranus said:

Let Langdon be 19. Let Culley be 46. Foster a culture of playing your career in the number you get when you walk in the door.

Damn!! Now they’ve moved Langdon from 15 to 19… so, does Langford get 15 or 9?

7 hours ago, Diamond_Jim said:

Hey PF

so last decade... it's a Limoncello Spritz these days mate.

Hope you had a great time

FFS @picket fence , keep up!

As for Charlie Spargo, thanks and good luck.

9 hours ago, D4Life said:

Premiership player and a 100 plus games. Played some good ones and a deserving member of 2021 flag.

Injuries have sent him backwards since then. Best of luck for future, but creates an opportunity for someone new!

Nailed it. He was good in “21 and part of our premiership 👏😭.

Of course now only getting 7 possessions a game and struggling to kick a goal and struggling to kick 30 metres was a problem in the end. We wish him all the best !!

14 hours ago, titan_uranus said:

No. No. Please. No.

Let Culley make 46 his own. Let Langdon be Melbourne’s best ever 19.

Any free numbers can go to new players coming in.

100%.

The worst thing about every off season is when a player gets given a “better” number.

In addition, what message does it send to our new recruits who get given numbers in the 40s? We don't think you're going to make it, but prove us wrong?

5 hours ago, spirit of norm smith said:

Nailed it. He was good in “21 and part of our premiership 👏😭.

Of course now only getting 7 possessions a game and struggling to kick a goal and struggling to kick 30 metres was a problem in the end. We wish him all the best !!

Maybe, he was a big loss to Casey, played some good footy before the shoulder injury.

Wish Spargs all the best - but won't be losing any sleep over this one. In the modern game, players need to have all or most attributes - for arguments sake and eg:

• speed

• tank

• defensive pressure

• accurate kick

• penetrating kick

• overhead marking

• footy IQ

• competitive spirit

• and as a forward, hit the scoreboard

There will be some (!) on this forum that will choose to quibble about these, but most will generally get the drift, but most would agree, the more players in the team that have most if not all of these, the more successful the team is potentially likely to be. Unfortunately for Spargs, he only possessed a few of these, arguably:

• defensive pressure (no doubt)

• accurate kick (short score assist kicks inside 50 but otherwise couldn't kick over a jam tin).

• footy IQ (no doubt)

• competitive spirit (no doubt)

...not enough unfortunately. Clearly a Goody favourite so no surprise he has decided to take his chances somewhere else.

Is it true nth offered I'm a 4 year deal? I can see why he'd take it.

Not really fussed he's going. Not the same since his injures

I'm confident we can cover him

Best of luck Spargs, surplus to our needs and the right move for both he and the club. Interesting from NM though, unless they are paying him like 600 a year.

4 minutes ago, Demonland said:

melbourne.jpg?width=1511

IF ...

I've always rated the footy smarts of Charlie Spargo ...

THEN ...

I still don't believe that his exit as an unrestricted free agent to North Melbourne would be worthy of any compensation. Let's see the secret herbs and spices that go into this one.

Of all the mfc things he could write about he takes a veiled swipe at dear Charlie - implying his value is zero.

Unbelievably mean spirited of Barrett.