Neil Crompton 5,837 Posted July 28, 2022 Posted July 28, 2022 1 minute ago, Jaded No More said: Fantastic news. From a cultural point of view this is an important signing. Gus is a leader of the club and has proven himself to be a big stage player. We also know how versatile Gus is and so I have no doubt he will still be a vital cog in our machine in 6 seasons. You must feel a little calmer now (less jaded even?) 3 Quote
Dr. Gonzo 24,467 Posted July 28, 2022 Posted July 28, 2022 36 minutes ago, The heart beats true said: We are a good club with a good culture. This is a great time to support our team. I love the timing, all though I’m somewhat disappointed that I couldn’t applaud every kick he gets on the weekend in person. I’ll never forget when he said to Garry Lyon after the grand final ‘this is our club’. He understands that it’s both a game, and so much more for people who love our footy club. I’m so happy to have him, Tracc and Clarry for a long time. That was part of the reason I found it so hard to reconcile the fact he might leave. So happy he has signed on and committed to the club long term. Outrageous that we have basically all our core players locked in for 5+ years, astounding list management from the club. Onya Gussy! 9 3 Quote
Stiff Arm 4,419 Posted July 28, 2022 Posted July 28, 2022 11 minutes ago, drysdale demon said: Maybe a few on here should just ignore all the garbage the media put out. Yes, many jumping at shadows yesterday. Was good for a laugh, though! 2 Quote
sue 9,277 Posted July 28, 2022 Posted July 28, 2022 (edited) Bloody little brothers! I posted several times that Gus' interview was ambiguous and there was no need to assume he was looking for mid-field time. I kept asking for evidence of that and no one provided any. Then his little brother piped up. Which was depressing. Now we know his little brother is a [censored] stirrer. Get him to the MFC! Edited July 28, 2022 by sue 2 Quote
DeeSpencer 26,667 Posted July 28, 2022 Posted July 28, 2022 9 minutes ago, BDA said: I don't know what to make of you sometimes. He's in AA contention this year. Ridiculous post He’s not in the 20 best back flankers according to the afl player ratings. He can’t kick. He can’t man up. He’s in AA contention via the media, many of whom happen to be close family friends. He looked great against rubbish sides who kicked it to him. Not sure he’s had more than one coaches vote over the last two months. 1 4 1 1 Quote
layzie 34,528 Posted July 28, 2022 Posted July 28, 2022 Feel like I've had the biggest caffeine hit this morning after this news. 2 Quote
drysdale demon 4,837 Posted July 28, 2022 Posted July 28, 2022 1 minute ago, Stiff Arm said: Yes, many jumping at shadows yesterday. Was good for a laugh, though! Yep, this thread and the Jackson one have provided some good laughing material. 1 Quote
—coach— 3,496 Posted July 28, 2022 Posted July 28, 2022 On 7/25/2022 at 2:02 PM, Dwight Schrute said: Has re-signed apparently. Manager flew to Melbourne to officially sign off. Rumours he will announce on Gus and gawny which is hilarious. I’ve now seen multiple people I trust hearing this so very confident Dwight, can you please now announce Jacko has signed up too? Pretty please? 1 1 4 Quote
daisycutter 30,002 Posted July 28, 2022 Posted July 28, 2022 well that avoided a few heart attacks now let's bring his bro home 1 1 Quote
layzie 34,528 Posted July 28, 2022 Posted July 28, 2022 1 minute ago, drysdale demon said: Yep, this thread and the Jackson one have provided some good laughing material. It has been good value that's for sure. 1 Quote
forever demons 2,368 Posted July 28, 2022 Posted July 28, 2022 Team selection for friday .Brayshaw omitted for team balance.🤣 1 Quote
Demonstone 23,549 Posted July 28, 2022 Posted July 28, 2022 26 minutes ago, DeeSpencer said: Stupid contract. We’ll be paying him to podcast or play for someone else way before it’s done. One paced, can’t kick, can’t man up. What are we thinking? A panic move by the club because they’re sad LJ is leaving. 2 15 Quote
Davos 930 Posted July 28, 2022 Posted July 28, 2022 3 minutes ago, DeeSpencer said: He’s not in the 20 best back flankers according to the afl player ratings. He can’t kick. He can’t man up. He’s in AA contention via the media, many of whom happen to be close family friends. He looked great against rubbish sides who kicked it to him. Not sure he’s had more than one coaches vote over the last two months. Unpopular opinion, but the correct one. 2 Quote
Ted Lasso 19,586 Posted July 28, 2022 Posted July 28, 2022 1 minute ago, —coach— said: Dwight, can you please now announce Jacko has signed up too? Pretty please? I wish I could mate. I don’t have any definitive information but I think we can all see the writing on the wall a bit unfortunately 7 3 1 Quote
He de mon 942 Posted July 28, 2022 Posted July 28, 2022 (edited) 41 minutes ago, DeeSpencer said: Stupid contract. We’ll be paying him to podcast or play for someone else way before it’s done. One paced, can’t kick, can’t man up. What are we thinking? A panic move by the club because they’re sad LJ is leaving. Look on the bright side. You have something to whinge about for the next 6 years. Edited July 28, 2022 by He de mon 2 9 Quote
mo64 5,910 Posted July 28, 2022 Posted July 28, 2022 Apologies @Dwight SchruteYour mail was correct. But all the commentary from Gus and his brother Hamish was totally unnecessary. They could have played a straight bat. 4 Quote
chook fowler 19,763 Posted July 28, 2022 Posted July 28, 2022 4 minutes ago, layzie said: Feel like I've had the biggest caffeine hit this morning after this news. viagra would be more apt. 3 Quote
faultydet 7,623 Posted July 28, 2022 Posted July 28, 2022 In all of the celebrations regarding Angus signing on, please never forget that this means Essedon failed in their efforts to recruit him. Suck it Bombers. 6 5 6 Quote
chook fowler 19,763 Posted July 28, 2022 Posted July 28, 2022 put him back to the wing now. 3 1 Quote
Sir Why You Little 37,449 Posted July 28, 2022 Posted July 28, 2022 SWYL is extremely happy about this decision Now it’s head down and flat out into September 7 Quote
Ted Lasso 19,586 Posted July 28, 2022 Posted July 28, 2022 Just now, mo64 said: Apologies @Dwight SchruteYour mail was correct. But all the commentary from Gus and his brother Hamish was totally unnecessary. They could have played a straight bat. No stress mate :) just playing the game. I know for a fact players sign and sometimes it’s not announced for an extended period, it’s all a timing and marketing game for clubs but the players know 3 1 Quote
Jibroni 5,056 Posted July 28, 2022 Posted July 28, 2022 Yes yes great news. Also means I can keep my profile pic as well. 2 Quote