Posted
40 minutes ago, Bombay Airconditioning said:

I'm glad you excused the interstate members....

Obviously interstate members are excused and I understand that some people have work/sport/other committments. No one "has" to go and nor do I have any right to question anyone's commitment. I just don't think we will have any rights to whinge about the draw if we can't get bums on seats.

Posted

Let's also not forget that Hawthorn got 27k vs GC. This is the Hawthorn team that has won 4 flags in 8 years. Meanwhile we've lost games by 180 and 140 points and still have a higher attendance than they do.

Next negative thing to talk about?

Posted

I hate these threads. I live in the country and buy a couple of 16 game memberships for me and Mrs d knowing full well that we'll be lucky to make 5 games a year. I don't know which games we'll be able to make and consider the ones we know we'll miss as a donation to the club. I could just get the 3 game country membership if you'd prefer.

Posted
5 minutes ago, furious d said:

I hate these threads. I live in the country and buy a couple of 16 game memberships for me and Mrs d knowing full well that we'll be lucky to make 5 games a year. I don't know which games we'll be able to make and consider the ones we know we'll miss as a donation to the club. I could just get the 3 game country membership if you'd prefer.

BUT BUT BUT YOU'RE LETTING THE CLUB DOWN!

Posted

Was there with my son who was playing his guitar busking on the city side. 

amazing amount of port supporters there

Posted

Geez Collingwood's home game gets 22k and the Hawks 27k? Talk about fair weather supporters. They're the new snow bunnies in winter! Probably switch to soccer.

Onwards and upwards Dees! Exciting times ahead

Posted
2 hours ago, Demonland said:

27,068. Pathetic really.

We are a team on the cusp of making the finals for the first time in a decade. I know it was cold. I know we were playing an interstate team but how are we to be taken seriously as a "blockbuster" team if we can't get our own bums on seats?

If Geelong are slated to play the Tigers in a final there will be no question that that game gets played on the G rather than in Geelong. If we line up against the Cats I guarantee you we are playing at Simmonds.

Get your arses, your mates arses, your mums and dads, grannies and grandpas, your cats and dogs to the footy.

Mini rant over.

I attended my couch and watched the game on Foxtel. The ducted heating was nice and I played uno with my boys at half time. Did I mention it was cold outside?

Posted

3 usuals in my family weren't there - I had sick kids and wife plus some other stuff on, my brother's overseas and my dad's had some other stuff on too. My uncle has only gone a couple of times all  a year though. Mum and sister were there though. 

No way we play a final in Geelong. Would only schedule GWS or Freo down there

Posted
1 minute ago, Demonland said:

No one is saying that.

But if you have a go at the crowd you're having a go at members that can't attend. As I've mentioned there are many variables and gauges and 27k is a reasonable, admittedly not fantastic, crowd. We've drawn consistently good crowds relative of the opponent and location.

Posted

I think its a good topic. I think there is a big element of Melbourne supporters who dont go to games. We are quite notorious for it. Etihad is a good example. For some reason people dont go to Interstate teams at home. Maybe its a hangover from when these teams first started? Nobody rated them so nobody went. It would be a good problem to solve. Perhaps with success these are some of the things that improve. I think you will find with sustained finals appearances our memberships and attendances will be up there with the other big clubs. In fact i think we could be the biggest.

Posted
7 minutes ago, praha said:

But if you have a go at the crowd you're having a go at members that can't attend. As I've mentioned there are many variables and gauges and 27k is a reasonable, admittedly not fantastic, crowd. We've drawn consistently good crowds relative of the opponent and location.

I believe I have stated elsewhere in the thread that I understand that many people live interstate or work etc. Those aren't the ones I'm having a go at. You alluded to the fact that I am saying that people who have a country membership and can't go to every game are letting the team down when I'm clearly not saying that.

I honestly thought 27000 was a poor crowd for a team on the cusp of a finals berth and as a result we have no right to complain if we are dealt harsh fixturing blows.

If we can't attract decent crowds then we are always going to be the last cab off the rank. Not blaming anyone that's just the way it will be.

Posted
4 minutes ago, Wadda We Sing said:

I think its a good topic. I think there is a big element of Melbourne supporters who dont go to games. We are quite notorious for it. Etihad is a good example. For some reason people dont go to Interstate teams at home. Maybe its a hangover from when these teams first started? Nobody rated them so nobody went. It would be a good problem to solve. Perhaps with success these are some of the things that improve. I think you will find with sustained finals appearances our memberships and attendances will be up there with the other big clubs. In fact i think we could be the biggest.

I thought the attendance at the Bulldogs game (even though an away game) was poor too.

Posted

The snow conditions are very good at the moment and it is around the peak of the season. There is your explanation.

Posted

Wasn't it one of our better crowds v Port in recent times? Critical and poor thread really. I Have paid a membership for 25 years and hardly been to a game due to work and place of residence. Its very Melbourne like to think of negatives. Combine that with freezing cold windy conditions not suited for the elderly then I think 27,000 was a good effort.

Posted
12 minutes ago, Demonland said:

I thought the attendance at the Bulldogs game (even though an away game) was poor too.

Terrible days weather wise and with both games there  are only the supporters from one team to make up the numbers.

I think the thing we forget about here on Demonland is we are fanatics. A large number of our members are not.

Posted
Just now, SFebey said:

Wasn't it one of our better crowds v Port in recent times? Critical and poor thread really. I Have paid a membership for 25 years and hardly been to a game due to work and place of residence. Its very Melbourne like to think of negatives. Combine that with freezing cold windy conditions not suited for the elderly then I think 27,000 was a good effort.

Yes SF and we do have a lot of those members me included.

Posted

I was at home in Perth.

WHERE WERE ALL OF YOU AT SUBIACO 3 WEEKS AGO WHEN TOMMY MAC KICKED THE GOAL OF THE SEASON AND I ALMOST GOT KILLED BY 30,000 ANGRY, SUNBURNT BOGANS?

I SWEAR SOMEONE TRIED TO THROW A JETSKI AT ME!

Pathetic.

• Like 13
Posted

Interesting topic for discussion, I'm not sure that Demonland members should be questioned for their commitment to the club though. We all post on an internet forum, if you're fanatical enough to do that, then you probably like the club.

The question shouldn't be "Where was everybody?" rather it should be, "What can the club do to attract bums on seats?". What are the real issues? On field results? Ticket prices? Scheduling? I don't know the issues as I live in Perth and don't attend the G or Etihad.

Personally I think on field performances is generally a big driver. A finals appearance this year, and I guarantee a bunch of Melbourne locals will jump on the bandwagon. You can't underestimate the effect of no finals since 2006 on the attendance figures. Exciting footy, creates a buzz, creates bums on seats.

Posted

27k turning up out of a total membership of 41K is as good a percentage as ANY Melbourne based club can expect against an interstate side, except those relocated ( BN & SY).  Especially on a cold Saturday afternoon.

Bigger attendances happen because "supporters" turn up as well as the die-hard members.  They will only do that when conditions are ideal, and a big match beckons.

This is the reality for the Melbourne sides.  It is why Hawthorn and North play their games in Tassie.  It is why we go to the NT.  Collingwood would have paid to play at Docklands with their crowd yesterday. 

Melbourne play Carlton and 47K turn up.  Everyone thinks it is a an acceptable crowd.  But for 2 Melbourne based sides it is 23.5K each.  Melbourne play Essendon and 44K turn up...same story. 

27 K is as good as it gets.