Posted
2 hours ago, Ron Burgundy said:

Obviously we'd have little to no chance of landing him, but I reckon Mark Blicavs is the player we need.

He'd be perfect.

Need to get GNF onto it. He was all over Hogans extension...

Posted
1 hour ago, Brayshaw Self said:

Koby Stevens is looking for a new home. We would be stupid not to have a look.

Slow inside mid with poor kicking. Pass.

Posted

Dodoro Essendons list manager said on trade radio that Hibberd for 26 seems like a fair trade. Hopefully it gets done day 1 of trade week :)

Posted
4 minutes ago, GCDee said:

Dodoro Essendons list manager said on trade radio that Hibberd for 26 seems like a fair trade. Hopefully it gets done day 1 of trade week :)

Unfortunately they just had the Essendon FM on SEN (his name escapes me) and he said that there was still a bit of work to do regarding the Hibberd trade. :( 

Posted
16 minutes ago, Tough Kent said:

Unfortunately they just had the Essendon FM on SEN (his name escapes me) and he said that there was still a bit of work to do regarding the Hibberd trade. :( 

Of course! Essendon couldn't simply act like normal human beings and take the deal on offer, there will be at least a week of them making unreasonable requests before they accept pick 26. 

i fully expect them to ask for Brayshaw, Hogan, Petracca, Tyson, Salem, Weideman, Gawn, McDonald and Watts before they even consider pick 26. it's just how they roll

Posted
21 minutes ago, Tough Kent said:

It grates on me giving up our best pick to Essendon (for a player who wants to come) & leaving ourselves with nowhere to move in targeting other players (such as a forward/ruck). Maybe he should call them on 'breach of duty of care' or 'breach of contract '?

Posted

Have no idea what was actually said, so this is likely COMPLETELY wrong but is there a chance that it is us that would delay the Hibberd trade?

Knowing that we are virtually giving up our only semi decent pick leaving us pretty much done at the trade table this year, perhaps we have asked to wait and see if we can work some magic in order to gather other picks etc?

Use our pick 26 elsewhere but ultimately we end up with a similar pick after trades and only then use the new similar pick for Hibberd?

Posted
1 hour ago, Tough Kent said:

I reckon that's all talk.  Dodoro said that our second rounder is pretty much spot on, so you would think the Hibberd deal will get done within the first 48 hours of trade week.

Posted
3 minutes ago, Gorgoroth said:

It will get done.  Essendon ar just flogs to deal with. Be surprised if its not done by tuesday arvo

Agree, on both counts. We have considerable leverage in this deal. Whilst it would be up to Hibberd to go down the breach of duty of care path surely he might be tempted to if EFC play hard ball and make it difficult to get to the club he has nominated.

EFC have done well to get so many of their banned players back and Wooosha has helped repair the damage to their brand. The optics of making things difficult for Hibberd would not be good and would threaten the gains they have made in terms of their reputation, particualry becasue pick 26  looks more than fair given it lines up with the price we paid for melksahm (though perhaps Micha is correct and we don't to give them the 26 and that is s sticking point - though i thought mahoney had flagged 26 was about right)

Posted
2 minutes ago, DemonLad5 said:

I think if we are trying to offload Dunn to Brizzy, we can package him with pick 44 and get 20 or 28 back

Lol.

Posted
3 minutes ago, DemonLad5 said:

I think if we are trying to offload Dunn to Brizzy, we can package him with pick 44 and get 20 or 28 back

Swan basically said that Brisbane would only be taking one experienced defender, Frost.

Looks like Dunn stays with us unless there is interest elsewhere...

Posted
1 hour ago, GCDee said:

Is that what he expects, or what he hopes for?

Maybe the FM's comments in the post below indicate that Melbourne have offered a 3rd round not a 2nd round, hence a bit more work to be done.

Posted
1 minute ago, rjay said:

Swan basically said that Brisbane would only be taking one experienced defender, Frost.

Frost is 24 and has played 54 games. Also can't get a game at Collingwood. Hardly experienced. Dunn was VC last year

Posted
6 minutes ago, rjay said:

Makes me happy, I would keep him anyway. He offers a lot more cover and versatility to us than the paltry return we would get for him.

And lets not forget how well he plays in a contract renewal year. Why waste that :).

Posted
12 minutes ago, binman said:

You have to laugh:

It's a new era here at the No more Mr. Nice Guy. I'll be bringing strong opinions, along with breaking huge news.

I have the best news. The biggest. No one has trade news like I do. Other sites have the worst news. The worst. My news is much better than their news. They're liars. It's outrageous. It's hard to believe other sites lie about trades, it's dishonest. Other sites have said that my news is incorrect. WRONG! My news is the truth, and I'll always tell you like it is.

Make trade news great again.

• Like 17
Posted
16 minutes ago, Redleg said:

Ask him when we will sign Hogan?

I think part of our deal with Hogan was to help him get his bus liscense so he can drive Contiki buses through Europe from the end of the 2019 season. That and paying for Spanish lessons.