Mitch Clark - did we dodge a bullet?

thesleepinggiant

Posted
2 hours ago, america de cali said:

He looked amazing when he started for us but there was something fishy going on off field  at the time. In round 6, 2012 against Geelong he kicked an amazing goal at the start of the game after a Herculean solo attack on the ball and not one team mate came to congratulate him. Something  was NQR with his team mates.

Was Stef Martin playing that day? ;)

• Replies 182

Posted
19 minutes ago, Moonshadow said:

Was Stef Martin playing that day? ;)

Martin and Clark only played together in round 1 in 2012. Martin did not get another game until round 15 after Clark got his bad foot injury in round 14 and missed the rest of the season. Martin played 7 games after Clark got injured. Martin was traded out at end of season whilst Clark remained.  And we all know the rumours.

Posted
1 hour ago, america de cali said:

Martin and Clark only played together in round 1 in 2012. Martin did not get another game until round 15 after Clark got his bad foot injury in round 14 and missed the rest of the season. Martin played 7 games after Clark got injured. Martin was traded out at end of season whilst Clark remained.  And we all know the rumours.

No we don't???

Posted

Clark was a sensation for us early. He really did explode in the early games for us.

Such a bloody shame, as he looked like the star we had been craving.

Posted
1 hour ago, america de cali said:

And we all know the rumours.

I don't know the rumour, but I'm going to assume the only reasonable deduction - Stef Martin and Clark had a falling out over our use of the bugle player before the games in '12. 

Posted
7 hours ago, worldwideweb_demon said:

The club that keeps on giving. Dawes, Lumumba and Kennedy. Surprised that they havent tried to trade Swan before he retired.

Its always cloke & dagger with them.

6 hours ago, Sir Why You Little said:

I wonder if he will try to scrounge out one more contract. 

He could try Freo....??

He's like a lost dog, still trying to sniff his way home, after getting lost en-roote.

Posted
9 hours ago, Fifty-5 said:

Agree, Collingwood winners by a mile - Varcoe would be very good for us.

Yes, but it hasn't done them any good tho thus far.  They still went down like greasy cold pies.

And we still continue to gain momentum as we grow.

Its all about the swings & sliding Dawes.

Posted
1 hour ago, Tough Kent said:

No we don't???

We all know  what happened with Wayne Carey and  his captain.  A couple of big C's, and one played for us.

Posted
17 minutes ago, america de cali said:

We all know  what happened with Wayne Carey and  his captain.  A couple of big C's, and one played for us.

That was crafted expertly. I reckon you spent a while getting that one right!

Posted

Honestly, this has all become so distasteful that I want to say something just to make people feel bad.

What if WE were the bullet?

Melbourne Demons. 2012. Few emerged to ever play well again.

Posted

Every Mitch Clark thread inevitably becomes a parade of the scummiest posters here trying to outdo themselves, and once again here we are.

Grow up.

Posted

Reading over this thread has made me worry less about Mitch, and more about trading with Collingwood. 

We have been shafted at the trade table time and time again by this mob...

Posted
13 hours ago, DV8 said:

Its always cloke & dagger with them.

He's like a lost dog, still trying to sniff his way home, after getting lost en-roote.

That's very offensive towards Dogs.... they are loyal creatures at least

Posted

I know for a fact that Clark did face mental demons. 

What I don't like is that I feel he used them to position himself for a better deal. To suggest he needed a "change" because of the demons he faced, only to nominate one of the most scrutinised teams in the land as his preferred destination, goes to show he used his mental health issues as a bargaining chip: it had nothing to do with wanting a change for the sake of his health, and everything to do with being at a winning club.

I've had to deal with a colleague doing the same thing in recent months, where they've had to deal with confronting mental issues, only to then use these issues to leverage better business deals. It's sickening.

So I sympathize with people who question the legitimacy of his issues. I know he was depressed. But I question the legitimacy of his reasoning for wanting to leave.

Posted
29 minutes ago, praha said:

I know for a fact that Clark did face mental demons. 

What I don't like is that I feel he used them to position himself for a better deal. To suggest he needed a "change" because of the demons he faced, only to nominate one of the most scrutinised teams in the land as his preferred destination, goes to show he used his mental health issues as a bargaining chip: it had nothing to do with wanting a change for the sake of his health, and everything to do with being at a winning club.

I've had to deal with a colleague doing the same thing in recent months, where they've had to deal with confronting mental issues, only to then use these issues to leverage better business deals. It's sickening.

So I sympathize with people who question the legitimacy of his issues. I know he was depressed. But I question the legitimacy of his reasoning for wanting to leave.

Mitch proves you can have mental issues but also be a self - centred [censored].

Posted
On 1 March 2016 at 9:37 PM, Whispering_Jack said:

Sad to see a great talent destroyed by injury and illness. 

I really believe he was on the verge of something great when he came down with that debilitating Lisfranc injury. What followed was a tragedy for the player and the club.

I don't think you can say we ended up "dodging" a bullet because we went to great lengths and invested heavily in Mitch and lost out badly as a result of his long running injury and the mental problems that followed.

I hope he recovers and gets some enjoyment from the tail end of his career. He's had a pretty wretched run.

Well said... Mental illness impacts the community & can only wish he can manage that & football is secondary!

Posted
2 minutes ago, KingDingAling said:

We dodged a bullet. He has been injured a lot.

we didn't dodge the bullet, but we did dodge the scud missile :lol:

Posted
6 minutes ago, KingDingAling said:

We dodged a bullet. He has been injured a lot.

To paraphrase Praha, he dumped us when a better offer came along. He went doctor shopping for a GP or Psych who could, with a straight face, say that he could sit in clubrooms that were white and blue rather than red and blue. User.

Posted

Did I hear on the Cats-Dons telecast today that Clark is a chance to play in the Prelim?

Posted
18 hours ago, stuie said:

Every Mitch Clark thread inevitably becomes a parade of the scummiest posters here trying to outdo themselves, and once again here we are.

Grow up.

Yep,  here you are on the high horse flogging yourself as usual.

Posted
27 minutes ago, Fork 'em said:

Yep,  here you are on the high horse flogging yourself as usual.

If you think you need to be on a high horse to not spread around baseless rumours about footy players' personal lives then that says more about you than me.

Posted
4 hours ago, stuie said:

If you think you need to be on a high horse to not spread around baseless rumours about footy players' personal lives then that says more about you than me.

"..... more about me than you"?
I haven't posted any rumours.
Doesn't matter what the topic of the day is, there you are sprouting your sanctimonious sheet.
And like any zealot, you can't help yourself.