Demonland has made the difficult decision to not permit this platform to be used to discuss & debate the off-field issues relating to the Melbourne Football Club including matters currently being litigated between the Club & former Board members, board elections, the issue of illicit drugs in footy, the culture at the club & the personal issues & allegations against some of our players & officials ...

We do not take these issues & this decision lightly & of course we believe that these serious matters affecting the club we love & are so passionate about are worthy of discussion & debate & I wish we could provide a place where these matters can be discussed in a civil & respectful manner.

However these discussions unfortunately invariably devolve into areas that may be defamatory, libelous, spread unsubstantiated rumours & can effect the mental health of those involved. Even discussion & debate of known facts or media reports can lead to finger pointing, blame & personal attacks.

Our moderating team are all volunteers & cannot moderate the forum 24/7 & as a consequence problematic content that contravenes our rules & standards may go unnoticed for some time before it can be removed.

Booing

Grint

I didnt boo but I knew it was going to come. I was just angry. But Ive heard people ring up the radio saying its a disgrace to boo the players. Well I say this. The club wants us to fork out money to buy a membership then they want you to donate extra for other areas then we get phone calls about raffle tickets. That performance was just so poor. Fans were just letting out there frustration.

Also I noticed when Roosy was addressing the team at 3/4 time it looked like he pointed out towards the crowd as if to say to the players even the fans arent happy with this.

Why wouldn't they be trying with many of them with their jobs on the line? No mate, they tried but are not good enough, Surely you are not suggesting that dreadful T word?

That is the guts of it.

Spot on Bobby

People who say booing is a disgrace get right up my goat's nose. It's every fan's sacred right to boo.

exactly, common-place thruout the history of the game, at least since WW2.

but less at the players of your own team, back in the days of lowly paid players who worked many jobs, & played as well. the players today want their ice-cream & eat ours as well.

supporters sit in the stand week after week and cheer them on, applaud them when they do well and sometimes, sing the song as they come off and there are times like Sunday when the fans just have to show their anger and frustration at the crap performance these professional footballers are putting up. To think we are paying our something like $10m per year to players who put in such a p!$$poor performance.

I don't think the words Support and Boo go together. Once you start booing you stop being a Supporter. I've been following this crap for 50yrs, I haven't stopped being a Supporter yet and I've seen a lot worse than this mob. I don't think Jack Viney and Jonesy head out the door to play in a game like that. I don't think they deserve to be booed no matter what their teammates do. But if you boo you're booing all of them. That's Collingwood behaviour not ours. I feel ashamed to see Melbourne supporters booing the players no matter how crap they are. This type of abysmal play is usually caused by a chronic lack of confidence. Not sure booing them at the end of the game is really going to help repair that. But hey I could be wrong.

Edited by It's Time

I don't think the words Support and Boo go together. Once you start booing you stop being a Supporter. I've been following this crap for 50yrs, I haven't stopped being a Supporter yet and I've seen a lot worse than this mob. I don't think Jack Viney and Jonesy head out the door to play in a game like that. I don't think they deserve to be booed no matter what their teammates do. But if you boo you're booing all of them. That's Collingwood behaviour not ours. I feel ashamed to see Melbourne supporters booing the players no matter how crap they are. This type of abysmal play is usually caused by a chronic lack of confidence. Not sure booing them at the end of the game is really going to help repair that. But hey I could be wrong.

haha rubbish, & its not booing just the players, its the club that gets the tirade. just that the players are the visable part of it. And the AFL can take their share of the hostility as well, for helping to setup an uneven competition starting back decades ago, feeding the biggest noisiest wheels with the best Oils. the inequities had started well back, & our own sugar-daddies didn't look after the Dees at all.

its high time the AFL started to seriously right the slow ships, & the wrongs past.

# Booing gets things moving in a hurry from the AFL down.

Same here. Would have left early myself for the first time in years if it wasn't for the kick on the ground after the game with my son.

That night I told him I was sorry that the Dee lost for him. His reply was " Don't you be sorry Dad, its the players that need to be sorry." That's coming from a 4 year old.

Interesting GT. I said to my seven year old that we should leave at three quarter time but she wanted to stay to the bitter end.

To be honest, i was numb and could not believe how we had slipped back after finally showing signs of improvement earlier in the year.

I also told her I was sorry how poor we were. She said "they will get better Dad I know it". I wish I shared her optimism...

Interesting GT. I said to my seven year old that we should leave at three quarter time but she wanted to stay to the bitter end.

To be honest, i was numb and could not believe how we had slipped back after finally showing signs of improvement earlier in the year.

I also told her I was sorry how poor we were. She said "they will get better Dad I know it". I wish I shared her optimism...

Sad isn't it.

I'm amazed at this numbness that all of us including me have developed...I believe it's a superpower, a shield of armour against the constant bombardment of crap that our team dishes up. The thing I can't understand is, why we still care enough to keep going and to fork out our money to watch it and support them.

It's attitudes like this that makes our club a laughing stock.

Maybe our problem is we aren't more like Collingwood, who demand effort and passion, year in and year out. They don't look for weak excuses and show some sort of pride for the club, jumper and their members.

They routinely play finals and constantly look the improve their chances of winning both on and off the ground.

Currently I hate them because they do most things well and we are at the opposite end of the scale.

I'm mad as hell and I can't take it anymore, and if booing adequately expresses these feelings to those who are in charge of the direction of this club, and as a result something changes for the better, then I just wish we had of started booing several seasons ago.

The club as a whole needs to start understanding that the patience line is wearing thin when performances that are sub standard are so regular.

We as supporters deserve better and need to demand better, if this is conveyed through booing these sub standard performances so be it.

I laughed at the final stages of the game because it was too sad to care.

Better or worse than booing?

Boo away for all I care. We pay money to watch this shite. If I was this bad at my job I wouldn't have one, and my salary is 1/10th of theirs.

Sad isn't it.

I'm amazed at this numbness that all of us including me have developed...I believe it's a superpower, a shield of armour against the constant bombardment of crap that our team dishes up. The thing I can't understand is, why we still care enough to keep going and to fork out our money to watch it and support them.

this numbness is what has eeked away at our culture over decades. The players also feel it, & subconsciously that numbness evolves into a losing mentality, a defeatist mentality where losing doesn't mean anything anymore, & that ends up with many social type players, and a playboy culture.

this was us in the late 70's - early 80's.

Sad isn't it.

Very good point W

I am similarly amazed

Il get angry, frustrated, swear and continue to support. One thing il never do is boo my team off. I dont have that in me.

I can really understand why most supporters would though. That performance was insipid and disgraceful.

I booed. I turn up every week, go interstate sometimes too and after 7 years of delivering putrid, horror performances, they still continue and even under Paul Roos.

Absolute silence, as JJC suggests, does bugger all. It doesn't show that there's passion, it doesn't show that there's pride, it doesn't show there's pain. I'd beg to differ that booing a team off is booing the jumper. That argument holds no water at all. You're clearly booing the blokes that just defiled the jumper and the club. Show us you're giving your all, otherwise you won't get any encouragement from me. Play for the bloody club, not for yourselves.

I booed. I turn up every week, go interstate sometimes too and after 7 years of delivering putrid, horror performances, they still continue and even under Paul Roos.

Absolute silence, as JJC suggests, does bugger all. It doesn't show that there's passion, it doesn't show that there's pride, it doesn't show there's pain. I'd beg to differ that booing a team off is booing the jumper. That argument holds no water at all. You're clearly booing the blokes that just defiled the jumper and the club. Show us you're giving your all, otherwise you won't get any encouragement from me. Play for the bloody club, not for yourselves.

You booed Nathan Jones.

Well done.

You booed Nathan Jones.

Well done.

I booed the team. Yes. They were responsible for dragging our club through the [censored]. I'm not often sensationalist, but I'm bloody sick and tired of MFC teams serving up tripe. Paying members, who rock up every week deserve better. What's more, Jones was a part of that team. He may have earned a number of possessions, but when it came down to it, did he stamp his authority and leadership on the game? I didn't see enough.

http://www.nytimes.com/2010/02/05/sports/football/05bag.html

http://online.wsj.com/news/articles/SB10001424127887324374004578219433316431470

Maybe we could do what the New Orleans Saints (Aints) supporters did in the 80's, wonder what purple would make of that and how would it look to those doyens of integrity the AFL.

My brother and I were seriously considering this earlier in the year.

Not meant as a mean comment, but gee that sounds just like it could have come from the pen of Red Sovine.

I don't like the idea of booing your own team.

Remember, you're booing the guys who gave their guts(eg N Jones), as well as the ones you thought didn't try.

You're booing the jumper and the club in general.

Do booers really think the players will try harder next week because they boo them as they come off the field?

I reckon it's best just to shut up.

Absolute silence as they leave the field is enough.

N Jones and those who have a dip should line those who don't up against a wall and [censored] slap the bejeezes out of them with the promise if they don't try harder next week they'll receive the same treatment.

Why wouldn't they be trying with many of them with their jobs on the line? No mate, they tried but are not good enough, Surely you are not suggesting that dreadful T word?

Disagree. We dont have talent. But you don't need talent to run, tackle and put pressure on oppornents. Its about intent and we gave up. It was pathetic. the third quarter was a train crash.

They didn't try. Watch the replay. Watch what happens when we have the ball. Static. No movement. Nothng to do with talent.