Posted

I don't remember Roos saying anything about who we will or won't be taking.

It's another thread from the pie night. I'm happy to be corrected but I believe he said they won't take Wright and then stopped short of elaborating.

Posted

Seems strange that roos would focus on a kid and say we are not taking him. Anything he says he will be pounced upon and we all know the crappila footy journos are so devoid of any original ideas they get their leads from Demonland.

Reckon it might have been thrown out as a smokescreen? As in we really want wright at 2? I am not a smart man so have not worked through how this smokescreen would actually help us though!

What do we think? Would roosy be playing cloak and daggers with comments like the Wright one or not ?

Posted

Seems strange that roos would focus on a kid and say we are not taking him. Anything he says he will be pounced upon and we all know the crappila footy journos are so devoid of any original ideas they get their leads from Demonland.

Reckon it might have been thrown out as a smokescreen? As in we really want wright at 2? I am not a smart man so have not worked through how this smokescreen would actually help us though!

What do we think? Would roosy be playing cloak and daggers with comments like the Wright one or not ?

Can't imagine him playing cloak and daggers at a pie night. He's not the mind games type.

Glad I'm not making the draft picks. Happy to sit back, leave it to the experts and see what happens.

Posted

Wouldn't mind picking up O'Keefer as a delisted free agent.

Wouldnt mind picking up Wagner from the recruit.

Oh wait he gets to choose where he goes. Anotber freebie to a power club coming up.

Posted

Oh wait he gets to choose where he goes. Anotber freebie to a power club coming up.

That is the biggest joke ever. How can they honestly justify letting a player go wherever he likes? Surely he should be made to go in the draft like any normal player.

This competition is becoming such a disgrace that the only thing keeping me watching games is my loyalty to the Dees. And that is becoming very tiresome.

Posted

Wouldn't mind picking up O'Keefer as a delisted free agent.

34 and hasn't played an AFL game this year. Was never quick. We need pace. Pass.

Posted

34 and hasn't played an AFL game this year. Was never quick. We need pace. Pass.

Yep, I'm really surprised by how much support this trade has received. Surely Roos wouldn't go down this path. An O'Keefe style player, however, would be nice.

In completely unrelated news, does anyone know Matt Taberner's contract status? Saw him first hand at the Gabba on Sunday and was super impressed.

Posted

I like the look of him, from the start I thought he had the best attributes to win it and make a fist of been an AFL footballer. But wouldn't be rather choose a lowly ranked side ? What's the chances of him cracking a game at a top 4 or top 8 side ? He'd be much better of picking us, GWS or st.kilda where he could get a look in

Posted

From the boys I have seen at WAFL level

Conor Blakely - if available at our second round pick, good solid bodied mid who likes to go in and find the ball, disposal is good

Shane Nelson - very light player but great endurance and knows how to find the footy, could be worth a rookie pick

Stephen Payne - Mature age player at East Perth (early 20's) has had an excellent year and been their best player in a side loaded with Meth Coast players, probably the best mature age pick available in WA

Dylan Winton - defender about 192cm really like his positioning and reading of the play but lacks size to be a KPD, has scope as a 3rd/4th tall similar to Rivers

Tyler Keital - going to go in 2nd or 3rd round can play forward or back, knows how to take a mark and was the WA U/18 swing man, is very good down low for a big guy and it is not beyond the realms of possibility that he could develop into a midfield type

Tom Shanahan - good skills, good pace off the mark which allows him to create that gap in the race for the ball, very good inside and developed his tackling and goal kicking ability. Adapts to the tempo of the games at the next level fairly quickly, worth a late pick or a rookie at the very least.

Clem Smith - just loves the hard staff, some discipline issues which sees him giving away a lot of silly free kicks, but good user of the ball and composed in traffic

Posted

From the boys I have seen at WAFL level

Conor Blakely - if available at our second round pick, good solid bodied mid who likes to go in and find the ball, disposal is good

Shane Nelson - very light player but great endurance and knows how to find the footy, could be worth a rookie pick

Stephen Payne - Mature age player at East Perth (early 20's) has had an excellent year and been their best player in a side loaded with Meth Coast players, probably the best mature age pick available in WA

Dylan Winton - defender about 192cm really like his positioning and reading of the play but lacks size to be a KPD, has scope as a 3rd/4th tall similar to Rivers

Tyler Keital - going to go in 2nd or 3rd round can play forward or back, knows how to take a mark and was the WA U/18 swing man, is very good down low for a big guy and it is not beyond the realms of possibility that he could develop into a midfield type

Tom Shanahan - good skills, good pace off the mark which allows him to create that gap in the race for the ball, very good inside and developed his tackling and goal kicking ability. Adapts to the tempo of the games at the next level fairly quickly, worth a late pick or a rookie at the very least.

Clem Smith - just loves the hard staff, some discipline issues which sees him giving away a lot of silly free kicks, but good user of the ball and composed in traffic

Really like Blakely's work for WA, wouldn't be surprised to see him go late first round. Good size for an inside mid.

Saw Keitel kicked 8 on the weekend. Be surprised if he gets out of the second round.

What are your thoughts on Ryan Lim? What I've seen of him reminds me a bit of Kade Simpson.

Posted (edited)

Really like Blakely's work for WA, wouldn't be surprised to see him go late first round. Good size for an inside mid.

Saw Keitel kicked 8 on the weekend. Be surprised if he gets out of the second round.

What are your thoughts on Ryan Lim? What I've seen of him reminds me a bit of Kade Simpson.

There was a scout from the club at the East perth colts game who had a detailed chat with their coach after the game, so I'd say Keital is on the radar

Lim is a good kid not a bad size and has what I would call decent pace but not exceptional, although may have the ability to build a tank. Problem with Lim, Bradley Walsh, Hardisty and a lot of other WA boys are very vanilla and will be good solid players but lack that x-factor.

And Spirit of Norm Smith in regard to Pickett I think he is a big risk with a first round pick. His highlight reel is going to be very impressive, but I have watched him a bit and he goes missing for long periods during games, very good when he is on the move but can be caught flat footed a lot and certainly lacks hardness which for me is a concern at the next level

Edited by Pennant St Dee
Posted

Word is gws is keen on petracca would we do/would they accept pick 2 for there first pick which will be either 3 or 4 and there compo pick 20 and the there 2nd round pick 23

So we get 3 picks under 25 and the get petracca

I would do it

Posted

Word is gws is keen on petracca would we do/would they accept pick 2 for there first pick which will be either 3 or 4 and there compo pick 20 and the there 2nd round pick 23

So we get 3 picks under 25 and the get petracca

I would do it

So let me get this right..

GWS receive: pick 2

Melbourne receive: pick 3, pick 20, pick 23

Why on earth would GWS do that??

Posted

What they should do is take Blease off our hands for pick 20, and in return we take someone else with pick 2/3.

But they should really be dealing with the saints, and if I was the saints I'd be saying I really want petranca

Posted

What they should do is take Blease off our hands for pick 20, and in return we take someone else with pick 2/3.

But they should really be dealing with the saints, and if I was the saints I'd be saying I really want petranca

blease is not worth pick 120

Posted

3 rumors I heard today:

Frost to Dees

O'Rourke to St Kilda

K . Jaksch to Carlton

My mate reckons Dees next chance at winning a flag is when he'll freezes over....

Getting Frost to Dees might speed this along :)

Posted (edited)

At the Pie Night Roosy spoke about how the Rules in the Tac Cup worked well in the favour of the big talls - something about how teams aren't allowed to flood or double team and that they are generally a good 10cms taller than their opponent. Basically he suggested you can't get a good read on a tall player who's killing it in the TAC Cup because he's not playing in 'like on like' conditions - whereas a midfielder in the TAC Cup is a lot easier to read and project their potential as they are essentially playing under mirrored AFL conditions against their 'like' opponents.

This is why he said he wouldn't be using a 'top' pick on a prospective tall as it was still a gamble - whereas a top pick on a midfielder was a safer option.

I'd never heard that philosophy before but I remember hearing it and thinking how simple it was and yet I'd never considered it.

Edited by Eyes on Red & Blue
Posted

Yeah that's a good point. I'm no draft expert but from what I see a high percentage of players that come out of the TAC Cup into the AFL system seem to be midfielders - obviously with your key position players in the mix throughout, but they don't seem to convert into AFL players at the same rate. So I think a prospective AFL quality tall forward might be playing on a quality tall back only every other week. Hence why Roosy feels he doesn't get a great read on them.

Posted

At the Pie Night Roosy spoke about how the Rules in the Tac Cup worked well in the favour of the big talls - something about how teams aren't allowed to flood or double team and that they are generally a good 10cms taller than their opponent. Basically he suggested you can't get a good read on a tall player who's killing it in the TAC Cup because he's not playing in 'like on like' conditions - whereas a midfielder in the TAC Cup is a lot easier to read and project their potential as they are essentially playing under mirrored AFL conditions against their 'like' opponents.

This is why he said he wouldn't be using a 'top' pick on a prospective tall as it was still a gamble - whereas a top pick on a midfielder was a safer option.

I'd never heard that philosophy before but I remember hearing it and thinking how simple it was and yet I'd never considered it.

He's right. Watts dominated the TAC cup purely from height advantage.