Bombers scandal: charged, <redacted> and <infracted>

Posted (edited)

A 3 point win is better than a 100 point win.

OK, make that a 4 point win!

Edited by Green Demon

Posted

Another week on the "good stuff" and Essendon would have won that easy.

Posted

bomber is the coolest mofo going around, how can you hate them over say a Carlton or Fremantle

You find him cool: I find him unbearably smug.

Another week on the "good stuff" and Essendon would have won that easy.

Or maybe the lasting effects enabled them to make the comeback ???

Posted

Good God Essendrug are in front!!

There is officially no justice on this planet

There never was going to be any WYL. Chappy must have been the sweetner in the points deduction deal with the AFL. Nice outcome for the bongers i feel.

First time i have EVER cheered a Whorethorn win!!!

And ditto mate.... and that's saying something as i hate both teams with a passion

Posted

As a player Hird had the utmost respect from me. All now undone!

I have never witnessed in playing and following the game for over 50 years that a single person is bigger than the whole football organisation.

I wholeheartedly agree

Posted

anyone know what thymosin colostrum and tribulus are? and if they are banned?

tribulus has been around for decades as a testosterone enhancer, also used in male aphrodisiacs. If memory serves its from the bark of an african tree.

thymosin is new to me, but it sounds familiar. >>> here some background on thymosin, {http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Thymosins} & then further on thymosin colostrum.

Posted

A pleasure to see those cheating bastards beaten at the death.

Posted

I agree, the fact that wowoedin won a brownlow while using Charter only rasies the eye brow slightly higher. If I was a supicious man (which I am) I would look at Hirds career with a level of scepticism (which I do) and wonder what was used while the ASADA/WADA regime was in its infancy compared to the available science.

i have the feeling I remember Hird may have met charter after he had a chronic injury, foot or something, that he was struggling to overcome.

Posted

Joe Danniher ACL??

Go play in traffic, what a miserable thing to wish for a very young man. I loathe Essendon, think if the charges are proved they should be suspended as a club for two years, but wishing injuries is just wrong.

Posted

tribulus has been around for decades as a testosterone enhancer, also used in male aphrodisiacs. If memory serves its from the bark of an african tree.

thymosin is new to me, but it sounds familiar. >>> here some background on thymosin, {http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Thymosins} & then further on thymosin colostrum.

I understood that Melanotan II was at least as efficacious, more so in fact

Posted

Not with a Bung ACL he wouldn't....I wish those cheats nothing.

Why would you even fantasise about a player, any player regardless of who he is incurring such a terrible injury?

Officials at the Club should be hung for the drugs program but you think its justice that a young player who was not even at the Club when the program happened to have an ACL.

As others have pointed out your repeated references to Essendrug are not witty but juvenile as well

Rivals in appropriateness and poor judgment Bubs appalling Jospeh Mengele analogy raised earlier in the thread.....but I doubt you'd understand why.

Posted

Go play in traffic, what a miserable thing to wish for a very young man. I loathe Essendon, think if the charges are proved they should be suspended as a club for two years, but wishing injuries is just wrong.

Exactly.

And the player was not at the Club when the program happened.

Posted

bomber is the coolest mofo going around, how can you hate them over say a Carlton or Fremantle

You find him cool: I find him unbearably smug.

hes pretending,we did the same thing when 16 yo to impress girls,pretending and hoping that is.

bomber is doing it at 50 yo to impress young men playing footy.{think about how sad that is}.

hes not cool,hes nothing but pretending,very sad.

Posted

I agree with other posters about not wishing ill against Essendon players particularly in this thread where the focus really should be on the programme instituted by the Essendon Football Club and its servants and agents including Hird and Dank. They should not be allowed to get away with it, nor any player found to have benefitted by taking prohibited drugs. While I am strongly of the opinion that many of their players directly benefitted from their drugs regime (and possibly continue to do so to this very day as a result of its implementation in 2012) some of the comments above are plain stupid. If anything, the Bombers should be congratulated for their fine performance against the reigning premiers. If only, we could be so competitive against the same standard of opposition on a regular basis.

Posted

I agree with other posters about not wishing ill against Essendon players particularly in this thread where the focus really should be on the programme instituted by the Essendon Football Club and its servants and agents including Hird and Dank. They should not be allowed to get away with it, nor any player found to have benefitted by taking prohibited drugs. While I am strongly of the opinion that many of their players directly benefitted from their drugs regime (and possibly continue to do so to this very day as a result of its implementation in 2012) some of the comments above are plain stupid. If anything, the Bombers should be congratulated for their fine performance against the reigning premiers. If only, we could be so competitive against the same standard of opposition on a regular basis.

Competitively drug free, of course.

Posted

Why would you even fantasise about a player, any player regardless of who he is incurring such a terrible injury?

Officials at the Club should be hung for the drugs program but you think its justice that a young player who was not even at the Club when the program happened to have an ACL.

As others have pointed out your repeated references to Essendrug are not witty but juvenile as well

Rivals in appropriateness and poor judgment Bubs appalling Jospeh Mengele analogy raised earlier in the thread.....but I doubt you'd understand why.

I have an idea that he was about the club in the same manner that Jack Viney was around Melbourne i.e. father son with permission of the AFL.

If so, one can only hope that they may have left the kid alone.

Posted

While I agree with many of your sentiments here, on what basis are judging that the drugs regime benefited the players back in 2012 and continues to do so today?

The program appears to have commened in early 2012 and the dubious elements were halted with the departure of Robinson and Dank in August 2012, the results during that time under Robinson (and Dank) was dubious at best...soft tissue injuries and performance fade outs in the 2nd half of the season.

It's now over 18 months since the supplements program has gone and if anything the fallout and uncertainty from the program would have been a net detraction for the players. In fact many of them are wondering what benefits it did bring. How could a short term program of no more than 7 months in duration be able to deliver "benefits" to participants 18 months after the last program supplement was given?

Posted

I think the AFL should be congratulated for ensuring that half the team didn't receive infraction notices, quarantining the issue to last season only, enabling Essendrug to field a full team (along with recruiting multi premiership experience in Chappy and Captain playing, who publicly admitted taking said banned substance) and are still kicking ass this year.

Congrats to Vlad and co.

Posted

While I agree with many of your sentiments here, on what basis are judging that the drugs regime benefited the players back in 2012 and continues to do so today?

The program appears to have commened in early 2012 and the dubious elements were halted with the departure of Robinson and Dank in August 2012, the results during that time under Robinson (and Dank) was dubious at best...soft tissue injuries and performance fade outs in the 2nd half of the season.

It's now over 18 months since the supplements program has gone and if anything the fallout and uncertainty from the program would have been a net detraction for the players. In fact many of them are wondering what benefits it did bring. How could a short term program of no more than 7 months in duration be able to deliver "benefits" to participants 18 months after the last program supplement was given?

Hi Rhino. Try reading my post again. I made no judgement but simply used the word "possibly" which means that there could be a possibility that players who were injected with a huge number of doses of these supposedly unknown substances that might have included human growth hormones could have long lasting effects. We don't exactly know because according to the Essendon Football Club the dog ate their homework.