• PODCAST LIVE @ 8:30pm      

Call: 03 9016 3666 or Skype: Demonland31
    Click Here for LIVE Chat
    If you still want to browse Demonland
    while listening to the Podcast
    choose pop up player below

TuneIn    Opens in New Tab

Demonland has made the difficult decision to not permit this platform to be used to discuss & debate the off-field issues relating to the Melbourne Football Club including matters currently being litigated between the Club & former Board members, board elections, the issue of illicit drugs in footy, the culture at the club & the personal issues & allegations against some of our players & officials ...

We do not take these issues & this decision lightly & of course we believe that these serious matters affecting the club we love & are so passionate about are worthy of discussion & debate & I wish we could provide a place where these matters can be discussed in a civil & respectful manner.

However these discussions unfortunately invariably devolve into areas that may be defamatory, libelous, spread unsubstantiated rumours & can effect the mental health of those involved. Even discussion & debate of known facts or media reports can lead to finger pointing, blame & personal attacks.

Our moderating team are all volunteers & cannot moderate the forum 24/7 & as a consequence problematic content that contravenes our rules & standards may go unnoticed for some time before it can be removed.

PREGAME: Rd 17 vs St. Kilda

3 hours ago, NeveroddoreveN said:

Maybe if his coach was professional, it would be recipricated

I don't know what your deal is, but I'm heartily sick of sick of the complete lack of respect you, and some others, show the coach of the football team i love and support.

I'm putting you on ignore because I'm sick of my team being attacked on a forum I post on because supposedly it is dees 'fan' forum.

Unnessesarily harsh

1 hour ago, loges said:

There is a former prominent poster banished/defected to Big Footy who's claiming Tomlinson won't be seen again due to a very poor attitude.

I doubt it's true but if ai were Tommo, I reckon I'd be annoyed for being dropped.

Tomlinson has a year to run on his contract.  He is a depth player (horrible phrase btw).  He will get games again.

He may be disappointed but that is a far cry from suddenly having the 'very poor attitude'  claimed by the ex Dl, now bf poster.  That comment has resulted in discussion of, if he has 'downed tools!!

We need to stop jumping at shadows and piling on players, coaches or the club every time someone posts some random rumour. 

Edited by Lucifers Hero

7 minutes ago, BDA said:

Do you reckon spargs should have spat the dummy when he was dropped? Or smith. Or any other player who gets dropped. 

Neither of them have been in good form, so my answer would be no they probably saw it coming.

Tomlinson on the other hand would have been utterly shocked after one of his best performances in red and blue.  We have not won since he was dropped.

i will ask you a question in all seriousness...Do you think Spargo has done anything to get back into the team?

Or BB/Harmes/Melksham over Tomlinson for their form?

2 minutes ago, Lucifers Hero said:

Tomlinson has a year to run on his contract.  He is a depth player (horrible phrase btw).  He will get games again.

He may be disappointed but that is a far cry from suddenly having the 'very poor attitude'  claimed by the ex Dl, now bf poster.  That comment has suddenly discussing if he has 'downed tools!!

We need to stop jumping at shadows and piling on players, coaches or the club every time someone posts some random rumour. 

LN must be reading this thread right now and loving it - 'i can manipulate the DL sheeple even when i don't post!

• Haha 5

19 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

That's actually a lie.

Pre knee injury in 2021 there prominent stat that he was the number 1 defender in the whole league who hadn't lost a one on one contest.

Had he not done his knee then he was well on his way to being a premiership player.

I'm very reluctant to believe what's being said on the internet especially about someone who's regarded as highly professional and a potential assistant coachbin waiting (Alex Neal-Bullen's words)

True regarding internet. This could all be completely untrue.

When I say bad games I’m referring to this season. Pre injury he was fantastic. I remember the game Hawkins elbowed Steven May. Thommo went to Hawkins and was magnificent. Held Hawkins as well as any defender.

1 hour ago, BigFez said:

(This probably has its own thread somewhere) I hate to say it but I'm really not enjoying the Gawn Grundy setup.  Both are average forwards at best, so when one is in the ruck, you have a pretty useless player to stick somewhere.  Gawn's impact on games has gone through the floor, and I don't think Grundy has picked up the slack.  I don't think the team or either player is best served by having two specialist rucks in the team.  Doubt Grundy will ever be dropped, but I'd love to see JVR pinch hitting and having Max playing the same ruck minutes as he always has.  Feel like he's a wasted resource at the moment.  Just my opinion.

It's a fair call. Max is often a great barometer of a game. When he's doing ok to well, we often are.

His season this year mirrors pretty much the teams. 

He missed a lot of footy with his injury but that's no longer an excuse.

In any case we have had a lot of players play well below their best this year.

Even with a suspect fwd line we still beat the pies. We have the ability and talent still. But we seem to lack the hunger at times.

Oliver in and we may have quite easily had another two wins.

Fritta out now is a huge loss.

I don't think we will finish top four .

Edited by leave it to deever

9 minutes ago, NeveroddoreveN said:

Neither of them have been in good form, so my answer would be no they probably saw it coming.

Tomlinson on the other hand would have been utterly shocked after one of his best performances in red and blue.  We have not won since he was dropped.

i will ask you a question in all seriousness...Do you think Spargo has done anything to get back into the team?

I highly doubt Tomlinson would have been utterly shocked that Petty, premiered defender Petty, who was playing in the team until injured, was picked ahead of him.

my opinion on who gets dropped or not doesn’t matter. And thommos opinion or any other players opinion doesn’t count either. The coach makes the call. He’ll be judged on his team selections come seasons end. 

16 minutes ago, leave it to deever said:

Not having a crack at you Bfa , but do we know for sure that this is even true?

I’ve no idea if true or not. Just responding to a post here.

15 hours ago, Roost it far said:

Because we’re an incredibly good side

It’s rest compared to AFL

VFL isn't a rest and a 20 year old with jvr's attitude and work ethic dosent know how to not go 100% in a game of footy. In many ways VFL can be more taxing on the body

10 minutes ago, binman said:

I don't know what your deal is, but I'm heartily sick of sick of the complete lack of respect you, and some others, show the coach of the football team i love and support.

I'm putting you on ignore because I have no respect for anyone who could write the above and I'm sick of my team being attacked on a forum I post on because supposedly it is dees 'fan' forum.

How about you pick another team to 'support'.

The dees don't need 'supporters' like you.

Ok.  My deal is i live for football, i am no less passionate about it than you and spend much of my days talking about my beloved football club.   Because i say anything disparaging about the coaches or the players for that matter, is becuase i am passionate and i care too much if anything.  

If we loved and supported our team all in the same manner it would be a pretty boring forum fwiw.

Your comments show maybe you care too much also.

I am not here to start drama.  Most of the time i am just typing what i think or feel, much less eloquently than others.

To say that the Demons don't need passionate supporters like me who actually walks around in Melbourne gear most of my days is really insulting, just because i don't share your exact views.

Put me on ignore,  if that is what you need to do.  Sorry my posts upset you.

30 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

That's actually a lie.

Pre knee injury in 2021 there prominent stat that he was the number 1 defender in the whole league who hadn't lost a one on one contest.

Had he not done his knee then he was well on his way to being a premiership player.

I'm very reluctant to believe what's being said on the internet especially about someone who's regarded as highly professional and a potential assistant coachbin waiting (Alex Neal-Bullen's words)

Agree with all of this. 

FWIW, LN’s rumour on BigFooty is slightly different to what everyone’s saying here. But it should be treated with a massive lump of salt because of who is spreading it. 

27 minutes ago, Lucifers Hero said:

But was Tomlinson dropped?

Fair chance he would have been told before selection for round 12 he would come in for X number of games to cover X player so there would no reason to be huffy about it, if in fact he is.

He went out for Petty.  It is Petty's spot.  The defence has been very settled since his last game in round 13.

This is the time to bed down our best 22 for finals.  There isn't room for Tomlinson in defence. 

Thing is Luci, before his injury Petty was a forward. So was it really his spot in defence?

Last year I’d have fully agreed with you that Petty was an automatic lock for ohr backline. This year, I challenge that notion. In part because he spent most of his time pre-injury as a forward, in part because I just don’t think he’s been that good this year. 

No doubt Tomlinson was picked as a short term cover option but his form on KB was well above what should be considered good enough to hold his spot. Petty, IMO, should have come back via Casey or into the forward line where he’d actually shown a bit of form vs Hawthorn before his injury. 

7 minutes ago, Bates Mate said:

VFL isn't a rest and a 20 year old with jvr's attitude and work ethic dosent know how to not go 100% in a game of footy. In many ways VFL can be more taxing on the body

Nup.

VFL is 100% a chop out - way, way less intense, shorter quarters and because the stakes are not as high, much more flexibility to manage minutes or for example, give a player some specific things to work on and/or play a different role (which might be about helping him work on specific things - eg sending a forward back to improve his defensive skills - or just to free him up to get his hands on the pill).

See goody's comments about why they ran spargo through Casey after his concussion (precis: the lower intensity of the vfl meant we could ease him back in after what was a bad concussion)

2 hours ago, buck_nekkid said:

A couple of notches?  More like through the roof…. The sky is falling territory

If we do...it just might be

Some random thoughts:

1. I suspect Smith was dropped because his defensive work on Tom Stewart and Nick Haynes was not good enough. Perhaps Melksham has been given that role this week. (For what it's worth, I don't believe in the concept of "defensive forwards". I'd rather 6 attacking forwards causing problems for our opponent's defenders).

2. With Jordon and Woewodin selected, I suspect Petracca may spend more time playing as a forward.

3. I wish people would stop judging players on their disposal numbers. Players are given different roles and responsibilities. Some have the job of accumulating the ball (Oliver, Petracca, the wingers). Others appear to be there to play defensive roles and/or create space for the ball accumulators (Neal-Bullen, especially). If someone is playing a defensive forward role (see Point 1), please don't judge him on how many times he gets the ball or how many goals he scores. Instead, judge his value on whether he stops his opponent. 

28 minutes ago, NeveroddoreveN said:

We have not won since he was dropped- Whilst factual, that is way off the mark and a shocking case of trying to justify an argument whilst also highlighting your total lack of footy knowledge.  Tomlinson was dropped after our poor effort at the Gabba and we won our next two, which by the way had little to do with him being dropped.  Tomlinson missing in no way effected our inside 50 deliveries, it did not effect our forwards ability to get separation(note Petty is a contested mark, not a leading hit up potential forward) and it certainly did nothing to prevent us from being able to give a Sparrow or Petracca more time forward. We lost against Geelong because we were poor with our conversion and inside 50 deliveries when we were well on top. In the 4th we were poor because we were beaten at the clearances and failed in our ability to be able to lock the ball inside our forward 50. We lost last week because again our conversion and delivery was beyond poor.

BB and Melksham over Tomlinson are you seriously asking that question, because at no stage ever in team selection would their magnets have been beside each other for consideration.

If we lose tomorrow it will be because we either don’t win the clearances and fail to make the most of our opportunities with our forward entries or because we fail with our forward press to stifle St Kilda’s ability to run in waves and expose us out the back

Whilst it's potentially the weakest forwardline on paper in 3 years, we generate a lot of scoring shots from our mids. It'd be nice if our half backs pushed up a little more and hit the scoreboard too.

Last week we had Trac kick 0.4, Langdon 1.0, Hunter 0.2, Sparrow 0.2 and Viney 0.1. That's potentially 10 goals from midfield in ridiculously wet and difficult conditions. 

Under the roof at Marvel, I expect us to be able to generate 20+ shots at goal. We just need to kick straighter.

St Kilda over the last 5 games have managed 18 scoring shots against Hawthorn (a loss), 20 scoring shots against Sydney (a win), 15 scoring shots against Richmond (a loss), 16 scoring shots against Brisbane (a loss), 25 scoring shots against the Eagles (a win).

In each game, their opponent has had more scoring shots against than St Kilda, except against the Eagles, where St Kilda managed 8 more scoring shots.

We should get the chocolates here, particularly, if May can blunt King and keep him to a goal or two. Just kick the [censored] thing straight and finish off your hard work, Melbourne. 

47 minutes ago, leave it to deever said:

Not having a crack at you Bfa , but do we know for sure that this is even true?

It's easy enough to find, around page 8 on their changes topic for this round, wether it's true or not who knows 

45 minutes ago, BDA said:

True regarding internet. This could all be completely untrue.

When I say bad games I’m referring to this season. Pre injury he was fantastic. I remember the game Hawkins elbowed Steven May. Thommo went to Hawkins and was magnificent. Held Hawkins as well as any defender.

I think he's had bad games and good games.

To be honest I would even say that Tomlinson has been in better form as a defender then Petty. Petty played his best game as a defender last week and that's now what I want to see from him each week.

16 minutes ago, Pennant St Dee said:

Tomlinson was dropped after our poor effort at the Gabba

Tomlinson was actually dropped after Collingwood game.

You are saying i am off the mark and lack footy knowledge is simply not true,

Last 2 weeks we been dominated by the best intercepting defender...Stewart then Haynes.

Earlier in the year it was no accident that Petty was playing lock down roles on these type guys, and although we were not getting high value goal output. It was stopping the intercept mark and rebounds being allowed to start freely.

24 minutes ago, Pennant St Dee said:

BB and Melksham over Tomlinson are you seriously asking that question, because at no stage ever in team selection would their magnets have been beside each other for consideration.

Not at all what i was suggesting.  Petty forward/Tomlinson back.  

Why didn’t GWS have a banner? Not enough AFL funding? 😂

Lack of experience shouldn’t be a thing. They’ve been in the league for long enough. You’ve been to banner making, DP. It’s a lot of work but it’s not rocket science. 🙂

I also think the game being played in Alice might be the reason. They didn’t have a cheer squad there and maybe they didn’t have enough ppl to raise a banner. 🤷‍♀️ 

Yes and it's not rocket science to take advantage of Demon Army's offer of shared resources either for the Alice game.  Oh well, just another disappointing moment from GWS.

But having witnessed our cheer squad in action, I'm just surprised at the lack of effort.  Good thing we've got the best cheer squad in the league 😁

There was a time back around 1990 or so when we played Fitzroy at Princes Park. Both the club and the cheer squad were a rabble by then (I think we won by 130 points or so) and an hour before the game they asked if they could borrow our new state of the art poles as they couldn't find theirs and had nothing to lift up their run through. 

We of course said they weren't getting within 100 metres of our poles but if they could organise their team to delay coming out of their race by 2 minutes we would lift ours, strip the poles, run over to the southern side of the ground, tape their run through on to them and lift it up in time for their team to break through it. It went like clockwork.