DemonWA 3,941 Posted July 26, 2022 Posted July 26, 2022 14 minutes ago, Billy said: Totally agree it’s amazing that they’re superstars until the talk starts about them leaving Same experts that potted TMac for 'having the turning circle of the Titanic' or Ben Brown for having concrete hands. All of these players are clearly so much better than their understudies at Casey that picking minor flaws in their game is laughable. Talk about not being able to see the Forrest for the Trees. 7 Quote
rpfc 29,019 Posted July 26, 2022 Posted July 26, 2022 Just now, DeeSpencer said: Roughly equal. Gus would be of more value to a team without intercepting defenders (and at least theoretically more valuable as a midfielder if given free reign of a midfield with no defensive duties). McStay doesn’t get much of the ball or do much with it but his ability to halve contests and pressure for a tall are both incredibly valuable to modern footy. Even more so to a side that plays like us. Even more so when the player who did that role for us (T Mc) is nearing the end and battling numerous injuries (although that’s a risk for McStay too). I’m not debating this - it is beneath me. 1 Quote
goodwindees 2,586 Posted July 26, 2022 Posted July 26, 2022 2 hours ago, KingDingAling said: I don’t understand why Brayshaw hasnt Signed All about the $ with Gus. I don’t believe he’s interested in a quick, win/win deal which gets it done quickly and leaves a bit on the table for the betterment of the Club’s TPP. Gus is all about getting the best deal he can. He’s a very confident young man with a big ego who sees himself right up there with Oliver & Petracca. 4 7 1 Quote
adonski 13,235 Posted July 26, 2022 Posted July 26, 2022 4 minutes ago, goodwindees said: All about the $ with Gus. I don’t believe he’s interested in a quick, win/win deal which gets it done quickly and leaves a bit on the table for the betterment of the Club’s TPP. Gus is all about getting the best deal he can. He’s a very confident young man with a big ego who sees himself right up there with Oliver & Petracca. Few too many head knocks for young Gustavo Perhaps we tank for the rest of the year for a better compo pick! 2 Quote
1964_2 2,357 Posted July 26, 2022 Posted July 26, 2022 7 minutes ago, goodwindees said: All about the $ with Gus. I don’t believe he’s interested in a quick, win/win deal which gets it done quickly and leaves a bit on the table for the betterment of the Club’s TPP. Gus is all about getting the best deal he can. He’s a very confident young man with a big ego who sees himself right up there with Oliver & Petracca. Exactly what I took out of his SEN interview 1 Quote
Jaded No More 68,976 Posted July 26, 2022 Posted July 26, 2022 8 minutes ago, goodwindees said: He’s a very confident young man with a big ego who sees himself right up there with Oliver & Petracca. Well both Oliver and Trac signed with the club and got it done quickly. So he isn’t right up there with them when it comes to contract negotiations. 10 Quote
BDA 23,048 Posted July 26, 2022 Posted July 26, 2022 I'll say one thing for Gus, his contract situation isn't affecting his performance. He's been excellent It's a short career. He's entitled to look for the best deal he can. Good luck to him. We'd all do the same in his situation. As long as he puts in a good shift between now and the end of season I'm not going to worry about his contract situation. what will be will be 5 Quote
DeeSpencer 26,667 Posted July 26, 2022 Posted July 26, 2022 16 minutes ago, Jaded No More said: Well both Oliver and Trac signed with the club and got it done quickly. So he isn’t right up there with them when it comes to contract negotiations. If we offered Gus 9 years 900k per year he’d probably sign it tomorrow The question is are we even offering him what we’ve done for Salem and Viney. I’d imagine that’s about the most we can do and it might not even be that much. 1 Quote
drysdale demon 4,837 Posted July 26, 2022 Posted July 26, 2022 (edited) 2 hours ago, CYB said: How the heck does Geelong get to play the Eagles twice? I thought too 6 play other top 6 in the double games? Rigged by the AFL after Chris Scott begged them to and they agreed, to stop him crying. Edited July 26, 2022 by drysdale demon spelling Quote
Foopy on the telly 534 Posted July 26, 2022 Posted July 26, 2022 1 hour ago, DeeSpencer said: I'd be very happy with McStay for Brayshaw straight up. You’ve got to be taking the [censored]. 9 1 Quote
chook fowler 19,763 Posted July 26, 2022 Posted July 26, 2022 There is a bit of grandstanding in all of this methinks Quote
bush demon 2,207 Posted July 26, 2022 Posted July 26, 2022 1 hour ago, mo64 said: Jack Viney was in the same position, and there were plenty of Demonland posters that were prepared to let him go. I consider Viney and Gus as equally important to the fabric of the club. Look what Viney went through. Quote
one_demon 826 Posted July 26, 2022 Posted July 26, 2022 Problem is he wants to play inside mid and that ain't happening with us Quote
one_demon 826 Posted July 26, 2022 Posted July 26, 2022 2 hours ago, DeeSpencer said: I'd be very happy with McStay for Brayshaw straight up. No way! Brayshaw is ten times the player McStay is Quote
layzie 34,528 Posted July 26, 2022 Posted July 26, 2022 Im glad hes trying to get the best deal for himself but for a club like us trying to keep our list together for sustained success that's probably not going to cut it. The fact is you need players leaving money on the table if you want to keep the band together. This is where cap casualties come from. 3 Quote
dimmy 1,308 Posted July 26, 2022 Posted July 26, 2022 1 hour ago, BDA said: I'll say one thing for Gus, his contract situation isn't affecting his performance. He's been excellent It's a short career. He's entitled to look for the best deal he can. Good luck to him. We'd all do the same in his situation. As long as he puts in a good shift between now and the end of season I'm not going to worry about his contract situation. what will be will be All part of the negotiating process. The Club will be trying to screw him $$$ as in a business and he is attempting to utilise any of his bargaining power. He would know Jackson's situation so it is a merry go round . Surely he would not be offered Oliver's or TRac's package but i reckon he would command Viney/Salem equivalent at least. I hope he does not leave but.......... Quote
1964_2 2,357 Posted July 26, 2022 Posted July 26, 2022 2 minutes ago, layzie said: Im glad hes trying to get the best deal for himself but for a club like us trying to keep our list together for sustained success that's probably not going to cut it. The fact is you need players leaving money on the table if you want to keep the band together. This is where cap casualties come from. It’s a tricky one. Salem, Trac, Oliver, Gawn, others have all accepted unders (vs the max offer they could get elsewhere), but maybe Gus feels like he is already sacrificing enough by not playing in his preferred position (inside mid). Might be tough to solve, as the club will be wanting to show some consistency in not significantly revising offers higher, given the sacrifices already made by signed players. 3 Quote
sue 9,277 Posted July 26, 2022 Posted July 26, 2022 What is the evidence that he wants to play inside mid? 2 Quote
DemonWA 3,941 Posted July 26, 2022 Posted July 26, 2022 3 hours ago, Jaded No More said: Well both Oliver and Trac signed with the club and got it done quickly. So he isn’t right up there with them when it comes to contract negotiations. Moved past being Jaded and onto being Bitter?! Quote
jumbo returns 6,744 Posted July 26, 2022 Posted July 26, 2022 3 hours ago, DemonWA said: Eh this thread is just like the Jackson one; Hero 'fans' potting the players skills and value in an attempt to soften their own personal blow if they are to leave us. And what’s wrong with that? Quote
old dee 24,079 Posted July 26, 2022 Posted July 26, 2022 2 hours ago, BDA said: I'll say one thing for Gus, his contract situation isn't affecting his performance. He's been excellent It's a short career. He's entitled to look for the best deal he can. Good luck to him. We'd all do the same in his situation. As long as he puts in a good shift between now and the end of season I'm not going to worry about his contract situation. what will be will be Your first para says it all. I want to keep him. 1 Quote
praha 11,267 Posted July 26, 2022 Posted July 26, 2022 15 minutes ago, sue said: What is the evidence that he wants to play inside mid? Who wouldn't want to play the toughest and most gruelling position on the ground, especially when you're already dominating at AA level across half-back? Duh! 3 Quote
DemonWA 3,941 Posted July 26, 2022 Posted July 26, 2022 10 minutes ago, jumbo returns said: And what’s wrong with that? This thread is 34 pages long. The Jackson one is much larger. 80% of the posts in both of the topics of late are people taking cheap shots and making backhanded comments about 2 current players, both of which arguably won us the flag with their individual performances in the GF. I might be old school, but I think it's unnecessary. 8 1 Quote
Stiff Arm 4,419 Posted July 26, 2022 Posted July 26, 2022 1 hour ago, one_demon said: Problem is he wants to play inside mid and that ain't happening with us Has he clearly said that in the last couple of years? In his SEN interview I heard him say he loves playing across the backline. I wouldn't be so sure that playing as an inside mid is his top priority 3 Quote
Dr. Gonzo 24,467 Posted July 26, 2022 Posted July 26, 2022 (edited) 3 hours ago, goodwindees said: All about the $ with Gus. I don’t believe he’s interested in a quick, win/win deal which gets it done quickly and leaves a bit on the table for the betterment of the Club’s TPP. Gus is all about getting the best deal he can. He’s a very confident young man with a big ego who sees himself right up there with Oliver & Petracca. That's disappointing especially considering the investment the club made in him for little return while he battled his concussion issues. Oliver and Petracca seem to have taken unders to keep the list together, if another player then holds out for more money it can upset the applecart as they'd be thinking "I should've just taken more." Edit - and as much as I love him and his role in the team, no, he is not on the same level as Oliver and Petracca even if he were playing in the middle. Edited July 26, 2022 by Dr. Gonzo 3 Quote