titan_uranus 25,241 Posted August 21, 2021 Posted August 21, 2021 I think it's near-certain we'll be playing on Saturday night next week. Presumably at the Adelaide Oval but not sure of venue yet. Saturday night makes sense - we get the extra day off (Geelong get the 6-day break into the Port game), and they can play 5 v 8 on the Sunday which means that winner, and the winner of Sydney v GWS on Saturday afternoon, gets a six-day break into the semis. https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/afl-finals-fixture-2021-afl-finals-2021-who-plays-who-schedule-bracket-dates-venues-times-tv-how-it-works/news-story/fdf43203d959093c4a6d440cce2785c1 Quote
chookrat 4,268 Posted August 21, 2021 Posted August 21, 2021 Can we nominate Traeger Park for our home final? We tend to play well there, it would be a great way to celebrate our work with the community and we could potentially earn the $800k we lost earlier this year from the NT Government. 11 3 Quote
Nascent 9,345 Posted August 21, 2021 Posted August 21, 2021 15 minutes ago, chookrat said: Can we nominate Traeger Park for our home final? We tend to play well there, it would be a great way to celebrate our work with the community and we could potentially earn the $800k we lost earlier this year from the NT Government. Not one of the 'sterile corridors' allegedly. Would have to be played in either SA, WA, tassie or Queensland 1 1 Quote
Nascent 9,345 Posted August 21, 2021 Posted August 21, 2021 So as it stands week 1 will be this. QF 1. Melbourne vs Brisbane QF 2. Port Adel vs Geelong EL 1. Bulldogs vs Essendon/Freo EL 2. Sydney vs GWS If we win we'll go into Preliminary final 1 and will meet one of Sydney, GWS, Port or Geelong Lose and we will be in Semi Final 1 and will meet the winner of Bulldogs vs Essendon/Freo 1 3 Quote
david_neitz_is_my_dad 4,084 Posted August 21, 2021 Posted August 21, 2021 Pretty surreal looking at those 8 teams. No Richmond, no West Coast, no Collingwood and no Hawthorn. 5 3 Quote
Pates 9,695 Posted August 21, 2021 Posted August 21, 2021 31 minutes ago, Nascent said: Not one of the 'sterile corridors' allegedly. Would have to be played in either SA, WA, tassie or Queensland I find it interesting that Tassie are considered an option. Who would actually willingly want to play there? If Tassie are an option than Alice should be as well. But I reckon Adelaide will be the best option, make Brisbane travel and we play AO quite well. Still in disbelief that we’re in this situation. Firstly that we’re top of the ladder at the end of the H&A season, and secondly that finally having achieved this we don’t get our earned advantage. 4 Quote
Radar Detector 1,347 Posted August 21, 2021 Posted August 21, 2021 13 minutes ago, Nascent said: So as it stands week 1 will be this. QF 1. Melbourne vs Brisbane QF 2. Port Adel vs Geelong EL 1. Bulldogs vs Essendon/Freo EL 2. Sydney vs GWS If we win we'll go into Preliminary final 1 and will meet one of Sydney, GWS, Port or Geelong Lose and we will be in Semi Final 1 and will meet the winner of Bulldogs vs Essendon/Freo Expecting we will win next week but to come up against the Dogs if we lose would be at least a little uncomfortable. Quote
YesitwasaWin4theAges 6,815 Posted August 21, 2021 Posted August 21, 2021 (edited) Make them travel to Adel,Bris to Alice shorter trip. The extra day is huge, i had succumbed to playing the Powa on Friday Night but this club has got stones the size of lemons and earn't themselves an extra day. Massive developments for the lads, club and supporters. Edited August 21, 2021 by Win4theAges 2 Quote
Big Col 1,356 Posted August 21, 2021 Posted August 21, 2021 7 minutes ago, Pates said: I find it interesting that Tassie are considered an option. Who would actually willingly want to play there? If Tassie are an option than Alice should be as well. But I reckon Adelaide will be the best option, make Brisbane travel and we play AO quite well. Still in disbelief that we’re in this situation. Firstly that we’re top of the ladder at the end of the H&A season, and secondly that finally having achieved this we don’t get our earned advantage. I'm just trying not to be too upset about the fact that I may not get to see live the event I've dreamed about for the best part of 47 years (I'm 53). 4 4 1 Quote
DeeZee 7,495 Posted August 21, 2021 Posted August 21, 2021 It’s bittersweet not being able to see our beloved team in the finals after being long suffering. I’d go anywhere to watch them but it doesn’t look like the various state governments will let us in. 2 1 Quote
Bates Mate 4,520 Posted August 21, 2021 Posted August 21, 2021 21 minutes ago, DeeZee said: It’s bittersweet not being able to see our beloved team in the finals after being long suffering. I’d go anywhere to watch them but it doesn’t look like the various state governments will let us in. It's getting to Darwin and quarentining for two weeks which will allow you to get to sa/wa/Qld for the prelim and gf an option? Big leap of faith Quote
Demon Disciple 12,529 Posted August 21, 2021 Posted August 21, 2021 5 minutes ago, Bates Mate said: It's getting to Darwin and quarentining for two weeks which will allow you to get to sa/wa/Qld for the prelim and gf an option? Big leap of faith Nice weather up there at the moment. Quote
Timothy Reddan-A'Blew 5,679 Posted August 21, 2021 Posted August 21, 2021 I was there in 88 and 00. With that record, and if tonight's experience is anything to go by, I'll be quite content, thank you, with a stay-away, live-on-telly premiership 😉 4 1 Quote
Gawndy the Great 9,011 Posted August 21, 2021 Posted August 21, 2021 56 minutes ago, Radar Detector said: Expecting we will win next week but to come up against the Dogs if we lose would be at least a little uncomfortable. I’d be more afraid of the Dons to be honest. There quick ball movement is our kryptonite 1 Quote
Chook 15,068 Posted August 21, 2021 Posted August 21, 2021 (edited) 2 hours ago, Nascent said: So as it stands week 1 will be this. QF 1. Melbourne vs Brisbane QF 2. Port Adel vs Geelong EL 1. Bulldogs vs Essendon/Freo EL 2. Sydney vs GWS If we win we'll go into Preliminary final 1 and will meet one of Sydney, GWS, Port or Geelong Lose and we will be in Semi Final 1 and will meet the winner of Bulldogs vs Essendon/Freo Should we win next week against the Lions, then Port at Optus Oval would be my bet. Geelong were fearsome, and I pity any of their opponents in the next couple of weeks. Edited August 21, 2021 by Chook Quote
Demon Dynasty 17,162 Posted August 21, 2021 Posted August 21, 2021 What's wrong with playing our first final at the G?? We've earned that right. Why has everyone caved and pandering so easily to the AFL's interstate nonsense? If we win that one we should also be getting our Prelim here. And from there IF we get through we then talk about where the GF is played where you would of course prefer a BIG crowd. We've thoroughly earned this choice. Eddie/Jeffrey/Kochy would all be blowing a gasket at the mere mention if they finished on top. Happy to stand corrected but appears to me we might have conceded already? 1 1 1 Quote
Dr. Gonzo 24,467 Posted August 21, 2021 Posted August 21, 2021 4 minutes ago, Rusty Nails said: What's wrong with playing our first final at the G?? We've earned that right. Why has everyone caved and pandering so easily to the AFL's interstate nonsense? If we win that one we should also be getting our Prelim here. And from there IF we get through we then talk about where the GF is played where you would of course prefer a BIG crowd. We've thoroughly earned this choice. Eddie/Jeffrey/Kochy would all be blowing a gasket at the mere mention if they finished on top. Happy to stand corrected but appears to me we might have conceded already? What sort of crowd will they get in Adelaide for Melb v Bris? Surely if it's less than 10k there's no argument to move it 1 Quote
Straight Sets Simon 23,113 Posted August 21, 2021 Posted August 21, 2021 I think we play better at Adelaide Oval than the MCG so I’m not complaining. 12 Quote
Canplay 635 Posted August 21, 2021 Posted August 21, 2021 Got to pick Adelaide Oval. Make bris travel the furthest in quarantine conditions and Goody should shout out to all crows supporters to get behind him and fill oval with red and blue 3 Quote
Cards13 9,117 Posted August 21, 2021 Posted August 21, 2021 7 hours ago, Nascent said: Not one of the 'sterile corridors' allegedly. Would have to be played in either SA, WA, tassie or Queensland So we can choose a Tassie venue, interesting. I like the idea of us choosing Hobart. Over thinking it I’m sure but longest trip for Brissy (ruling Perth out as I don’t think that is an option we’d take), BBB goes well there, we’ve played a few games there in the last few years including a win this year, only the 1 win but we’re not playing North (lols) and Brissy doesn’t have a great record in Tassie. Quote
Bring-Back-Powell 15,527 Posted August 21, 2021 Posted August 21, 2021 6 hours ago, Bates Mate said: It's getting to Darwin and quarentining for two weeks which will allow you to get to sa/wa/Qld for the prelim and gf an option? Big leap of faith Hasn’t the NT come out and said that you need a special permit to quarantine in that state, if coming from a hot spot, and VIC is a steaming hot spot at the moment. Not sure attending a grand final would get you that special permit?? https://www.abc.net.au/news/2021-08-08/nt-covid-cairns-hotspot-declaration-howard-springs-change/100359614 Quote
Cards13 9,117 Posted August 21, 2021 Posted August 21, 2021 7 hours ago, Nascent said: So as it stands week 1 will be this. QF 1. Melbourne vs Brisbane QF 2. Port Adel vs Geelong EL 1. Bulldogs vs Essendon/Freo EL 2. Sydney vs GWS If we win we'll go into Preliminary final 1 and will meet one of Sydney, GWS, Port or Geelong Lose and we will be in Semi Final 1 and will meet the winner of Bulldogs vs Essendon/Freo The AFL is praying Ess gets in without Hawks, Pies, Tigs, Eagles and Crows. Less so this year from a revenue/bums on seats perspective but they want the big clubs in every year. Glad for a shake up this year. Quote
HBDee 376 Posted August 21, 2021 Posted August 21, 2021 Hope we play Bris in Adelaide, then I can attend another Dees game and try and get as many Crows supporting mates along to barrack for us as well! 15 Quote
spirit of norm smith 16,677 Posted August 21, 2021 Posted August 21, 2021 7 hours ago, Nascent said: So as it stands week 1 will be this. QF 1. Melbourne vs Brisbane QF 2. Port Adel vs Geelong EL 1. Bulldogs vs Essendon/Freo EL 2. Sydney vs GWS If we win we'll go into Preliminary final 1 and will meet one of Sydney, GWS, Port or Geelong Lose and we will be in Semi Final 1 and will meet the winner of Bulldogs vs Essendon/Freo My dice roll … it’s a mystery apart from port game fri night. Adelaide oval. ✅ Port v sour Cats sat afternoon. Gabba/Metricon. Swans v Giants. sat night. Adelaide oval (MCG?? magnificent Dees v Lions Sunday twilight. Optus oval 🤣 Bulldogs v Bombers/Freo Quote
Mickey 4,777 Posted August 21, 2021 Posted August 21, 2021 3 minutes ago, spirit of norm smith said: My dice roll … it’s a mystery apart from port game fri night. Adelaide oval. ✅ Port v sour Cats sat afternoon. Gabba/Metricon. Swans v Giants. sat night. Adelaide oval (MCG?? magnificent Dees v Lions Sunday twilight. Optus oval 🤣 Bulldogs v Bombers/Freo Reckon the first three are right. No finals in Perth for the first few weeks because of the quarantine Quote