maximum bob 462 Posted December 1, 2020 Posted December 1, 2020 Fair point Pates. Good luck to him. Quote
DubDee 26,670 Posted December 1, 2020 Posted December 1, 2020 Good luck to you O Mac. I reckon you'll get picked up and carve out a decent AFL career. A change is a good thing I reckon Key Defenders best years are usually 27-31 6 1 1 Quote
Elegt 872 Posted December 10, 2020 Posted December 10, 2020 Hasn't gotten picked up yet. Not a surprise in my eyes Quote
jnrmac 20,364 Posted December 10, 2020 Posted December 10, 2020 6 minutes ago, Elegt said: Hasn't gotten picked up yet. Not a surprise in my eyes Binman in mourning... 1 Quote
Deemania since 56 6,805 Posted December 10, 2020 Posted December 10, 2020 9 minutes ago, Elegt said: Hasn't gotten picked up yet. Not a surprise in my eyes Not a surprise, at all. We all wish him well if footy is his pulse but most also realise that at the pointy end he is not as talented nor as imposing as is required. He played. He played repeatedly and managed four years at the hardest leather ball. That is an achievement few footballers experience. Best wishes, but it is time to move into a lower grade/standard, play more golf, work the farm. Quote
Bring-Back-Powell 15,536 Posted December 10, 2020 Posted December 10, 2020 He cops a lot of crap and he basically played himself out of a career by round 15 when we had to send him to full forward to literally stay out of the way and save on rotations in one of the Cairns games. However, he was quite good in 2017 and 2018 and we must remember that he was the first picked key defender in a final where we held Geelong to just 6 goals. Quote
Demon3 2,541 Posted December 10, 2020 Posted December 10, 2020 When you are a demon you will always be a demon and i liked Oscar, he seemed like a really popular player amongst his peers, the fact remains he was not up to it, just a rung below, had some good games, no doubt about it, but he was not improving, maybe even regressing a bit so it was inevitable. Hope he gets to enjoy footy somewhere, he had done a lot more than most of us when in it comes to playing AFL so good on him. 1 Quote
deebug 1,754 Posted December 10, 2020 Posted December 10, 2020 3 minutes ago, Demon3 said: When you are a demon you will always be a demon and i liked Oscar, he seemed like a really popular player amongst his peers, the fact remains he was not up to it, just a rung below, had some good games, no doubt about it, but he was not improving, maybe even regressing a bit so it was inevitable. Hope he gets to enjoy footy somewhere, he had done a lot more than most of us when in it comes to playing AFL so good on him. Maybe he could play for Cssey? 1 Quote
Turner 1,516 Posted December 10, 2020 Posted December 10, 2020 On 11/30/2020 at 10:04 PM, DeeZee said: Will train with Carlton in the hope of getting picked up any truth to this? is this on the money? Quote
JimmyGadson 3,455 Posted December 11, 2020 Posted December 11, 2020 Hate to say I told you so, but.. Quote
drdrake 3,203 Posted December 11, 2020 Posted December 11, 2020 Will be interesting to see who is on the permission to train list for all clubs. 1 Quote
chook fowler 19,770 Posted December 11, 2020 Posted December 11, 2020 Any person who gets onto an AFL list and gets to play senior footy deserves respect - OMac included. He has achieved more than most. Good luck to him. 16 1 Quote
Bring-Back-Powell 15,536 Posted December 11, 2020 Posted December 11, 2020 4 hours ago, Demon3 said: he was not improving, maybe even regressing a bit so it was inevitable. A good description of O Mac over the last 2 seasons. Quote
old55 23,860 Posted December 19, 2020 Posted December 19, 2020 On 12/11/2020 at 11:22 AM, JimmyGadson said: Hate to say I told you so, but.. Invited to train on with Carlton - it's not over until it's over ... 2 1 Quote
hemingway 7,633 Posted December 19, 2020 Posted December 19, 2020 On 12/11/2020 at 2:04 PM, Bring-Back-Powell said: A good description of O Mac over the last 2 seasons. Agree, the Club showed considerable patience and faith in Oscar, however, there was little improvement to warrant retaining him on the list. He was never going to be a key position player or a pacy flanker. And he was too easily exploited by his opponents. Having said that I hope he gets picked up and has the opportunity to prove people wrong. 2 Quote
BAMF 4,479 Posted December 20, 2020 Posted December 20, 2020 (edited) On 12/11/2020 at 11:22 AM, JimmyGadson said: Hate to say I told you so, but.. Tell us what? Edit: Never mind. Went back through a couple of pages and found out. Mostly agree with you. Edited December 20, 2020 by BAMF Quote
picket fence 18,169 Posted March 3, 2021 Posted March 3, 2021 Mate of mine just rang and said Oscar has been named at CHF for Carlton in their pre season game. Ok, Hope he makes a go of it! 7 1 Quote
The Stigga 1,097 Posted March 3, 2021 Posted March 3, 2021 Think he will be a shrewd pick up for the Blues with Docherty, Williams and co driving out of defence. 3 Quote
DeeSpencer 26,668 Posted March 3, 2021 Posted March 3, 2021 Could've had long odds in November about the McDonald brothers lining up at CHF in round 1 for various sides. Casboult probably gets back to take that spot for round 1 but the Blues may well keep Oscar for tall depth, primary down back but whilst their forwards are injured he's a chance to fill in. I was happy to move on from him but he never got the chance to be a depth player and work his way through the grades with sustained VFL form. 2 Quote
DubDee 26,670 Posted March 3, 2021 Posted March 3, 2021 Best of luck Oscar. is he on the list officially yet? Quote
John Crow Batty 8,892 Posted March 3, 2021 Posted March 3, 2021 (edited) At CHF we may see more of his mobility and versatility which wasn’t so much apparent as the opposition generally kicked the ball long to his opponent and he had to stick to his man. Edited March 3, 2021 by america de cali Quote
Rod Grinter Riot Squad 5,680 Posted March 3, 2021 Posted March 3, 2021 Good luck to him, gave his all for us. 1 Quote
McQueen 17,867 Posted March 3, 2021 Posted March 3, 2021 1 hour ago, Rod Grinter Riot Squad said: Good luck to him, gave his all for us. Very, very debatable.. 3 Quote
Bring-Back-Powell 15,536 Posted March 3, 2021 Posted March 3, 2021 Played a quarter as a ruckman last week against Essendon and looked lost. Needs to play as a full time defender and be given a dose of confidence if he’s any chance of re-establishing himself. Quote
Turner 1,516 Posted March 4, 2021 Posted March 4, 2021 18 hours ago, DubDee said: Best of luck Oscar. is he on the list officially yet? no - cal moore of richmond previously and carlton listed in '20 is also training on and named on the I/C tonight. another tall type 1 Quote