Posted
1 minute ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

Get on Izak Rankine for a Rising Star nom in his debut game. Suns by 103. 

Demonland's server would melt.

Well more than usual.

• Haha 5

Posted (edited)
8 minutes ago, Diamond_Jim said:

Have we ever lost to the Suns?

This is a year of firsts

Three times: Round 5 2014, round 20 2013 and round 7 2013. 

Edited by Ethan Tremblay
Posted

Excited to see Rankine play. He’s probably the most exciting junior I’ve ever seen at underage level. X factor out the wazoo. 

Think this will be a close match but Suns will get up in the end despite us having more scoring shots. 

Posted

Normally I'm pessimistic ... and place a bet on the opponent. Sadly my pessimism has, for the most part, not been misplaced and has regularly boosted my Sportsbet account balance.

FWIW, Sportsbet have the Dees at $1.60, GC at $2.35.

Contrary to my normal practice, I'm not placing a bet on GC. My position may well have been different if Rowell was playing.

While I'm not going so far as to place at bet on the Dees, we could and should win. .

Go Dees.

Posted (edited)

We're under the pump, and Its not just a slump

The media is giving us hell

We cant kick a score, our games are a bore

And Goddy cant coach very well

Its only bad news, our team has the blues

The Demons are playing like chumps

We deliver so badly, our forwards look sadly,

Like their form is down in the dumps

Our mids cough it up when, they shank it so bad then

It lands on the chest of defenders

They run it up field fast, and slot through the goal just

Like we were a bunch of weekenders.

But our time is coming, we soon will be running

On top of the ground with our fitness

Our hero is Burgo, he made made us so fit though

Our stamina soon you will witness.

The Suns are a safe bet, with a list who are young yet

have played very well just of late.

The pressure is on us, its time to respond thus

I reckon we'll win it by 8

(Points)

GO DEES !!!!

Edited by ding
Posted
51 minutes ago, Bitter but optimistic said:

As long as we’re in front !!!!

I would prefer we were in front at the end.

Posted

I'm enjoying the 'smidge' of optimism in this thread.  It's lifted my spirits, and I'm now looking forward to tonight's game.  Long live the Demonland optimists.

Posted

Can Melbourne play a game with some decent skills and concentration for most of the match or are we going to see yet again 4 quarters of stupidity.  I wait with baited breath.

Posted

I’m a Sydney based member, I received an email from the club early in the week to go into a ballot to get a ticket/s to today’s game. I live 15 minutes from the ground so I thought I would apply, only to find out its one ticket per member. I understand the one ticket per member during the finals but this is a game against Gold Coast being played at Giants stadium. Not sure whether this an AFL or club decision but it’s a poor one.

Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, Rodney (Balls) Grinter said:

Games against Gold Coast have historically been positive turning points in our season, so I'm tipping that to continue.  2 and 3 with the team playing a more confident, connected brand of footy and things won't seem anything like as bad as they do right now.

Mmmm, I was up at Metricon last year, with a couple of mates from here in Vicco, geez what a slog that match was. No turning point last year. But, the team does have ability to pull victories out of defeat. Lovely goal by Marty Hore, set up by some hardness from Hunt.

It genuinely feels it wont take much to fix, the conundrum is that it has felt like that for 18 months, so why hasn't it happened early. The amount of I50's means we're not actually getting smashed around the park... which is some light relief.

Edited by Engorged Onion
Posted
3 minutes ago, Engorged Onion said:

The amount of I50's means we're not actually getting smashed around the park... which is some light relief.

It sort of does because the teams that beat us do it by rebounding from half-back.

Posted

A tight loss against this outfit wouldn't be the embarrassment it might have been in previous years but it would almost surely end any chance we have of playing finals once again at a very early stage of the season. Not ideal with six weeks of lockdown ahead of us and most other games being unwatchable. 

Posted

Expect the expected.  More inside 50s. More tackles. More contested possessions. More handballs. More clearances.  More 1%s. More disposals. All key stats. 
Yes these are the stats v Eagles, Cats & Tigers.  Yet not guaranteed of winning. 

why? More turnovers, lower inside 50 conversions, less marks inside 50, low kicking efficiency.  This is where the improvement is needed. Hope we see signs today. 

Posted
1 hour ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

If that were to happen i could picture Glen Bartlett locking the doors then driving to St.Kilda and tossing the keys in the ocean.

Posted (edited)
2 hours ago, Luther said:

Strangely optimistic, I think something might click tonight.

Agreed, there have been quite a few messages about the game style and performances across the field this week, prevaricate by a couple of weeks of the same, but less intense. Messages must be getting through to the MFC hierarchy, to Goodwin and his Company, and to the players themselves - each and all open to some severe and deserved criticism and/or praise as the cases might be. All will be under the pump to perform in a 'thinking man's' game this week. The expectation of atonement for past errors is high from one and all. However, we live in hope - one game of improved performance is not enough.

Edited by Deemania since 56

Posted
31 minutes ago, Engorged Onion said:

Mmmm, I was up at Metricon

It genuinely feels it wont take much to fix, the conundrum is that it has felt like that for 18 months, so why hasn't it happened early. The amount of I50's means we're not actually getting smashed around the park... which is some light relief.

If . What a little word, If we could change 25% of the losing I50’s 

that would translate into far less pressure on our backs and heaps more pressure on the opposition forwards ,....If...

don’t think we will win but GO DEES !!

probably by less than 2 goals just to piece us all off !!

Posted
2 hours ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

Within the club they rate him higher than Rowell. Freak

Posted

Geez it would just be really nice if it all came together tonight. Bit sick of being disappointed in our team and hope we can make it click and build some momentum as we hit our strides in the hub.

This lockdown 2.0 already sucks but if we lose tonight the next 6 weeks will be even rougher for Dees fans if we’ve wasted another season before the halfway mark.

Posted

Inside 50 last week Cats 50 Suns 29. GC bubble has burst. All three wins at home against quarantined sides. Playing away again 

Dees by 28 

Weid impressive with 3 goals and some big marks 

Posted
1 hour ago, Bombay Airconditioning said:

I’m a Sydney based member, I received an email from the club early in the week to go into a ballot to get a ticket/s to today’s game. I live 15 minutes from the ground so I thought I would apply, only to find out its one ticket per member. I understand the one ticket per member during the finals but this is a game against Gold Coast being played at Giants stadium. Not sure whether this an AFL or club decision but it’s a poor one.

I only got one ticket as well, I think its either an AFL, venue or Govt decision. Someone with contacts at the club told me the club only got about 200 tickets for local supporters. Dont know how reliable that rumour is but if true you really did win the lottery!