Posted
2 hours ago, Freak said:

Are we really in a need to rush back Hogan anyway? It's a serious question. He has not shaken his negative attitude and anyone who has played competitive sport knows how profound a negative team mate can have on the rest of the team.  His last 12 games of football he has averaged 0.75 goals a game. UNDER A GOAL A GAME. 

?

Posted

Drop anyone who has had a family member pass away in case of negative energy.Good plan.

Posted
2 hours ago, Freak said:

Are we really in a need to rush back Hogan anyway? It's a serious question. He has not shaken his negative attitude and anyone who has played competitive sport knows how profound a negative team mate can have on the rest of the team.  His last 12 games of football he has averaged 0.75 goals a game. UNDER A GOAL A GAME. 

This is one of the most staggering paragraphs I've ever seen on Demonland, and that's saying something....

• Like 16
Posted
3 hours ago, Lucifer's Hero said:

He has shown great stoicism in very trying circumstances.  

Even putting his family situation to the side, the criticism of Hogan is way off base.

He came back to pre-season in tip-top shape, was arguably the best trainer over summer, had a great JLT series, played an excellent game against the Saints, and was pretty influential against the Blues, even if he did drop a few marks he'd usually take.

All things considered, his attitude, effort and output have been exceptional. 

He'll come back when he feels the time is right but I won't be putting any expectations on him even when he does return - the coming months are going to be incredibly hard for him. 

Posted
3 hours ago, Freak said:

2wmnojo.jpg

• Like 13

Posted
9 hours ago, jackaub said:

Reminds me of a previous mfc player who was into boxing big time and was no bloody good

The "Bool sessions"... Toughened a few Dees players right up...

Posted
37 minutes ago, Glenn Molloy said:

This is one of the most staggering paragraphs I've ever seen on Demonland, and that's saying something....

Well said Glenn.  Freak has never played sport, does not understand footy nor is understanding of life's unfortunate circumstances.  Clearly.

Posted
4 hours ago, Freak said:

Apart from that in fact he is actually averaging 2 goals a game so far in 2017, this is the most appallingly insensitive comment I've seen on here. Or anywhere, for that matter; it's up there. 

Shame.

Posted
6 minutes ago, Deemented Are Go! said:

Apart from that in fact he is actually averaging 2 goals a game so far in 2017, this is the most appallingly insensitive comment I've seen on here. Or anywhere, for that matter; it's up there. 

Shame.

Now that is a very big statement DAG. I don't think it is the top 50 but each to his own sensitivity.

Posted
1 hour ago, Glenn Molloy said:

Freak is an old regular on these forums. This is a normal post for him. He doesn't post much anymore. But when he does you know it will be extreme!

Posted
13 minutes ago, old dee said:

Now that is a very big statement DAG. I don't think it is the top 50 but each to his own sensitivity.

Yeah, maybe not 'top 50' of insensitive comments OD (how does one even quantify such emotional response?) but I just think questioning the character of a young man who has been struggling with the illness and ultimately untimely death of a parent is pretty rotten. 

Posted
9 hours ago, Vogon Poetry said:

I think you've missed the point I was making.  Nobody in footy gets everything right but those who spend their entire life in footy at the highest level talking to other people who spend their life in footy at the highest level will get things right more often, I'd contend much more often, than those that don't.  They are at the top end because they get things right, those that fail to get things right at the top level won't be there long.  They also have much more information.  For example can you tell me how Bernies toe is?  They know, you're guessing.

Yes, this is all very reasonable, and I obviously argued an extreme position to highlight potential reasons the default deferral to the coaching panel shouldn't be accepted as absolute. The sizeable variation in coaches' votes for our match last w/e itself provides another case-in-point. The coaches and fans share the same ultimate motivation, but coaches have additional short-term motivations, such as player relations, contending with the media, and holding onto their jobs. Last year the footy department persisted with Frost in the forward-line, motivated by the hope he would improve there and fulfill one of their needs, while most punters could see quite early on that the experiment wouldn't prove successful and that he was be far better suited down back.

Posted
2 hours ago, Diamond_Jim said:

Thanks fat Tony... I thought that might be the case

As an aside what was the difference with Hurley's positioning in the first and second half. In the first half he was loose in our defence but he seemed far less effective in the second half.

If you have a look at Pedo's goal in the third qtr, Petracca led Hurley out to the flank and the ball was kicked in behind him. Petracca did that consistently after half time and even got on the end of one doing this in the last qtr. clever tactic to get their #1 defender out of the way

Posted
7 hours ago, Freak said:

The Club & Supporters need to show their compassion, which the majority are. Anyone who has watched someone they love slowly dying knows the difficulties & challenges of dealing with so many personal emotions let alone the lack of control of the situation. Its very difficult to not let it affect other aspects of our lives. Jesse is no different. He has carried this burden for as long as he has been with the MFC.

We all grieve differently . Now his father has passed(RIP) & once Jesse begins to heal he will have such a weight lifted from his shoulders that who knows what he can become as both a person & AFL footballer!

Posted
6 minutes ago, leehow said:

Goodwin said not to expect too many changes, so I think it will just be Hogan in. 

I think thats probably right....but who goes out? A tall ( given our ruck situation I doubt it) or a small. Bugg? ANB? JKH? 

Posted

Would like to see Billy Stretch back in the side.  I know his last game was a bit average, but someone suggested he was tired and perhaps just rested against the Don's (I'm hoping that was/is the case).  When he's firing, I think Strech adds a great combo of speed, toughness/tenacity and classy finishing skills.  His last game against the Hawks was a ripper and I'd back him to turn it on again this round.

Either JKH or Melksem to make way for Billy The Kid.

Posted
8 minutes ago, Rodney (Balls) Grinter said:

Would like to see Billy Stretch back in the side.  I know his last game was a bit average, but someone suggested he was tired and perhaps just rested against the Don's (I'm hoping that was/is the case).  When he's firing, I think Strech adds a great combo of speed, toughness/tenacity and classy finishing skills.  His last game against the Hawks was a ripper and I'd back him to turn it on again this round.

Either JKH or Melksem to make way for Billy The Kid.

If he's fit and not horrendously out of form then I want him playing. Not just because of the attributes you mention. There's a select group I want to see games getting pumped into and Stretch is part of that group.

Posted

Would like to see minimal changes this week. We've been making a lot of changes every week this year, some forced and some unforced, I think the team needs to settle for a bit.

Hogan in if he is ready, otherwise not much need for change. Perhaps just JKH out for Stretch. Even then we could make no changes IMO Hogan probably needs another week off?

Posted
Just now, Lord Travis said:

Would like to see minimal changes this week. We've been making a lot of changes every week this year, some forced and some unforced, I think the team needs to settle for a bit.

Hogan in if he is ready, otherwise not much need for change. Perhaps just JKH out for Stretch. Even then we could make no changes IMO Hogan probably needs another week off?

Why does Hogan need another week off? I can't understand why people on here think they know more about what's in the players than themselves. 

If the kid wants to play, he plays 

Posted
41 minutes ago, Wells 11 said:

I think thats probably right....but who goes out? A tall ( given our ruck situation I doubt it) or a small. Bugg? ANB? JKH? 

Oscar

Posted

OUT: O.Mc, JKH, ANB

IN: Hogan, Kent, Trengove

Hogan in if ready. Three tall defenders aren't required against the Hawks (T.Mc, O.Mc, and Frost).

Kent > JKH who needs to improve his game in the seconds.

Granted ANB was able to curb the influence of Heppell, although he needs to improve offensive output. Trengove is in fine form and deserves a call-up.

Posted
41 minutes ago, ignition. said:

OUT: O.Mc, JKH, ANB

IN: Hogan, Kent, Trengove

Hogan in if ready. Three tall defenders aren't required against the Hawks (T.Mc, O.Mc, and Frost).

Kent > JKH who needs to improve his game in the seconds.

Granted ANB was able to curb the influence of Heppell, although he needs to improve offensive output. Trengove is in fine form and deserves a call-up.

We might need 3 tall backs if they bring Vickery in.