Demonland has made the difficult decision to not permit this platform to be used to discuss & debate the off-field issues relating to the Melbourne Football Club including matters currently being litigated between the Club & former Board members, board elections, the issue of illicit drugs in footy, the culture at the club & the personal issues & allegations against some of our players & officials ...

We do not take these issues & this decision lightly & of course we believe that these serious matters affecting the club we love & are so passionate about are worthy of discussion & debate & I wish we could provide a place where these matters can be discussed in a civil & respectful manner.

However these discussions unfortunately invariably devolve into areas that may be defamatory, libelous, spread unsubstantiated rumours & can effect the mental health of those involved. Even discussion & debate of known facts or media reports can lead to finger pointing, blame & personal attacks.

Our moderating team are all volunteers & cannot moderate the forum 24/7 & as a consequence problematic content that contravenes our rules & standards may go unnoticed for some time before it can be removed.

Port Adelaide have been doing this to us for a number of years now with the Darwin game. By always being the away time for that game they are to create the same community hype that we have. 

When the Minster for NT recently criticised the Dee's community engage it was listed in the papers that port would look at continuing there NT relationship.

FYI - port Adelaide have a contact saying they have to play 11 games at Adelaide oval hence why they can't be the home tea 

I have a strong feeling we'll be this "second team" that's already been arranged. It makes sense given we've laid groundwork with China, we have China Southern as a sponsor, and we may well be looking at dropping/being dropped from NT. 

If we can play one in the Alice and the China game I'll be comfortable with that, as long as, and this is important, the AFL schedule the bye for both teams AFTER the China game. 

Logic would dictate it, so it probably won't happen. 

1 hour ago, Pates said:

I have a strong feeling we'll be this "second team" that's already been arranged. It makes sense given we've laid groundwork with China, we have China Southern as a sponsor, and we may well be looking at dropping/being dropped from NT. 

If we can play one in the Alice and the China game I'll be comfortable with that, as long as, and this is important, the AFL schedule the bye for both teams AFTER the China game. 

Logic would dictate it, so it probably won't happen. 

Article in The Sun (I think) today said our response was we didn't know about it and were negotiating for more NT games.

2 minutes ago, stuie said:

Article in The Sun (I think) today said our response was we didn't know about it and were negotiating for more NT games.

I think the same article mentioned Greg Swan sounded reasonably keen for Brisbane to get involved. A team who's struggling financially, has 11 games available to sell and being a Queensland team, makes perfect sense from a tourism point of view.

I suspect it will be one of us, Bulldogs or Brisbane. Hope not us.

Just now, Maple Demon said:

What about St Kilda? Hasn't their New Zealand arrangement faltered?

Just for this year. Apparently they're still in negotiations for 2017 says my Saints supporter wife.

Gold Coast who have the same colours as the Chinese flag should be popular in China. The way our pollies allow for the sale of rural land to the Chinese their flag will have another star on it  which represents Oz. I am all for domination I wish it was the Dees.

I can't believe the bogans from Alberton are saying they love China but won't go there.

We should go there,win,fly back and have another 5-10k new members soon enough.

We should be signing up Chinese supporters.

Does anybody remember how good Danny Seow could have been FFS?

On 14 April 2016 at 5:31 PM, AngryAtCasey said:

I hope not. Given we wont even be getting the gate, the only thing we'd be getting would be exposure to millions of people who could care less about AFL.

Unless the AFL pay us $1000's to do it with a bye the following week, i don't see the benefit.

How does this extra money help us? It seems to me there is a salary cap and the AFL throws money at the struggling clubs in public and probably in private as well. Money isn't the answer.

18 hours ago, AngryAtCasey said:

I think the same article mentioned Greg Swan sounded reasonably keen for Brisbane to get involved. A team who's struggling financially, has 11 games available to sell and being a Queensland team, makes perfect sense from a tourism point of view.

I suspect it will be one of us, Bulldogs or Brisbane. Hope not us.

Most of the talk has been about Gold Coast followed by GWS from what I've read, but Brisbane would make sense too.

Talk on 774 that this is what defines the first and second division in the AFL.

The second division clubs are the ones who get kicked around and told to give up a home game so the first division clubs can live their dreams.

Gotta love Port's attitude. "We're so in love with China we'll even play a match there but not so much that we'll give up one of our games at Adelaide oval. AFL, round up the sad sacks du jour to play us as a home game. Give them an elephant stamp and pay them minimum wage with a bonus for good behaviour."

Lucky for Port they're currently considered "first division".

6 hours ago, Ted Fidge said:

Talk on 774 that this is what defines the first and second division in the AFL.

The second division clubs are the ones who get kicked around and told to give up a home game so the first division clubs can live their dreams.

Gotta love Port's attitude. "We're so in love with China we'll even play a match there but not so much that we'll give up one of our games at Adelaide oval. AFL, round up the sad sacks du jour to play us as a home game. Give them an elephant stamp and pay them minimum wage with a bonus for good behaviour."

Lucky for Port they're currently considered "first division".

It turns pretty quickly though, doesn't it? Only have to look at Port pre-Kosh. 

Port will want to play someone that they think they can beat, no point getting a gig there and having the opposition appealing to the locals more than them. As they like to play us in the NT on our home game they are not likely to want to give that up, so if we did play them a second time it would be their home game, and as pointed out they don't want to waste a home game, so it will probably be one of the northern teams. GWS is probably too dangerous, so are the swans, so that leave Brisbane and the Suns. If I was them I would do some feng shui to make sure the team the picked had less appear to the locals.

I've had a change of heart.

If PJ gets on the phone to arrange a sponsorship from Crown Casinos I'm on board. Free tickets to the game for all their punters, Crown pays the punters air fares on China Southern to Melbourne, and they spray their wads at Crown. Crown comps the punters a Melbourne membership. It's win, win, win. And WGAF if they like the game or not. It's [censored] gold.

One condition however, must be played before bye. Only issue with that is bye time for us is very hot in China. Any other ideas on timing?

On 15 April 2016 at 6:52 PM, Biffen said:

I can't believe the bogans from Alberton are saying they love China but won't go there.

We should go there,win,fly back and have another 5-10k new members soon enough.

We should be signing up Chinese supporters.

Does anybody remember how good Danny Seow could have been FFS?

Not a bad idea of Biffen  signing up $5-10,000 members but why stop there? Why not:

a) create a new class of  Overseas Membersip, giving free admission to all games played out of Australia (China & NZ) & one game in Melbourne;

b) Print leaflets in Chinese and take out ads in the local press;

c) aim for a crowd of 50-60K at the match with all attendees buying a MFC membership to gain admission, wearing their new red and blue Demons scarf  and barracking against Port Adelaide

if this happens (and a few Chinese students living in Mellbourne also join), we may be the first AFL to reach 100,000 Members!

Edited by CBDees

• 2 months later...

3AW just suggested that Port are lobbying for this game to be played as next year's season opener. They want it played on a Wednesday which would give them a ten day break thus alleviating jet lag etc.

Cannot accept that Port are driving this game but are not having to give up a home game...........but we know where we rank in the AFL scheme

Nice to see that Melbourne is devoting our game against Adelaide to the diversity of Melbourne. 
Having seen our stall at the Lunar New Year festival last year and seeing the ad on the website (we are publicizing on WeChat which shows that we are at least making an effort to find out who our demographic actually is), I don't believe we have given up on making the place a bit more inclusive.

Plus, create a promotional video highlighting our trip to China in 2011 with a recreation of the Gawn Yawn and I would say we are on a winner.