Posted

He's had many opportunities to put this issue to bed and still leaves the door ajar. Why wouldn't he just put it to bed once and for all?

Hmmmm

Because he'll be coaching us.

Posted

I'm so confused.

There's really nothing to be confused about... he will definitely not be coaching the MFC next year.

and now that I have committed myself to that view, there can be nothing surer than Roos coaching the MFC in 2014.

Posted

When he was asked whether he had spoken to anyone at Melbourne he said no not since he spoke to PJ 3 weeks ago. He was then asked about Gillon McLachlan and he made some comment about seeing him after On The Couch last week after GM had played a basketball game or something? He seemed to have a slight smirk and tried to change the subject about how GM's team lost by a point.

I dunno, he seems to all but rule it out but then I think if he's not going to coach us, why not just rule it out completely. He all but said he was not interested in coaching us next year but then seemed to contradict it a sentence later to an "at the moment" type answer. I fully get why announcing him as coach now before the President and Board is selected and while Craig is still coaching would undermine Craig which is why it seems to me more likely than not he is a strong chance as otherwise he would just definitively rule it out, no questions asked, money back guarantee.

Posted

its as easy to understand as........

oi8e.jpg

Posted

He's had many opportunities to put this issue to bed and still leaves the door ajar. Why wouldn't he just put it to bed once and for all?

Hmmmm

Keeps us all glued to OTC.

Posted

Next, who ever thinks he will coach us is delusional .

Posted

Next, who ever thinks he will coach us is delusional .

ive already confessed that delusion is what keeps me going!!

Posted

gday Choco

Exactly, I've read most posts on this topic, it reminds me of the Scully threads. Every word getting over anylised. It seems many want Roos purely to create a culture. Has Roos got a gameplan/tactics to suit our list. I don't have any sources, just mates that love this game as much as I do. We are all of the same thinking. Roos drove culture into the swans list. Lyon, Longmire drove the gameplan. The Geelong players were behind their culture change. Choco installed culture into Port, yes it went missing there for a while. His fault or the players? Would supporters be happy if Roos took over and every game we refused to use the corridor. The argument then becomes he didn't have the cattle to play attacking footy with the Swans list as it was. Not that it will ever happen but would love to hear answers to questions from both Roos and Choco such as-

What happens to Col?

What gameplan are you bringing to this club?

What do you do with the captain/captains in 2014

Regardless of who coaches next year the PLAYERS MUST CREATE THEIR OWN CULTURE. The coach can assist in this but can't/shouldn't be there to hold their hands every bloody second.

It's only a matter of time before the tiger faithfull turn on Hardwick. 4 years into a 5 year plan. So they play finals this year. Big deal, anyone who has seen them the last two weeks knows they are stagnant. If Choco is the next best , lets no get caught with our pants down.

Posted

Malthouse said no, HIrd said no, the AFL is backing us 100%

Hope is not totally lost but why would an undecided Roos be better than Choco who is desperate to coach?

Posted

I've been sooo optimistic about Roos coaching. After watching him OTC tonight, the way he answered and reacted to the questions put to him, I believe he is not going to coach us.

I really hope I'm wrong though, loved Roosy from the days he played for Fitzroy.

Posted

Seriously? I thought it was the complete opposite and he refused to rule out coaching Melbourne.

That's exactly my take Clint. He was very cagey with his choice of words, and despite every chance to rule it out completely, he chose not to. He may not be our coach in 2014, but there's no doubt in my mind that he still has it under consideration.

Posted

That's exactly my take Clint. He was very cagey with his choice of words, and despite every chance to rule it out completely, he chose not to. He may not be our coach in 2014, but there's no doubt in my mind that he still has it under consideration.

Keeping options open for Brisbane Lions, I would have thought

Posted

Been saying it all year he will not coach us and when he says he is not interested he MEANS it

Posted

He who doesnt want to coach us, fair enough.

Have the gonads to end a Ruse !!

otherwise quit f'n around , stop playing games, start acting like a grown up.

Theres being evasive, theres being cryptic, theres being cagey...and theres being a tool

Alli want is a decent coach who WANTS to change the MFC into a winning club

I fully understand the idea of hiding behind a commitment but the same said people ought realise a little professionalism wouldnt go astray.

Posted

We don't have a Board yet.

I have no issue with Roos and his position.

We keep asking of him something we shouldn't get.

His commitment should not come until we have a Board, and PJ has illustrated a way forward for the club and the millions of dollars the AFL is about to pump into the club.

We have plenty of time and with only the Lions and the Eagles as possible vacancies we have minimal competition for our Melbourne based alternatives in Eade, Williams, and Craig.

I am happy to leave it for a while.

Posted

you know

A man with integrity, would simply refuse to entertain the rubbish. To meddle and play in the mud isnt a good advertisement.

Posted

The difference between Roos and Blight is that the former won't be given half a season and then shafted by the CEO for his best mate to take over.

Ask Blight what he thinks of Butterss and Thomas, and how he thinks his time at the Saints would've turned out if they hadn't been there.

hmmn, I'm certain of that... Blight is not the type to leave them in the lurch, & was planning the sorting of the list for pruning... the story i heard was the "prune list" was handed over to the players....

Posted (edited)

Llyod - He's (Roos) said no, so move on - unless he has said something behind the scenes

Carro - Get Williams very strongly

Hutchy - He says we are looking for a saviour and we shouldn't. We dont need a saviour and re-build with the right coach from the ground up. Then tried to say we have been terrible forever and Gary and Carro shut him down (I liked that)

Gary - It sounds like he thinks Roos will (links to Hird's comments)

Edited by Dee-licious
Posted

There's something about the seat on that program!

Posted

We don't have a Board yet.

I have no issue with Roos and his position.

We keep asking of him something we shouldn't get.

His commitment should not come until we have a Board, and PJ has illustrated a way forward for the club and the millions of dollars the AFL is about to pump into the club.

We have plenty of time and with only the Lions and the Eagles as possible vacancies we have minimal competition for our Melbourne based alternatives in Eade, Williams, and Craig.

I am happy to leave it for a while.

I agree, rpfc. That said, I wouldn't put it past Richmond to have a brainfade and sack Hardwick and replace him with Williams.