Posted

This is it, no more trades’: Bruce done with stress of moving clubs

By Ronny Lerner
October 17, 2019 — 1.03pm

New Bulldog Josh Bruce was “relieved and excited” to have made it to his third club in eight years, but the key forward hopes he won’t have to endure the stress and uncertainty of trade period ever again.

Posted (edited)

Gotta say, I've had a hard day at the office. Come home on a Friday night and for relaxation I check in on 'Land. 

image.png.eb214413e3a395aa17b6f8f56cf06b5d.png

Outside of Gindervitis and his oversized pants, Dangerfloppa and Riciutto, I can't think of anyone I'd want around the club less. 

Edited by Queanbeyan Demon

Posted
15 minutes ago, Demonsterative said:

What’s your alternative solution? Realistically.

If the club think that that BB or TMac are cooked, the option is to play Petty up forward with JVR, play Turner down back, and have Tomlinson as depth.

And I don't want Bruce getting a game ahead of JVR. JVR might get "homesick" all of a sudden.

Posted
14 minutes ago, Lord Nev said:

A player we "don't require" that played 8 games? (Bruce played 5)

Thought I heard Lamb say the club would facilitate a trade if the opportunity arose. We’re well stocked defensively and would likely free up some cap so it makes sense from an MFC perspective I reckon.

Posted
5 minutes ago, mo64 said:

If the club think that that BB or TMac are cooked, the option is to play Petty up forward with JVR, play Turner down back, and have Tomlinson as depth.

And I don't want Bruce getting a game ahead of JVR. JVR might get "homesick" all of a sudden.

Yep, that is an option. My worry is T Mac and BB can’t play a full season. jVR will play next season but not a full 22 games. 

is Tomlinson or Bruce more value or back up? That’s the question and I trust the club. 

Posted
3 minutes ago, BDA said:

Thought I heard Lamb say the club would facilitate a trade if the opportunity arose. We’re well stocked defensively and would likely free up some cap so it makes sense from an MFC perspective I reckon.

Lamb said Tomlinson is an AFL player and should be playing AFL so they were happy to help find him a team where that was more guaranteed.

Not sure on 'well stocked defensively'. I don't think we have any other depth 'key defenders' really. Smith isn't one, Turner might become one but at the moment he's more intercept type IMO. In saying that, I'm not totally against Bruce to add forward depth, but would rather trade someone like Harmes and get a pick back as well.

Tommo and Bruce are both on the same money, so doesn't help the cap space.

Posted
15 minutes ago, spirit of norm smith said:

He’s played 3 games and 5 games in the last two years

Let me think about Josh Bruce as potentially our new KPF 

Sleepy No Way GIF

We get it mate...you don't want Josh Bruce.

You've only been banging on about this on this thread for the 17353 time.

Have a rest.

Posted
15 minutes ago, spirit of norm smith said:

He’s played 3 games and 5 games in the last two years

Let me think about Josh Bruce as potentially our new KPF 

Sleepy No Way GIF

My word you provide some excitable nonsense; he played 20 games and kicked 48 goals in 2021 and was staring us in the face before he got injured and made it easier for us to control Naughton.

Posted
1 hour ago, Demonsterative said:

Agree!! It’s not like there is much more on the shelf to buy.

Key point here I feel, especially for those banging on about trading in a KPF. You can only trade players who are interested or available to change clubs, and in most years, there's only a handful - and of those, almost none of the kinds of players you can build a team around.

Posted

The trade makes, both had knee issues, both struggling to find their best form since, both playing some vfl, both behind a few in their respective positions ... just don't want to hear 'pony up' used again

Posted
4 hours ago, chookrat said:

Are we collecting man buns as our new list strategy?

looking forward to finally realising my dream as an afl plyaer

Posted

This suggests 2 things to me, either BBB or Tom Mac or both, are more injured than we think, or Goody wants more big guys flying with BBB, Max, Fritta and Tom for the long bomb into the left forward pocket.

Posted
36 minutes ago, Redleg said:

This suggests 2 things to me, either BBB or Tom Mac or both, are more injured than we think, or Goody wants more big guys flying with BBB, Max, Fritta and Tom for the long bomb into the left forward pocket.

BBB has a degenerative knee that’s only going to get worse not better, as reported by the media. Wouldn’t be surprised if he pulls the pin at the end of next year, a year short of his 4 year deal.

I had a laugh at your second point.

Posted
6 hours ago, Sir Why You Little said:

Oh dear. 
is this the gun forward GNF was referring to..?

It will be now

• Haha 16
Posted
4 hours ago, Bates Mate said:

Can't recall a player whose played good footy for their fourth club. I'm sure they're is one????

Tom Hickey

Posted
7 hours ago, Pates said:

Wow, I errrr….wow. Not sure how I feel about this, I mean he was starting to kill it for the dogs before he got injured but…is he the answer to our forward problems? 

A HUMUNGOUS NOOOOOOOO!🤮

Posted (edited)

Judging by the hysteria here, he must be costing us 3 Ist rounders. FFS people.....get a grip!  If he is coming,  it's a low cost strategic option in an area of weakness. Jeeeez!

Edited by Palace Dees
  • Like 13
Posted
7 hours ago, Dockett 32 said:

Pinch hitter with presumably salary benefits if it’s a Tomlinson swap. 
Giant no deal if there is a salary impost back to Bulldogs.

Bruce is on 500k a year so no Salary benefits,  it's a straight swap

Posted
6 hours ago, rpfc said:

Why don’t you take your own advice when it comes to Brown?

Also he kicked 3 in a flag winning side for your club.

Think of what a player can do rather than what they can’t.

Saw that on a bathroom wall somewhere…

I agree! What sort of miserable dog would bag any of the immortals 12 months on. Obsessively weird

Posted
2 hours ago, Wizard of Koz said:

I agree! What sort of miserable dog would bag any of the immortals 12 months on. Obsessively weird

Agreed, it’s one of the reasons I will struggle to have any ill feelings towards Jackson when we play him next year. He helped to break our premiership drought, as did Benny Brown. 

I also think that used correctly BBB has value to the team, but he is not a big pack marking forward. Could Bruce be the same? Maybe, I dunno. For a straight swap for Tommo would it be a disaster to try it?

Posted (edited)
4 hours ago, Wizard of Koz said:

I’m guessing you haven’t read a game day or post match thread this year. Or Demonland or Facebook MFC forums in general.

BBB has been bagged all year up to this point by various posters. So have other immortals such as the likes of ANB, Spargo, Lever, Jackson and Harmes. 

Edited by Bring-Back-Powell