Posted

Hi,

Not one to normally start a new thread, and this could possibly have found it's way into an old Jack Viney thread maybe, but I just felt it's worth giving credit where credit is due.

Jack had a solid year in 2021, but I believe he has lifted even more this year. With his history of foot injuries he has looked slow and his field kicking frustrated me in recent years. I always felt he was well behind Petracca and Oliver and I questioned whether his body had let him down and would he be able to hold down the midfield role for much longer.

However I think in 2022 he's improved significantly, and dare I say it looks quicker and more comfortable running over the turf. Resulting in his output both in running lines and his disposal looking a heap better than I can recall from prior years. He hasn't lost his aggression and love of tackling hitting the player hard.

Whilst his possession count isn't up at the possession rate of Oliver and Petracca, Viney just seems to be making the right decisions in games more often and not, and I wouldn't be surprised to see him right up there in the B&F count to this point of the season, just does the things that the coaches would love!

He's becoming exciting to watch within out team, and that's something I never thought I'd say :)  

• Like 35
  • Love 6

Posted

A player that's clearly benefited from a great pre season which is foreign to him.

He's been tremendous this year, and is back to his 2015-2016 type form. Who could forget his 40 odd possession game in the famous breakthrough win over the Hawks in 2016.

Posted

Been saying the same thing all year, running on top of the ground now that his foot injury has been remedied. Also his kicking has more penetration and accuracy.

• Like 16

Posted

Actually, I am getting tired of the lack of love the media and others are giving Jack Viney. He has been super this year. Even against the Eagles, when the game was stuck in a boring holding pattern for 2 quarters I believe it was Viney getting angry and physical around the stoppages that changed the flow of the game. 

For me it is three things:

1. He is LOVING both footy and the club. He doesn't have to shoulder the weekly pushback of underperforming teammates
  2. His kicking has improved out of sight (actually I wish Petracca's kicking would improve as much)
  3. He is kicking goals.
  • Like 16
Posted

Significantly he’s taking first options more often than not now, and seems to be happy playing in the shadows of Trac and Ollie.

All credit to him for an incredibly mature response to losing the captaincy and becoming more of a team player.

Hopefully the media will eventually take note.

Posted

In his interview with Gus & Gawny (other than chatting about wanting to hurt someone in the Grand final) he mentions that until this pre season he hadn't been able to do a skills session for years because of the need to rest his feet.  He noted how this was affecting his kicking etc.
Kept him mean though.

Posted

His toe taps and knock ons are first rate. He is taking the body around contests but not smashing into them and being penalised, just enough to clear slice for others etc.

He has matured.

Posted

I will never forget the first contest in the 2021 GF -Viney breathing fire absolutely flattens McCrae. I was out of my seat. Brilliant.

• Like 15
Posted

while there was a lot of frothing over a viral photo of him looking incredibly buff during the preseason the most exciting thing about it was that he was WEARING BOOTS for the first time in pre-season training in about five years

he's a heart and soul player

Posted
7 minutes ago, Maldonboy38 said:

I will never forget the first contest in the 2021 GF -Viney breathing fire absolutely flattens McCrae. I was out of my seat. Brilliant.

It set the tone for the whole game! 
I also heard a story that he asked Goody and/or Richo if he could run through someone and get reported 🤣🤣🤣they said no 

Posted (edited)

It’s great to see him reaping the rewards he richly deserves. I think jack is certainly playing the best and most consistent football of his career and dare I say it, most consistent of all our players! I mentioned it in the post match thread, but his bounces on the wing and pass to fritta in the last was one of my highlights yesterday. Also a great leader. And that young Sparra is a clone😜

Edited by Flemo56

Posted

I think freeing him of the captaincy has been good for him - it seemed it was a burden that impacted his focus on football. He is a critical cog in the midfield wheel. He breaks packs apart allowing Trac and Clarrie etc to mop up the spills. I just love what he is contributing.

Posted
33 minutes ago, illbarto said:

he mentions that until this pre season he hadn't been able to do a skills session for years because of the need to rest his feet.

I think we underestimate what's going on behind the scenes with some of the players and injury restrictions.

Great to see Jack getting some recognition on here, was going to add something to the post-game thread. Making a real difference on-field.

Posted (edited)

Summary of some selective stats from Jack's H&A 2021 season vs this season (up to & inc. Round 9)...

The stand outs for mine are...

1.  Effective disposals up a massive 34%

2.  Disposal Efficiency a lowly 60% last season to now pretty much AFL standard!

3.  Uncontested possessions up significantly by 23% (a sign he is able to cover more ground and running more freely?)

3.  1% percenters (ie; ability to impact / effect a contest) up 50%

4.  Rebound 50s (indicator of running capacity & ability to get back & help out in defence) up a massive 142%.  Contrary to this is less inside 50s (off 31%) and less tackles inside 50 (down 36%) which may also indicate a slight role change vs 2021?

5.  Intercepts (again ability to cover more ground and possibly more quickly?) up by a significant 44%

6.  Turnovers down a substantial 26%

Overall weighted score up a very substantial 29% vs 2021!

#7  J Viney 2021 2022 % Change 
CP 10.33 10.88 5.3
UP 10.50 12.88 22.6
ED 12.33 16.50 33.8
DE% 60.32 73.63 22.1
CM 0.00 0.00 -
Mi50 0.25 0.25 0.0
1% 1.50 2.25 50.0
CL 4.33 4.13 -4.7
R50 0.67 1.63 142.5
i50 3.83 2.63 -31.5
T 7.42 5.88 -20.8
Si 4.92 5.13 4.2
MG 266.58 247.88 -7.0
TO 4.75 3.50 -26.3
ITC 2.25 3.25 44.4
T50 1.58 1.00 -36.7
TOG% 77.17 77.88 0.9
G 0.33 0.63 89.4
Weighted Score 3.170 4.084 28.8
Edited by Demon Dynasty
  • Thanks 9

Posted
28 minutes ago, Demons11 said:

It set the tone for the whole game! 
I also heard a story that he asked Goody and/or Richo if he could run through someone and get reported 🤣🤣🤣they said no 

Absolute spoilsports!

Posted

Jack Viney had a ripper final series and with his first full preseason in years has carried this form into 2022. His confidence has grown in line with his improved fitness and recognition from teammates and supporters. Jack is once again that chip off the old block that we all knew he would be.!!!

Posted (edited)

They called Ted Whitten 'Mr Football' .  I reckon that Jack is competing with Steve May for the title of 'Mr. Intensity'.

On a related note, the elevation of Max as Captain was a master stroke for our leadership, however in stepping back a bit to become vice captain, I don't think that has diminished Jack's leadership role at all.  Jack and Max seem to be pretty much the perfect conterballance for each other within the leadership space and in listening to both of them speak, it's clear that there is a strong bond, mutual respect and acknowledgement that together they make up a formidable partnership in leading the mighty MFC.

Edited by Rodney (Balls) Grinter
Posted
3 hours ago, Maldonboy38 said:

A moment so dear in my heart, have we added it to the JV made me cry thread? lb for lb as lethal as any other player going (I do like how Kossie is giving it a nudge). But unlike Lethal not a dog of a player. 

Posted

An improving footballer. Brayshaw and Viney both overcome obstacles early in their career and had to adapt their playing styles. Was great to see them able to do so but has served them well. Viney is hard headed but more versatile than people realize. He is the best 3rd man to have in that midfield, and when either of the 3 rest, they are replaced by Harmes, who is just completely underrated as a footballer, by everyone. There are so many factors as to why we are a great side. Viney will get better I think.

Posted
11 hours ago, Rodney (Balls) Grinter said:

They called Ted Whitten 'Mr Football' .  I reckon that Jack is competing with Steve May for the title of 'Mr. Intensity'.

On a related note, the elevation of Max as Captain was a master stroke for our leadership, however in stepping back a bit to become vice captain, I don't think that has diminished Jack's leadership role at all.  Jack and Max seem to be pretty much the perfect conterballance for each other within the leadership space and in listening to both of them speak, it's clear that there is a strong bond, mutual respect and acknowledgement that together they make up a formidable partnership in leading the mighty MFC.

You’re talking about this, RBG, 😎

E8560207-8EB1-4FB4-A6C6-67D986B2F9F0.jpeg

Posted

Gave him 6 votes this week. The endeavour and work rate has always been there but there's something different about the man these last couple of years. He's sort of got the Clarry knack of knowing how long to hold it and exactly when to release it to our advantage these days.

But another thing I'd like to point out with Jack is his kicking for goal. He's kicked 5 this year and his set shooting routine is immaculate. In the Port game they showed a slow mo replay and he had a beautiful fluid run up, watched the ball onto his foot and even kept looking down after he kicked it. If you can pull up this footage I strongly recommend it, I don't think I've seen anyone keep the head down so long in a set shot routine!