Posted

09CharlieSpargo2021.png

Spargo was one of the team’s big improvers performing his role of the small pressure forward with a reliable kicking foot on a regular basis throughout the year - something of which he had only shown in glimpses previously.

Date of Birth: 25 November, 1999

Height: 173cm

Weight: 71kg

Games MFC 2021: 25

Career Total: 59

Goals MFC 2021: 18

Career Total: 42

Premiership Player

Posted

Doesn't always win a lot of the ball or kick a lot of goals but I reckon Spargo has to be right up there as a player who's always in the right spot. You need someone for an outlet kick from the backline - he'll be there, you need a crumber at the drop of a contest, he'll be there. His pressure is good but he's not the amazing chase down player like Pickett or a crunching tackler, but he'll always be organising a zone and covering off the switch. Has a really good ability to be sagging back in a zone then rush up at a kicker at exactly the right time too. 

Posted

Our forward 50 Salem. You'd hate to be an opposition defender when this lad has the ball in his hand.

Would love to see him get a bit closer to averaging a goal a game, but at least we already have other smalls like Pickett and ANB regularly hitting the scoreboard.

Posted

Spargo was on right from the start. In the R1 win which could be described as dusting off some cobwebs his quality with ball forward of centre stood out.

Posted

Would love to see him swap share a bit of middle time wit Trac.

Have loved watching this bloke always hit up targets thus year.

May not have been a ball magnet but uses it so very well.

Posted

For decades we have been the turnover kings. His kicking to leading forwards is a joy to watch - old fashioned kick-to-a-space and make the forward run to it. And his in play positioning is so, so good. He is such a solid, reliable player who makes so few mistakes.

In 2022, the pressure will be on for him to hold his spot - with Kozzie, ANB already in the 22 and Laurie breathing fire to get a game. At this stage he is a lock, but things can change quickly. 

Posted

Efficient and effective is our Spargs’ reads the play so well and as previously mentioned pops up in all the right spaces and can scrounge a goal out of nothing. Charlie is a quick thinker, good tackler and rarely misses targets, he had a great year and is now  a premiership player. Top effort young man, we are expecting the same result again in 2022.💕❤️💙

Posted
4 hours ago, DeeSpencer said:

His pressure is good but he's not the amazing chase down player like Pickett or a crunching tackler. 

I think Duryea felt one of his tackles. 😃

I noticed how strongly Spargo and Pickett congratulate each other on a goal. Must be some mutual respect and friendship there.

Posted (edited)

Given his stature he must have always as a junior, and far more so at the top level, needed ‘footy smarts’, courage, tackling ability and pressure as well as his obvious disposal skills, and he has shown us particularly in 2021 that he has all of these attributes.  
Great season Charlie, and well rewarded.  Many thanks. 

Posted

Well done. Thought he had a shaky start to the year but improved and was pretty consistent. Needs to keep working hard as will have Bedford & Chandler (& maybe Laurie) snapping at his heels.

I wonder whether he will eventually find his niche further up the ground or in the midfield ?

Posted
59 minutes ago, monoccular said:

Given his stature he must have always as a junior, and far more so at the top level, needed ‘footy smarts’, courage, tackling ability and pressure as well as his obvious disposal skills, and he has shown us particularly in 2021 that he has all of these attributes.  
Great season Charlie, and well rewarded.  Many thanks. 

What he lacks in size he more than makes up for in all the attributes you’ve listed.

Love SpargyPants. 💕❤️💙

Posted

Plays his role to perfection and doesnt waste possession like a good footballer should.

Posted

Charlie was the consummate role player in 2021. I reckon he did everything that the coaches asked of him, in a very difficult position to play, and performed most admirably.  Well done on a great team contribution Charlie!

Posted

Among many other attributes described above, I love how when he kicks a goal, he just wants to get on with things, but whenever a teammate snags one his energy's through the roof!

Posted
On 10/17/2021 at 3:04 PM, mauriesy said:

I think Duryea felt one of his tackles. 😃

I noticed how strongly Spargo and Pickett congratulate each other on a goal. Must be some mutual respect and friendship there.

I noticed that too.

Posted

Charlie Spargo had a great season.

His footy IQ with ball in hand is brilliant. Always seems to make the right option.

The best thing about him is that he plays his role so well in the forward line. Constantly pressuring and helping his team mates.

I can see him eventually playing in the midfield if he builds up his engine enough.

The only flaw is that you wouldn't want him kicking for goal from over 40 metres away.

But as long as he plays to his limitations then he will continue have a long career at the Melbourne Football Club.

On ya Charlie! Congratulations on a brilliant 2021 season!

Posted (edited)

A whipping boy?  Only in the eyes of impatient fans.  In his first year (2018) he played 18 of 25 games including all 3 finals.  Shows how highly he was rated by coaches almost from the day he was drafted.

He may be in our bottom 6 but our best and next best players are so good that our bottom 6 is equivalent to the 6th -12th player in other teams.

He is such a cool cat, rarely gets really animated.  Love him.

Edited by Premiers
Posted (edited)

Really believe we haven't seen the best of Charlie. I wouldnt mind seeing him spend some time in the middle but I guess there's not much room for him. Great goal sense and although he doesn't amass high possies he is always very efficient with his disposal. Runs as all game and for his size is a very strong tackler. Get the feeling he will really hit the scoreboard harder in the years to come. Apologies if I repeat myself  I just realised I posted in this thread previously. Oh well, I guess he deserves the praise.

Edited by leave it to deever