Posted

Just remember, even if we dont win, we are now going to have a GREAT and WINNING club for 10 years.

This year has had many, many highlights. If it gets any more exciting than Maxys after the siren goal to come back from 42pts down against the Cats, I may do a Molly Meldrum and faint!

Posted
6 minutes ago, Damo said:

Just remember, even if we dont win, we are now going to have a GREAT and WINNING club for 10 years.

This year has had many, many highlights. If it gets any more exciting than Maxys after the siren goal to come back from 42pts down against the Cats, I may do a Molly Meldrum and faint!

no, there's absolutely no guarantee that will be the case

win on saturday while the opportunity awaits

Posted

The snow jokes became extremely tedious a long, long time ago, but some would be smarties still trot them out as if they are both original and hilarious.

I just tell people that there's two types in this world - Demon fans and those who wish they were Demon fans.  Alternatively, hit 'em with the good old tried and true "Shut up or we'll increase your rent".

Posted
8 minutes ago, Queanbeyan Demon said:

Basically anything that falls from the lips of BT, Tripple Chins, Lloyd, Cornes, Malthouse, Brayshaw,  Brereton, Ling, Robinson, Healy, Russell, Ricciuto, Doppy Darcy, McLachlan.

Basically, I only trust Daisy. 

Healy tips the Dees by 14 points and jack Viney as the Norm Smith winner

Posted

My alarm in the morning.

Jokes aside talk of Baily Smith's hair as my hair is slowly leaving me aha

Posted
2 hours ago, Damo said:

That’s what I thought in 2006.

5 years later I was tired of hearing “it’s a rebuild season.”

Posted (edited)

That it's been 57yrs since our last flag.

Gotta get this gorilla off our backs.
Do that and more will flags will flow.

Edited by Fork 'em
Posted

Anyone going to use what’s been posted in this thread as part of their drinking game during the telecast? 

Add every time they mention Caleb Daniel’s height, every time they show Gil and every time they mention the lockdown back in Vic and you’re odds on to be hammered by quarter time.

Posted
6 hours ago, hells bells said:

I'm sick of hearing about how brave the underdog Bulldogs have been to get this far.  And how they've had to travel from Tassie to Brisbane to Adelaide and now to Perth.

No one has gone back and reminded them that it was self inflicted and that had they not lost the last game despite leading by 15 points late in the last quarter they would have had the same "trip" that the Demons have had.  

But it doesn't suit Bevo's narrative of us against them.  I just wish someone would bring it up at a press conference.

This, This and This…..

absolutely tired of it. No talk of the fact Melbourne had the same things thrown at them in the season, 8 hour layovers etc …

not to mention, we finish 1st and get zero home ground advantage and have been in Adelaide and Perth as a reward. Where’s that story being written?

Posted (edited)

(from the commentators...)

"Dogs free kick"

Edited by ding

Posted

"Ball! Yes!" from Bulldogs supporters.

And "Fat side"

And anything Brian Taylor or Kellie Underwood say.

Posted
1 hour ago, Fork 'em said:

That it's been 57yrs since our last flag.

Gotta get this gorilla off our backs.
Do that and more will flags will flow.

Well, the good news is that win or lose, "57 years since our last flag" will be heard no more. Although 58 years is going to wear thin very quickly.

Posted

“Big Dance” - it’s a game of footy people, not the Boston 2step.

Pictures of sad Duxy - where’s the happy Duxy footage at?

“SUFFER DEMONS” poos and pees supporter holding up paper from the worst office printer in the 80s. Surely you’ve got better stock footage to use?

Caleb Daniel’s face.

Libba’s stupid tattoos.

Discussions around the social media followings of mullets with faces 

Posted

Nothing mentioned so far in this thread remotely bothers me. I love fancy cheese. I buy it with my Basics Card. Never been to the snow, and don't have my driver's licence let alone own a Range Rover (I'm currently borrowing my mum's bicycle). I'm not sure why anyone would remotely care about overworn stereotypes, delivered by toothless morons eating meat pies.  

The only thing that riles me is outsider perceptions that our current team has been built on the back of an AFL leg-up, through priority picks and free agency overcompensation, when it often feels quite the opposite. The only decent AFL-backing we have been given is the one never mentioned - the installation of Peter Jackson, which then brought us Roos. 

We received pick 3 as compensation for James Frawley, as per the formula and in a demonstration of why the system was built as it was. Buddy Franklin is irrelevant. We haven't benefited from free agency player-wise, outside of an injured Tomlinson. Our last priority pick was Scully in 2009, which we have since parlayed, as did the Dogs with 2005 priority selection Ryan Griffen. 

Meanwhile, our opponents this week were handed a free number one last year, and have another top-three talent arriving via father-son this year. (They also landed Treloar for the equivalent of about pick 60). Our first real NGA prospect is now likely off the table. We have Jack Viney as a F/S (26), while they have Tom Liberatore (41), as well as Hunter (49), Cordy and Wallis.

All done and said, we will have an equal number of former top-ten picks running around on Saturday. I expect once the feel-good factor wears off, this narrative of AFL hand-outs will start to become more prominent once again. I don't recall a sentiment of unfair advantage around the Cats and Hawks dynasties, and they benefitted from F/S and priorities way more than us. 

Posted
10 hours ago, Webber said:

The question - “Are you nervous?”

Only one reply - “it’s been 57 years, so wadda YOU reckon?” 

FMD! 

I've been saying that to Brizzy, And Cats Supporters for a few weeks.... hahaha now I'm copping it back. And yes the dreams have started, it's all that consumes my brain. Go Ds Go Storm Go.

Posted
6 hours ago, Bitter but optimistic said:

If I have another person saying something like -

“A bit of success and demon supporters come out of the woodwork “

or

“ getting on the bandwagon eh? “

I think I shall punch them in the [censored] mouth .

Know the feeling..

After following Melbourne faithfully for nearly 70 years, I have had strangers coming up to me after looking at my very old Melbourne FC number plates and say "Getting on the Bandwagon mate?"  Get real guys.

Posted

"Demons of the past" in relation to the players. My fathers history shouldnt be my burden, nor is the history of the club the burden of 23 young men on the wkend. They're doing it their way and it's working, let them do their thing.

Also, a [censored] wce fan has been calling me "Wattsy" for about a decade and I desperately want Fritsch to kick a bag on Saturday so I can explain to him exactly what wattsy did for us... indirectly.