pineapple dee 2,892 Posted April 28, 2021 Posted April 28, 2021 To paraphrase Dr Evil...…….. " Howe about noooooooooooooooooooo ??? !!!!!!!! 1 1 Quote
dees189227 12,509 Posted April 28, 2021 Posted April 28, 2021 Nup our backline is gold standard and who would he replace? Certainly not Lever, May or Tomlinson. Leave him at the pies to continue there miserable time. 1 Quote
Pipefitter 2,225 Posted April 28, 2021 Posted April 28, 2021 Nah. He was a jerk when he left. If it wasn’t for us choosing him as a speculative pick he’d still be taking hangers somewhere in Tassie. 4 Quote
picket fence 18,169 Posted April 28, 2021 Posted April 28, 2021 12 hours ago, Northern Summer said: A hypothetical.... Let's just say we continue along the path we are currently on and win the flag or come bloody close. Collingwood decide to trade out players with currency wherever they can for their rebuild. Collingwood are open to trading out Howe. Would you take him back? ABSOLUTELY NOT! Quote
deegirl 1,584 Posted April 28, 2021 Posted April 28, 2021 The way Howe left always left a bad taste. He was a sook who didn't want to play in the backline of a rubbish side and then was a jerk about a club that had given him a chance. Think of all the smashings someone like Colin Garland put up with, he had the fortitude to keep going. Of those who left in that era - Frawley, Rivers etc - I was wishing them well. But Howe acted like a clown. 2 Quote
Slartibartfast 18,107 Posted April 28, 2021 Posted April 28, 2021 We wouldn't trade for him because we don't need him now but it's a myth he left for money. He wanted to stay at MFC with his mates but we didn't want him. That may or may not have been justified but the decision was ours, he didn't walk out. Secondly anyone who thinks he's not a really good player is building a rhetoric to lessen the disappointment of him leaving. He is a fantastic player and had he not suffered injury would probably have been AA. He's one of my favourite players to watch outside MFC. Skill, poise and plays the game in the way it should be played. 5 1 1 Quote
Adam The God 30,715 Posted April 29, 2021 Posted April 29, 2021 12 hours ago, McQueen said: You're looking pretty banged up there, Steve. How'd the lockdown treat you? As for Howe, his comments around empty stadiums because he played at Melbourne should always render him a dog in our eyes. Culturally, you can't have someone publicly [censored] on the club, let alone leave when the going got tough, and then take him back. Besides, we couldn't fit him in our current backline. His intercepting attributes are covered by Lever and May. Quote
Demonstone 23,553 Posted April 29, 2021 Posted April 29, 2021 32 minutes ago, Baghdad Bob said: Skill, poise and plays the game in the way it should be played. If he plays the game as it should be played, Geelong might be interested. 1 3 Quote
Go the Biff 3,474 Posted April 29, 2021 Posted April 29, 2021 1 minute ago, demonstone said: If he plays the game as it should be played, Geelong might be interested. Very good. Took a few seconds before the penny dropped on that one. Well played Quote
TRIGON 4,819 Posted April 29, 2021 Posted April 29, 2021 (edited) 1 hour ago, Jontee said: Only if the Pies pay his salary. Hmmm, throws up an interesting 'revenge served cold' scenario; trade-in and then de-list. Edited April 29, 2021 by TRIGON 1 Quote
Gator 18,053 Posted April 29, 2021 Posted April 29, 2021 I wouldn't automatically rule out a player that will be 32 next year, but in Howe's case his body has been ravaged with injury. 2 Quote
Canplay 635 Posted April 29, 2021 Posted April 29, 2021 Not with Tomlinson working so well as the 3rd tall. Also - surely repeated injuries and age must catch up quickly and take away a yard of pace. Quote
daisycutter 30,004 Posted April 29, 2021 Posted April 29, 2021 51 minutes ago, TRIGON said: Hmmm, throws up an interesting 'revenge served cold' scenario; trade-in and then de-list. better still promise him to play as a forward then play him back pocket at casey....then delist 1 2 Quote
Bates Mate 4,520 Posted April 29, 2021 Posted April 29, 2021 Definitely not his first two seasons for the dee we're great his last two were awful, pea hearted & terrible disposal was happy he left Quote
Sir Why You Little 37,450 Posted April 29, 2021 Posted April 29, 2021 13 hours ago, In Harmes Way said: He was a reason to go to the footy when we weren’t winning to see another mark of the year contender. He also said some nice words ahead of Chunk’s 300th last week, so I’m not sure he’s a complete dh. But now we’re winning. He won’t make us a better team, nor does he have the pressure attributes IMO. Absolutely a no from me. What did he say concerning Chunk? always interesting what ex players say about their Captain Quote
Dr.D 1,771 Posted April 29, 2021 Posted April 29, 2021 (edited) I'd take him back. He is one of the best defenders in the game. Just because May and Lever are ahead of him on current form doesn't mean that he isn't a great player. All of this talk saying that he is past his prime etc. is way too harsh considering his injuries. Maybe he isn't the greatest bloke off the field, but to me he interviews well and doesn't seem like a tool. Using the phone incident as an example is barely a hanging offence. I think people are just too proud to admit that they would have him back. Edited April 29, 2021 by Dr.D 1 Quote
P-man 13,367 Posted April 29, 2021 Posted April 29, 2021 How to put this delicately. [censored]. No. Let him rot at the Pies for the remainder of his ****ty, undecorated career. Oh my mistake. He’s in the Collingwood leadership group. Well done Jezza. A fine achievement. Maybe they can print you out a certificate. Quote
Uncle Fester 2,848 Posted April 29, 2021 Posted April 29, 2021 Offer him a 3 year godfather deal, wait until he burns bridges at Collingwood telling them so long suckers I’m going to play in a successful team, then rip it up before he signs with a ‘just kidding’. But seriously no. We are past being a retirement home. And he has what he wants - big crowds that can boo his increasingly dysfunctional club each week 1 Quote
DeeZone 10,584 Posted April 29, 2021 Posted April 29, 2021 He left us for success so a Big NO from me.??!!! Quote
DeeSpencer 26,668 Posted April 29, 2021 Posted April 29, 2021 4 hours ago, Baghdad Bob said: We wouldn't trade for him because we don't need him now but it's a myth he left for money. He wanted to stay at MFC with his mates but we didn't want him. That may or may not have been justified but the decision was ours, he didn't walk out. Secondly anyone who thinks he's not a really good player is building a rhetoric to lessen the disappointment of him leaving. He is a fantastic player and had he not suffered injury would probably have been AA. He's one of my favourite players to watch outside MFC. Skill, poise and plays the game in the way it should be played. Surely the forward line factor played a big role. He seemed convinced he was a forward. I thought it was a failing from the club that they didn’t convince him he was a defender and reward his attacking style of defending. He really left us at the exact moment his role became super valuable. Otherwise I agree with you and I wouldn’t get overly worked up about anything he’s said. Just as I’d hope he’d let the past be the past too. I’m not at all saying Howe should come back but I think of Croad to the Hawks, Tarrant to the Pies and even Gaz Jnr to the Cats. Good clubs are always open to reunions. Quote
old dee 24,082 Posted April 29, 2021 Posted April 29, 2021 No let him enjoy being with the pies in the last four for next few years. Quote
DubDee 26,670 Posted April 29, 2021 Posted April 29, 2021 About to turn 31yo. A player like him will get plenty of soft tissue injuries from now, you'd imagine In fact, if the Pies rebuild as they should, he might only have one more season left in him. Quote