Posted
22 hours ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

Not sure if it's due to his laconic and easy going appearance on the footy field but he couldn't look less excited being out there on Saturday, particularly after his goals and vision of him when the final siren sounded.

I have no basis for this but I reckon he's found a suitor who has promised him more money and a set position  - just a gut feel, hope I'm wrong.

I could see North offering him $900k on a 5 year deal, but outside of this he is invaluable between wing and the goals square as well as being valuable as a spare in our backline.

Posted (edited)
On 9/23/2020 at 10:43 AM, Wobbly Bob said:

Laconic?

How would you describe him?

He just looks so casual out there. Never gets excited or emotional after kicking a goal.

Edited by Bring-Back-Powell

Posted
10 hours ago, Wobbly Bob said:

Grab a dictionary BBP and look up the meaning of 'laconic'.  It doesn't mean what you and many others think it does.

Well there you go.

I've just learned something.

(Not sarcasm - genuinely learnt).

Posted
23 hours ago, Wobbly Bob said:

Grab a dictionary BBP and look up the meaning of 'laconic'.  It doesn't mean what you and many others think it does.

It's an interesting from a terminology point of view that it's crept into sport terminology, case in point Dimitar Berbatov (now retired Ex Bayern Leverkusen, Tottenham, Man United, etc)

This is from a Sky Sports article in 2010;

"the obligatory description of Berbatov as 'languid' or 'laconic'. The tabloids content themselves with 'lazy'. It's a thin line."

Posted
13 minutes ago, roy11 said:

It's an interesting from a terminology point of view that it's crept into sport terminology, case in point Dimitar Berbatov (now retired Ex Bayern Leverkusen, Tottenham, Man United, etc)

This is from a Sky Sports article in 2010;

"the obligatory description of Berbatov as 'languid' or 'laconic'. The tabloids content themselves with 'lazy'. It's a thin line."

Dimitar Berbatov. That’s exactly who I think of whenever someone is described as laconic.

Somewhere along the line people have mistook laconic for laidback. Not sure when but its been going on for a while now and particularly by commentators in the EPL.

Posted
1 minute ago, Wobbly Bob said:

The first media "personality" I heard misuse the term was Grant Thomas, a classic case of a bloke who thinks he's much smarter than he really is.   

@Wobbly Bob congratulations on having 1/3 of your posts thus far being about the pedantry of language, as I am a pedant myself.

I also use the word laconic (knowing full well its original meaning) for the laid-back, languid looking individual.

Is it such a crime? Because we all know what people are meaning... it's an adjective...and it has morphed over time.

Just like these words

'gay'

'cloud'

'sick'

Considering many many many many many many many people use the word now for alternate meanings, isn't this the beauty of language evolving?

*I had a moment with my 4.5 year old this morning, who wanted to play the board game 'Risk' with me, but wanted his own rules... I initially said, that's not how you do it mate? Then I realised I was putting my 'rules' for living, onto a 4.5 year old, who was flexible enough to see that things could be done differently...and yet the game could still be played with just as much fun.

I reflected to myself that it was far more my problem, than his.

Posted
On 9/24/2020 at 8:31 AM, chookrat said:

I could see North offering him $900k on a 5 year deal, but outside of this he is invaluable between wing and the goals square as well as being valuable as a spare in our backline.

Sorry CR that is jumping at shadows!!!

Bayley is not a flamboyant person and very respectful and humble also laid back and appears as though showing his   Thoughts has been discouraged in his life to date.

What  our Coaches  need to do is Develop Bayley as a footballer and in person ( like day Trac has become).

Not all  will agree with me but Fritta if he had goals instead of points, tackles sticking instead of not  and Holding all his marks he gets hands to and plays smarter not leading to the pocket ( remember the last minute vs Lions) he will become an A grader.

As a result he will also develop greatly as a person and his confidence similarly and enjoy his footy openly.

Thus is what FClubs can provide and Melb  must Do this as it's commitment to  any player.

Hands  up If any fan here believes it's one of our strengths? 

For whatever reasons the Roos years of development have not seen a great result in this Aspect of our Club.

We need some new Assistants ( prob a new Senior as well bu that this year is not changing).

So we have Bayley crying out for development snd he has flatlined in many ways BUT it is up to the Club if it wants to win and become a strong force in the AFL to go this.

Need we look any further to see what the  Swans and Longmuir provide!!

No wonder Finals in 20 out of 22 seasons is a given is it?

• 6 months later...
Posted

Calm down. He often gets the ball in some tough spots to kick from. Having another leading forward will really help him in terms of where he gets the ball. He has to go wide often as he can’t compete with the big guys in the air. 

Posted
1 minute ago, The heart beats true said:

Calm down. He often gets the ball in some tough spots to kick from. Having another leading forward will really help him in terms of where he gets the ball. He has to go wide often as he can’t compete with the big guys in the air. 

Good post. Agree getting his shots on the left side for a left footer is not easy. Missing a few that he should kick though. Probably lacking confidence  as well.

Posted

The guy could be 40+ goal kicker, needs some help with his kicking action which is no different to many forwards who subsequently find some form. Just hope that he is getting the help he needs...

Posted
31 minutes ago, —coach— said:

The guy could be 40+ goal kicker, needs some help with his kicking action which is no different to many forwards who subsequently find some form. Just hope that he is getting the help he needs...

Needs to talk to Stronglifts or Ryan Flaherty from Nike . And ffs sort the kicking out. Lazy

Posted

Great kick.

Posted

Ridiculous thread. Shut it down.

Posted

Has any player had a higher ratio of marks inside 50 where they then had to take the kick from outside 50?

He's got a tough gig, but still... maybe he could have a quiet word with Plugga after the game?

Posted

One day he will kick straight and be the hero on the mountain. He is however a complete non tackler.

Posted (edited)
On 9/25/2020 at 12:34 PM, Wobbly Bob said:

The first media "personality" I heard misuse the term was Grant Thomas, a classic case of a bloke who thinks he's much smarter than he really is.   

As much as I disliked the bloke, Thomas has proven post AFL he's pretty bloody smart. Leader of a very successful business now in IT. 

Back on topic, Fritsch is a tough one. I believe it's all above the shoulders as he has a beautiful technique. He does the hardest part as good as anyone in the comp. Once it clicks he will be invaluable. Don't trade in my opinion. We just got two of the best kicking coaches going around. Give him time. 

Edited by AllMyTeamsAreWank
Posted (edited)
On 9/19/2020 at 2:35 PM, picket fence said:

Misses far too many gettable goals No intensity! Trade

This is why I had you on ignore for so long. I've loved your training reports from Casey in the pre-season but now you have to except your irrelevance once we are in the big dance. Much like Saty you need to except your limitations.

Edited by dworship
Posted
1 hour ago, dworship said:

This is why I had you on ignore for so long. I've loved your training reports from Casey in the pre-season but now you have to except your irrelevance once we are in the big dance. Much like Saty you need to except your limitations.

I think you mean "accept", not "except".

And by the way, what a horribly nasty, mean post that was.