Posted

Two years ago Jayden Hunt was one of our bright young stars. With pace to burn, it was considered he would be a future wing or half back. His electric run and bounce was exciting and his torpedo goal v Crows showed his talent. 

He struggled last year with injury and form and seemed to be a forward pocket option in a “pieced together” forward setup. 

what’s his outlook for 2020 and beyond?  I previously thought he was going places however from today’s practice match report, he is on the outskirts of getting a game now.  Hope he gets his mojo back 

He has never been the same after that shocking heavy knock he received a couple of seasons ago. Knocked all the electricity and enthusiasm out of him. 

8 minutes ago, spirit of norm smith said:

Two years ago Jayden Hunt was one of our bright young stars. With pace to burn, it was considered he would be a future wing or half back. His electric run and bounce was exciting and his torpedo goal v Crows showed his talent. 

He struggled last year with injury and form and seemed to be a forward pocket option in a “pieced together” forward setup. 

what’s his outlook for 2020 and beyond?  I previously thought he was going places however from today’s practice match report, he is on the outskirts of getting a game now.  Hope he gets his mojo back 

The torpedo was a fluke and we all know it. (Don't get me wrong it was great but we can't judge him on that) The rest of his kicking is awful, his poor decision making down back meant he couldn't remain. Once teams stopped him from running he rapidly declined. He got moved forward and contributed but only because there where players missing. 

He's never demonstrated any ability to play as a wingman - and no running from the half back flank at full pace then kicking out to nobody is not evidence of him playing on the wing. 

I always thought his best bet was a Jetta type back pocket role but Lockhart's showing more potential in that already. And Rivers will likely be groomed to be the next Hibbard. I just don't see where he gets in the side. 

Honestly, remembering he couldn't get a game in 2018 when we were playing well, baring  injuries is not unreasonable to suggest he won't play many games (if any) in the seniors this year. And if that happens for the 2nd time in 3 years... He'll be genuine trade bait. If not that then in the delist discussions. Which would be really disappointing for a kid that looked so promising just a few years ago.

Watched him against north just then and he was unsighted the whole game.

He'll be lucky to play 20 games this year if we get everyone on the park each week. He is depth and i reckon he will either be delisted or traded at years end unfortunately. 

15 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

He'll be lucky to play 20 games this year if we get everyone on the park each week. He is depth and i reckon he will either be delisted or traded at years end unfortunately. 

Out of form/confidence or lost interest?

19 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

I watched it live mate and he definitely wasn’t “unsighted”. 

I thought his pressure was pretty good and he was one of the main antagonists with breaking down the Roos short game with his speed most of the day. 

he clearly could’ve been better but tbh he wasn’t too bad imo. 

1 hour ago, dazzledavey36 said:

20?  He will lucky to play 5.

Hes way down the pecking order now.    I still dont know what position he plays...  dont think he has one tbh.

reminds of a smaller version of Frost. Sure has great pace, but more often than not either runs himself into trouble or butchers it by foot.

A few years ago I thought he was a future All Australian halfback flanker, such was his impact on games growing to the point of being tagged.

Since the headknock a few years ago and a back injury, he’s struggled to regain that same form. He’s still got the pace, and he played a few decent games up forward last year, but he’s just struggled to find enough ball and impact games. He’s become depth and will probably play around 10 games this year.

Can run, can’t kick, poor decision maker 

If we are any good, I don’t think he’s in our side

TBH, I expect him to not be with us in 2021 and it wouldn’t surprise me if he wasn’t on an AFL list in 2021

If you’re the type of player that flashes in and out, your best has to be absolutely top shelf to remain in contention each week.

Kozzie and Jackson will potentially share that FP role for 3/4 of the year, so he’s only got 5-6 games where he’s a chance (in my opinion)

Everyone talks about his pace,  but his pace is never damaging so becomes completely pointless. What does he achieve with his pace? Never breaks lines and release team mates, or create overlap. 

45 minutes ago, JakovichScissorKick said:

20?  He will lucky to play 5.

Hes way down the pecking order now.    I still dont know what position he plays...  dont think he has one tbh.

Was meant to say *10

He will need some big big games at Casey to force himself into the one's as I suspect he has next to no chance for Round one

His style of play has gone out of favour at the MFC, his strength is to run and kick it long down the line from half back beyond that he is bog standard vfl level player. With the way teams play now it's about holding onto the ball until you are inside 50, a bomb down the line is more likely than not to come straight back with interest.

2 hours ago, ArtificialWisdom said:

The torpedo was a fluke and we all know it. (Don't get me wrong it was great but we can't judge him on that) The rest of his kicking is awful, his poor decision making down back meant he couldn't remain. Once teams stopped him from running he rapidly declined. He got moved forward and contributed but only because there where players missing. 

He's never demonstrated any ability to play as a wingman - and no running from the half back flank at full pace then kicking out to nobody is not evidence of him playing on the wing. 

I always thought his best bet was a Jetta type back pocket role but Lockhart's showing more potential in that already. And Rivers will likely be groomed to be the next Hibbard. I just don't see where he gets in the side. 

Honestly, remembering he couldn't get a game in 2018 when we were playing well, baring  injuries is not unreasonable to suggest he won't play many games (if any) in the seniors this year. And if that happens for the 2nd time in 3 years... He'll be genuine trade bait. If not that then in the delist discussions. Which would be really disappointing for a kid that looked so promising just a few years ago.

Though I’m not going to argue with much you said, you can’t call that (magnificent) torp a fluke. He did exactly what he aimed to do. You can say it’s a fluke when someone connects for the perfect torpedo, or you can say they just did it exactly right. Anyway, that’s all very much in the past. As for the future, I hope he finds some form ‘cos he’s been a very dedicated player and seems like a top fella. 

From what I’m reading if Hunt is in the seniors then we’re going to have another bad run of injuries. 

2 hours ago, tappysquads said:

Everyone talks about his pace,  but his pace is never damaging so becomes completely pointless. What does he achieve with his pace? Never breaks lines and release team mates, or create overlap. 

What?

2 hours ago, Garbo said:

His style of play has gone out of favour at the MFC, his strength is to run and kick it long down the line from half back beyond that he is bog standard vfl level player. With the way teams play now it's about holding onto the ball until you are inside 50, a bomb down the line is more likely than not to come straight back with interest.

Agree but he can break lines and the zone. The coaches need to do the rest or he is gone. The obvious solution is to have a player running to space on the 70 metre line where Hunt can kick into.

Think Heath Shaw... the rest of the team know what he will do from his runs and position accordingly.

Does this work in the modern game.... not sure but as I said if he can't do that his use is limited

Dont write him off yet. he had a bad game, he only needs to turn on a few moves and everyone will love him again. He has too many very good assets to let him slide away for lack of disposal at times.

1 hour ago, drysdale demon said:

It is easy to bag players whilst sitting on the boundary.

boundary? I'm at home sitting at the computer on a swivel chair, dd!

Every year we have a potentially star  player “at the crossroads” and sadly Jayden looks like this year’s candidate.   He certainly needs to do a lot more that grab the ball and run, however fast he can do that.   Different build but like Frost in many respects.  

I sincerely hope he can regain his zip and bounce .... can anyone remember the details of the injury that knocked the stuffing out of him?  My recollection is vague.