30 minutes ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

He also plays half-forward and kicked 3 goals on the weekend. Stop the whinging ffs. 

so we'll probably play him off the half back flank then?

Edited by Demon Dude

1 minute ago, Demon Dude said:

looks like the club played it safe taking Dunkley, he looks a solid sort of player. I sort of wish they took a risk though and chose someone with a bit of flair about them. but anyway, hopefully he can kick to a team mates advantage, if he can, I say put him straight in, as not many of our other guys can.

We play safe with our recruiting more often than not. We rarely seem to take a gamble with a late NRD pick or rookie pick on a player with obvious talent but some queries on off field.

Just now, goodwindees said:

Jason Taylor certainly loves a slow, inside mid. 

That is true. Makes sense

9 minutes ago, demoniac said:

For mine speed and overlap run overwhelming priority for Dees. 

Or best available?

You can only take what's there, not sure how many speed/overlap players that might realistically have played AFL were up for the draft.

Does Jason Taylor have a fetish for slow inside mids or something ? Has he not heard of the 6-6-6 rule that requires players to cover the ground  rapidly. Does he understand that AFL is a step up from park football and that athleticism is a non negotiable to be able to make the cut. Good luck to Dunkley but Taylor needs to watch some demons games and see how slow the whole team is. Frost and hunt are the only players who have any sort of pace at all.

18 minutes ago, boydie said:

Assume he's like his brother which would be an inside, tough, accumulator.

Doesn't exactly address our lack of run on the outside or someone who can use the ball.

Either way, guess it's depth and a younger upgrade on Maynard.

https://www.melbournefc.com.au/news/2019-05-27/kyle-dunkley-becomes-a-demon

MELBOURNE has used pick No.3 in the Mid-Season Draft to recruit versatile contested midfielder Kyle Dunkley on Monday night.

The 19-year-old has spent the start of the 2019 season playing for the Gippsland Power in the NAB League competition, as well as representing Footscray in the VFL on two occasions this year.

After being overlooked in the 2018 National Draft, Dunkley has impressed Melbourne’s National Recruiting Manager Jason Taylor in the early stages this season.

“Kyle’s an inside midfielder who has the ability to play forward,” Taylor told Melbourne Media.

“He can play in that forward role in his own right, he’s good overhead, he’s hard at the footy and has been able to play at VFL level this year for Footscray for a couple of games and hit the scoreboard there.”

https://www.afl.com.au/news/2019-05-27/midseason-rookie-draft-who-did-your-club-take

Cody Hirst has slipped through to the Swans at  P-16.

Sorry Kyle. You probably deserved a bit better that us mate. Not even an hour into your MFC career and some of these so called “supporters” labelling you already.  Good luck son. 

Allegedly, inside mid who can play forward line, giving pressure and tackles. Sounds good to me.

Hmm, descriptions include being not so reliable at short kicks but much better with the longer kicks, including shots at goal.

You'd have to think he'd be a shot to play this season (isn't that half the point of the midseason draft?), so the dream of having a full 44 players actually play in one season is still alive.

Now that we've got him we can stop tanking and surge up the ladder, yes?

Welcome Kyle, now convince your brother to pop over to us as well in October.

28 minutes ago, Lucifer's Hero said:

His dad didn't look too happy...very slow and low key in congratulating his son.  Maybe they were hoping he would slip thru to Sydney.

Think that is just Andrew, low key and quiet.

Pretty sure they are happy he stays in Melbourne. 

I reckon his selection my free up others to play outside. I think with Hannan back and perhaps this bloke coming in, Hunt may move up the ground, along with the elite runner nibbler. We have found one in Baker, who hasn’t pave and will only get better. Frost will keep his spot , but the return of May and Lever will mean he can dash off half back a little more.i expect Brayshaw and Harmes will be more permanent mids and Jones will be moved, to where I do not know! 

16 minutes ago, bing181 said:

Or best available?

You can only take what's there, not sure how many speed/overlap players that might realistically have played AFL were up for the draft.

This kid looks to be,  a very smart and intuitive player. 

I'm very happy we have him,  because from the looks of his skill sets,  he is something we don't have much of...  Natural AFL smarts,  composed thinking on the foot.

I'm one of the first to say we need more pace and outside run/skill and wanted us to use multiple picks taking some gambles, but it's also true that after Oliver, Viney, Harmes and hopefully a rejuvenated Brayshaw our inside ball winners do drop away pretty quickly.

Jones is close to the end, Petracca hasn't shown he can step up and be a midfielder, Vanders' foot is stuffed, Maynard's gone backwards. After that it's Sparrow and that's about it.

Same thing goes for ANB, Spargo, JKH etc as that half forward who rolls up to the midfield. If he can tackle, get contest to contest and hit the scoreboard then he has a chance in that kind of roll as well. 

Keen to see him play for Casey.

Looks like Maynard mark 2.0

God forbid we take a risk and draft a Tipunwuti or Lowsin or any outside player with good skills.

Edited by olisik

I assume he gets a six month contract period in which to impress.

I suppose the upside for him is that he's coming into a team into which it may not be too hard to impress.

Good luck Kyle....

Good pick.

Best available and ready made high possession winner who can kick a goal and plays well above his years

Still a teenager and has a good build. Doesn’t look particularly slow to me so not sure what other posters have seen. 

He has been in form in the vfl and is fit so should be in the seniors in the next couple of weeks you’d reckon

whst is the deal with this draft, are they signed just until the rest of the season? 

3 minutes ago, olisik said:

Looks like Maynard mark 2.0

God forbid we take a risk and draft a Tipunwuti or Lowsin or any outside player with good skills.

Doesn’t seem anything like Maynard to me.

Natural footballer and can play full time fwd unlike Maynard 

27 minutes ago, Elegt said:

Has he not heard of the 6-6-6 rule that requires players to cover the ground  rapidly. 

Have you not heard, or perhaps seen with your own eyes thst the 6-6-6 rule has made almost no impact on how the game is played.

Good, sensible pick - we are desperate for more midfield options, and he provides that from the get go; I guess he replaces Maynard on the list in 2020 and has a decade of youth and future football development ahead of him

Would probably have gone in the first two rounds at some stage of this year’s end of season draft from all reports 

He’s 19 for Gods sake so must have a big upside and by the look of him no backside. Let’s leave the judgements be and give him a go.