Posted

What do we think?

I picked us. I'm a bit nervous but less so than other weeks.  No idea why. Is it the narrow subiaco that I think suits our game plan? Is it our 100% interstate record?

Regardless its hard to believe we are actually a chance, especially without Watts and Jones.  

Maybe I'm delusional?

Posted (edited)

I think that you are on the money! 

Feeling quietly confident about the way Goodwin has developed a belief in the players. Although missing arguably our two key players, Gawn and Stretch are not too shabby substitutes! If we win this week, and then back-up against Sydney the following week, we can go all the way. With Hogan, Watts and Jones to return and the way Petracca, Hunt, Salem, Garlett and the others are going, those Demonlanders that backed us as Premiers before the start of the season could be in for a pleasant surprise! :lol:

Edited by CBDees

Posted
8 minutes ago, CBDees said:

those Demonlanders that backed us as Premiers before the start of the season could be in for a pleasant surprise! :lol:

Wow!

Posted

With apologies to Dorothea McKellar whose grandson I reckon might have once played for Richmond and Melbourne in the days before these foreign clubs invaded footy:-

I love a sunburnt country, 
A land of sweeping plains, 
Where all roads head to its west,
And a stadium called "Domain", 
I love her far horizons, 
I love her quirky weather, 
Where the beauty of her western coast,
Is the home of Neville Jetta.

'Tis a bleak-hearted country, 
A wilful, lavish land 
If your team has rarely won there, 
You will clearly understand 
though Earth holds many splendours, 
And days get darker and blacker,
All I ask the lord for tonight is winning smiles, 
From Pedo, Buggy and Petracca. 

Posted

Great work WJ.

i don't think anyone has ever written a poem about Perth before, and with good reason.

Posted

What I want from tonight's game:

• an all-team four quarter effort like the one that humbled the B'dogs last weekend;
  • no injuries:
  • a strong first-up effort from Max, with the promise of much more to come as he gets a few games into his legs;  and (obviously)
  • 4 points.

I rarely get all that I want, but like last week, I'm quietly confident about us winning this game.  Across the ground, I think we are at least as talented, a bit quicker and a bit stronger around the contest than the Weagles.  Further, if it comes to the crunch, I reckon that Goody has more coaching 'guile' than Simpson, and I'm sure that we have more 'ticker' and belief than the often flaky WC.   Dees by 17 points.

Posted

Mrs Nekkid is dragging me to the Opera tonight.  Shall be checking at half time and watching the last quarter on my phone, full replay when I get home.

23 point win to the Dees.  We will open it up, go quiet for a patch, but steady and bring it home.  Gawn to show why he was so badly missed, and Oliver to tear them a new one in the middle.

Go Dees!

Posted

Feeling similar to before game against bulldogs where I thought we would win, can't see them blowing us away, I really hope we win as the buildup to next Friday will be huge 

Posted
5 minutes ago, buck_nekkid said:

Mrs Nekkid is dragging me to the Opera tonight.  Shall be checking at half time and watching the last quarter on my phone, full replay when I get home.

23 point win to the Dees.  We will open it up, go quiet for a patch, but steady and bring it home.  Gawn to show why he was so badly missed, and Oliver to tear them a new one in the middle.

Go Dees!

How cliched of you as a MFC member/supporter. Happy wife happy life and all that. 

Posted

I honestly thing that Jones and Watts missing is a blessing in disguise. For one the Eagles are super complacent on their home ground and will be more so with those two out of our side. Secondly, I feel it opens the door of opportunity for two very good young players in Hannan and Stretch. I'm going to keep close watch on Hannan tonight because I have a feeling tonight is his breakout game. Gawn back in gives Pederson more flexibility and his a super smart footballer. It's obviously a shame Jones and Watts are out but I think that in some capacity it'll work out.

Posted
1 hour ago, Biffen said:

Great work WJ.

i don't think anyone has ever written a poem about Perth before, and with good reason.

There's been heaps of poems written about Perth actually. Here's one I wrote. 

Perth Perth not the place of my birth

But I now call it home 

It's way sicker than Rome

Rome Rome roaming around 

Like a greyhound 

We have Elizabeth Quay 

Quay Quay Quay do a pee. 

Posted
12 minutes ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

But I now call it home 

Rome Rome roaming around 

Like a greyhound 

We have Elizabeth Quay 

Quay Quay Quay do a pee. 

*wipes away tear*

that's beautiful, man.

Posted (edited)

IF we win today, next week's game will be a battle of the two most in form teams...will be awesome! Hope we get a win today, I think we will feel Watts' absence a fair bit and miss Jones' leadership...however, I still think we've got a chance! I'm tipping it'll be a close game with the luckier team on the day to come out on top. 

Edited by qwerty7
Posted
29 minutes ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

But I now call it home 

Rome Rome roaming around 

Like a greyhound 

We have Elizabeth Quay 

Quay Quay Quay do a pee. 

Have you thought of setting that to music.  Something very Peter Allenesque about those words.

I can just see the Qantas plane flying across the blue skies while the choir sings.

Posted
51 minutes ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

But I now call it home 

Rome Rome roaming around 

Like a greyhound 

We have Elizabeth Quay 

Quay Quay Quay do a pee. 

And to think that they wasted a Nobel prize on that stuff that Bob Dylan wrote when it should have been yours Ethan.

Posted
37 minutes ago, qwerty7 said:

IF we win today, next week's game will be a battle of the two most in form teams...will be awesome! Hope we get a win today, I think we will feel Watts' absence a fair bit and miss Jones' leadership...however, I still think we've got a chance! I'm tipping it'll be a close game with the luckier team on the day to come out on top. 

According to some, he's never displayed it...

Posted
37 minutes ago, qwerty7 said:

Unfortunately at Subiaco 'luck' translates to 'umps willing the Eagles across the line'. 

Posted (edited)

There's either been a huge plunge for the dees or the bookies are expecting a big late withdrawal from West coast.

Dees 2.60 into 2.20

Line 18.5 into 5.5

Edited by Stevienic23
Posted

Given our ability to avoid heavy defeats this year, the line at 18.5 would have seemed attractive. 5.5 not so much. 

Posted
12 minutes ago, Stevienic23 said:

There's either been a huge plunge for the dees or the bookies are expecting a big late withdrawal from West coast.

Dees 2.60 into 2.20

Line 18.5 into 5.5

Just checked sportsbet. They now have it at 2.10 and 3.5. That is a huge drop in odds. And unusual. There is rstely such a drop on gameday

Posted (edited)
17 minutes ago, Stevienic23 said:

Dees 2.60 into 2.20

Line 18.5 into 5.5

Into $2.00 now and the line $1.75 at +5.5 on Tab. Is there a possibility we start as favourite at the bounce? 

Edited by Demon77
Posted (edited)

I have a feeling we win this game. No idea why, it's quiet strange.. Going into a game thinking we will get the job done not just hoping. Agree with a few posts above we have been smashed in the betting, we were around $2.90 earlier in the week and now into $2, maybe the bookies know something we don't, hopefully a late out for WC

Edit: One post on WC board suggesting Priddis was sore earlier in the week & could miss

Edited by JV7
Posted

Subiaco as the longest ground makes it harder to sweat the opposition like we did against Dogs and Pies. I expect us to have a downer at some point as the breaks must catch up and I also suspect we will need to adjust back to having our major weapon back in the side. Would not be surprised if this week is the one but hope to be pleasantly surprised. If the midfield is relatively even it will come down to which makeshift forward line performs the best.