Posted
5 minutes ago, Nasher said:

You've got to wonder about their judgement over there.  Kennedy so far has looked fantastic, but was underutilized over there and sold cheaply.  

Surely we all appreciate this but it's hard to pass by : our list turnover and recruiting has been just that little bit better under the Roos regime 

Posted
4 hours ago, Chook said:

Looking back, Stefan Martin is still the only player I'm sorry to have lost in the last 10 years. He was also the only one I didn't want to lose at the time.

But we shouldn't hate on Howe for leaving us. He grew up a Collingwood supporter for crissakes. Let him rot with his own kind.

And Jarrad Rivers. We haven't done too badly, otherwise,  in getting rid of spuds and dross: Sylvia, Clark, Toumpas, Maloney, Howe, Gysbert, Maric, Pettard - I'll never forgive his dropped mark in the goal square in 2010 against the E Coli Wobblers - Blease..,.

Posted
1 hour ago, Chook said:

Didn't that happen in 2004 or something? That's a very long time ago now.

Yes, but he could still be getting a kick with us. Not that he was getting that many in 2004.

Posted
3 minutes ago, dieter said:

Yes, but he could still be getting a kick with us. Not that he was getting that many in 2004.

He was having his break out year in 2004 until he broke his foot 3/4 of the way through the season.

Just after that is when our season came of the rails.

Posted

Wanted him traded as early as 2013. I'm glad he's finally pushed off. What a one dimensional player. Fortunately, he's no longer our problem.

Posted
1 hour ago, daisycutter said:

not particularly. don't think roosy was too concerned

Yes Roos didn't praise a no possession half of Howes as the best no possession half he had ever seen? Talking about fattening up a calf for auction

Posted (edited)

Personally i thought he gave us many years of solid efforts (and some not so solid) but in some ways he was about the only highlight real for us during some very grim times, including live and tv coverage highlights. Without Howe we probably would have seen very little else of our matches or received any coverage (other than the grim bits...and there were so many) after the game was shown (fox or free).

He probably switched off a little in the last season or so which made him look pretty bland and annoyed some of us at times but he wasn't the worst on our list during this period by a fair way.

Good luck to Jumping Jeremy. Hope he does well at his new home and finds his niche. Preferably not against us though -_-

Posted
2 hours ago, Nasher said:

You've got to wonder about their judgement over there.  Kennedy so far has looked fantastic, but was underutilized over there and sold cheaply.  

Seedsman has looked good at Adelaide too thus far. 

Granted, he faded into uselessness at Collingwood, but he idolised Buckley, you've got to wonder about Buckley's ability to motivate. 

Posted

Howe and cloke make a lovely pair of expensive bookends in the Collingwood forward line, though at least cloke had a bit of a day out against us compared to his other matches getting 2 goals even if they were gimmies.

Posted

Collingwood looks a little like Melbourne circa 2007. Any wonder why Howe wanted to go there. All this talk about them pre-season. They were never going to be better than 10th, may well finish in bottom three based on yesterday's performance.

Posted
7 hours ago, Rusty Nails said:

Personally i thought he gave us many years of solid efforts (and some not so solid)

The solid efforts were few and far between... in fact they were rare as hens teeth

He should have been dropped many times but our list was so unbelievably poor and shallow that he was gifted games

He is a terrible fooitballer and hes now the Magpies problem and on big coin,.  Love it.

Posted
10 hours ago, Nasher said:

In fairness they do have a lot of those small quick types: Fasolo, Blair, Elliott, Oxley

Posted (edited)
2 hours ago, Petraccattack said:

The solid efforts were few and far between... in fact they were rare as hens teeth

He should have been dropped many times but our list was so unbelievably poor and shallow that he was gifted games

He is a terrible fooitballer and hes now the Magpies problem and on big coin,.  Love it.

He could only play as well as the team around him and his opponents allowed Petrac. Context. I enjoyed his time with us as he was one of the very few I could look to to give a bit of joy with his amazing aerial work. His Intercept marking down back was ok at times also. Coaches love that side.

He was solid In an average all round sense I realise but the whole team was bog ordinary with half a dozen exceptions (or so), sometimes worse than ordinary. Some were lucky to be playing AFL.

Finished 9th in the Bluey last year ahead of many including Jetta, Watts, Lumumba, Vanders, Tyson, Gawn et al. Up to Rnd 18 my stat ranking system had him ranked 12th out of all players who had played 2 or more matches for the club to that point. That's out of  36 players (2 or more games) we had played to Rnd 18. I hear what you're saying, i just beg to differ over the "terrible" part.

Posted

I like Burgs post match interview with Jones 

Burgs. "So what was it like coming up against your old mate Jeremy Howe"

Jones. "Not much was said, he chose to leave" and then Jones just shrugs his shoulders. You get the feeling that this group is fairly tight. To leave it isn't looked upon favourably

Posted (edited)

Him butchering that goal in the first half was a highlight. That sort of sloppy loopy disposal is what frustrated me as much as anything about Howe. The number of times when he was playing back for us, he would switch it but sloppily kick it to grass and the receiver would have to make ground and collect it, and by that time the moment had passed and we were under pressure.

Edited by Forest Demon

Posted

Sigh.. he is not a terrible footballer - he is just an average footballer who can take a great grab but doesn't work hard enough.

(now Jesse White......)

Posted

He took less money than was offered by Gold Coast and Norf......

Not sure he is on that big an amount...

Posted
42 minutes ago, nutbean said:

Sigh.. he is not a terrible footballer - he is just an average footballer who can take a great grab but doesn't work hard enough.

(now Jesse White......)

Agree to dsagree Nut, I think hes terrible.  Takes a screamer once every couple of weeks and does nothing else.  Hes like a headless chook up forward and he is useless as a midfielder.  Hes decent as an intercept defender but in the current climate its important to have creativity, good disposal and dash in that role -  he nas none of those attributes and he cant hurt teams once he does get possession on half back.

As I said, very glad he is gone. He was part of the problem and he will fade to nothing at the Pies..

Posted

Puzzling recruitment by Collingwood.  IMO they don't need his type of medium marking forward when they've already got Elliot and Fasolo, and Swan was going to play forward as well.

Posted (edited)

Loved Jones' answer when asked about how it was playing against Howe in the post match interview with Burgan.

He clearly has little respect for Jeremy.

Posted
3 minutes ago, stevethemanjordan said:

Loved Jones' presser with Burgan when asked about how it was playing against Howe.

He clearly has little respect for Jeremy.

They are still close friends off field.

Not only was Howe Lazy but soft yesterday as well. There was a contest in the last qtr where Kent and Howe were racing for the ball towards the boundary and Kent kept it in and handballed to a teammate and sped off to try and recieve it back while Howe just stopped and cruised into a slow jog.... I thought that typical Lazy effort.

I hope Buckley drops him.

Posted
13 hours ago, ILLDieADemon said:

They laughed at us for taking Daws now we laugh at them.

Your comment made me laugh, Its footy karma.

Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, dazzledavey36 said:

They are still close friends off field.

Not only was Howe Lazy but soft yesterday as well. There was a contest in the last qtr where Kent and Howe were racing for the ball towards the boundary and Kent kept it in and handballed to a teammate and sped off to try and recieve it back while Howe just stopped and cruised into a slow jog.... I thought that typical Lazy effort.

I hope Buckley drops him.

If I had a close friend who in an interview regarded us as 'relatively close', I'd be a bit concerned.

The point overall is that Jones is the heart and soul of our club and clearly has little interest or respect for those who want to jump ship rather than steer it.

Posted
8 minutes ago, stevethemanjordan said:

Close friends hey.

If had a close friend who in an interview regarded us as 'relatively close', I'd be a bit concerned.

The point overall is that Jones is the heart and soul of our club and clearly has little interest or respect for those who want to jump ship rather than steer it.

He said in an interview during week he still catches up with Howe and sent him a txt before his first game wishing him well.

Seriously there is no harm in being friends off field. As Jones said though once you cross that white line its game on and your basically enermy. I have no interest in what they do. I take great pleasure watching Howe being lazy and squib a goal.

Posted
2 hours ago, fndee said:

I like Burgs post match interview with Jones 

Burgs. "So what was it like coming up against your old mate Jeremy Howe"

Jones. "Not much was said, he chose to leave" and then Jones just shrugs his shoulders. You get the feeling that this group is fairly tight. To leave it isn't looked upon favourably

He also said towards the end that he and others are still pretty close with him. I think his point is you can be mates outside but when you step out on the field you're the enemy.